In a Pickle

I’m in a pickle. I know I’ve tweeted about this before, but I guess it would make more sense to talk about it on my actual blog – right?

 So, here goes: I get a lot of friend requests on Facebook from blog readers and I hope by now ya’ll know how much I really appreciate every single person who reads my blog.  THIS MUCH! With arms wide open. But I can’t justify allowing so many people into my more personal life – I can’t really imagine what else I don’t put out there on this blog that people would wanna know. You can always email me and leave comments on here! I don’t bite, I’m friendly and totally willing to chat…unless you get inappropriate, then I get inappropriate. Or I just ignore you.  

 In a nutshell, I’d rather keep my Facebook friends limited to the people I actually know and/or talk to because yes, there are pictures on my Facebook that I’d rather not everyone see; I mean I’m not secretly a hooker or a man or anything of the sort, I have no secrets, but still. And yes, people do post mildly (ok…wildly) inappropriate things on my wall as I do theirs and to be quite frank, not everyone needs to see those pictures or those posts and I just don’t feel comfortable with someone I don’t know having access to all of that jazz and more. Get me? Good.

Facebook pickle!

So, here’s the deal – would I have enough people to “Like” a Facebook page for my blog on Facebook or should I just stop worrying about the situation? I just feel really bad messaging people and telling them I can’t be their “friend” on Facebook because I don’t know them (even though that is a legit reason, ha!)

Help get me out of this pickle?

Speaking of pickles. I’m finally going to share with you the recipe I mentioned a couple posts back. Ok, so there’s no real pickles in this but it sounded good anyway. It’s perfect for welcoming in Spring – as it can be served cold or hot. I prefer it cold so I can pretend that it’s hot outside.

Honey Curry Chicken and Noods'

Honey Curry Pulled Chicken & Noodles

(Variation: Use spaghetti squash as noodles!)

1/2 cup Greek yogurt 

5 oz cooked chicken breast, pulled or chopped

Serving of noodles (of choice) or spaghetti squash

2 tsp curry powder

1 tbsp mustard or 1 tsp mustard seed powder

1 tbsp honey (or more to taste)

dash salt and pepper

Combine yogurt, curry powder, mustard and honey in a small bowl and pour over noodles + chicken. Easy peasy lemon squeezy! You can cook the chicken or noodles right before for a heated dish, or just leave em’ cold.

Over spaghetti squash - my fave!

Best when served with a Spring-y side salad:

Just screams SPRING!

 

Fresh cuke-age!

 

I’m off to enjoy my last day of Spring break by ignoring the rest of my work for as long as possible and wishing it wasn’t 35 degrees outside cause it looks so beautiful. At least that’s an excuse to snuggle with this little boo…

Haay!

 

How do you feel about the whole Facebook situation?

What’s your favorite dish with Greek yogurt?

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. I’ve definitely failed to keep up with the top in this contest so it’d mean the world to me if you could vote and spread the news…you can vote once per day, please do 🙂 Thank you! http://photos.fitnessmagazine.com/category/vote/photo/751190/33

40 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

40 responses to “In a Pickle

  1. Amen – I’ve rejected a lot of people lately on Facebook… I appreciate the support as well, but Facebook is private. Just read the blog, folks.

  2. I’m voting, I’m voting!

    1. I completely understand your facebook sit. I actually removed a lot of bloggers who write about their struggles with ED, bc I feel like I’m at a different place in my life and to see them struggle was starting to affect me– Part of me wanted to reach out and help and the other was afraid of getting ‘triggered’. I actually do the facebook birthday game: If it’s someone’s birthday and I don’t recognize you or feel like my personal life doesn’t/shouldn’t include you, then I un-friend.

    2. You’re such a tease. I totally thought you were going to share a recipe that involved pickles. I actually started making my own (desperate times call for desperate measures, ha).

  3. I totally get what you are saying Meg, you really need to know if you can trust the person before making them a friend on Facebook. Not that any of your readers would give out personal info about you, but Facebook pages are kind of a private thing and if you don’t feel comfortable giving a reader an all access pass to your Facebook pictures and wall post then you shouldn’t. I think that a Facebook Like Page is a great idea, I’d “like” it, because you can get to know more readers by it without letting them it to your own Facebook.

    What’s is my favorite dish with Greek yogurt? Honestly I’ve never had Greek yogurt, but it is funny you mentioned it because me and my mom were just talking the other day about how we need to try Greek yogurt. I’m totally going to try this dish when I pick some up, because your “Honey Curry Pulled Chicken & Noodles” looks yummy!

  4. I’m friends with only a couple of bloggers who’ve I’ve been in touch with for YEARS! I think it’s your personal choice… and I know I’d respect you either way. 🙂

    Fabulous recipe!

  5. healthnuttxo

    i think you def have enough followers to make a FB page!
    and i totally hear you about the whole friends/fb thing. i really never add people ive never actually met! 🙂

  6. Jo

    I think you should totally keep your FB private and for people you actually know. While your requests are prob mostly from loyal and health-loving readers, there are also alot of weirdos out there too. This is why I never included pictures of myself when I blogged. I just couldn’t.

    Take care of yourself, hun! ❤ your blog 🙂

  7. I’m pretty choosy about my facebook friends too so I definitely agree with where you’re coming from! I have a couple of blog friends on FB but only ones about whom I’m fairly confident and who I really, really feel would be real life friends if it wasn’t for, ya know, geography.

  8. I agree completely. I keep my facebook for people I have met in real life, I don’t add people I never had a conversation with and that includes the blogging world. I mean of course there are a few exceptions but it makes sense. You post enough through blogging/youtube that there is not really a need.

  9. i totally get CHA! i doubt any of my readers could find me via fb but if they did and i dint know them.. fo sho i wouldnt wnt to be fb friends- tooo private! i like to save the embarrassing pictures and videos from 7th grade that i was tagged in for people i actually trust!
    wait woahza did you come up with dat recipe? its so clever- great flavor combos!
    i’ve been voting everyday!

  10. yummmay recipe! I have been voting for you everyday … so goodluck in the contest ! and i think my personal facebook is kind of a private thing as well !

  11. Hi love!! I don’t know, it’s up to you about the facebook thing! I have one, I enjoy it and I do interact with other blog friends on there, but its what you think is best! I tell ya, it gives me more ADD, lol!

    This recipe looks amazing! I have not had any type of yogurt since october! I just stopped eating it for some reason, maybe I will bring it back into my life soon ; )

    Enjoy your last of spring break!!!!!

    I love the weenie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol!

  12. Aw your doggy is adorable!! 😀
    And I totally understand where you’re coming from. I like to keep my fb and blog separate. It’s two different things to me. If you don’t feel comfortable adding someone then you shouldn’t 🙂 Btw great recipe. I love curry!

  13. Your puppy is so cute 🙂 I have a weiner dog too! I’m excited I found this recipe. I’ve recently become slightly (–ok majorly) obsessed with greek yogurt and was looking for more ways to use it.
    Thanks!

  14. I rarely put anything on Facebook that I haven’t already mentioned on my blog but I can understand what you mean about the privacy thing! My hubby gets mad at me all the time for putting too much out on the internet…you are smart to keep things separate!

  15. I totally hear you. My Facebook is only open to people I actually know “in real life” simply because it has so many details and pictures of where I live. There have been just a handful of exceptions to this rule (3 people to be exact) for various reasons. But in general, Facebook is for “real life” friends, Twitter is for blog friends (not that my ‘real life’ friends can’t follow me on there, I just don’t publicize it), and the blog is for both blog friends (duh, haha) and real life friends. 🙂 Never feel badly about protecting your privacy. It’s yours to do with as you please 🙂

  16. new reader

    why dont you just change your search settings so only “friends of friends” or “friends” can search for you? That’s what I do with mine.. makes sense for anyone concerned about privacy.

  17. I totally don’t blame you for wanting to keep your facebook more private. There really is no reason for people to friend you. With that said, if you made a page on fb for us to like, I would definitely do that!

  18. Caitlyn

    thanks for being my friend 🙂 i’ve been voting for you!! and yeah i think adding a million strangers would get extremely weird/awkward..not everyone needs to see the private deets!

  19. I definitely understand your FB situation!! I am friends with a few bloggers (including YOU :D) who I feel i “know” if that makes sense, but random others bloggers/readers i would DEFFF be uncomfortable with. That makes sense? Haha, i tried 😉

    Your dog is RIDICULOUSLY adorable. i want one!!

  20. danielleburger

    I think your reasons for not wanting blog readers on facebook are completely legit! I feel like a blog is where you share the parts of your life with people that it’s okay for EVERYONE to know, whereas facebook is more intimate and consists of things you only want people who actually know you personally to know. I definitely think there needs to be separation!

    My favorite thing to do with greek yogurt is to make protein pancakes!

    1/3 c. greek yogurt, 1/3 c. steel cut oats, 1 egg, 1 tsp sweetener, 1 tsp cinnamon. Mix it all up until smooth in a blender and pour into a well oiled frying pan. It cooks up JUST like a pancake and tastes exactly the same. I like to sprinkle fresh blueberries on mine after I pour it into the pan.

  21. Why are ppl all up in yo buzznassss?

  22. I can totally understand about the facebook thing…I am new to blogging so I haven’t had anyone looking me up on facebook yet, but I do get a lot of random people who I have no idea who they are requesting to be my friend and I don’t have a clue who they are…it does get annoying!
    I am in love with your puppy!!! I really need one. 🙂

  23. I totally “get” not wanting to be friends with other on FB that you don’t really “know”. Although I don’t put anything on FB that really invades my privacy (address, phone number, etc), it still is a bit more “personal”.

  24. Greek yogurt & peanut flour is my favorite combo!

    & that’s definitely a tough pickle. I totally understand where you’re coming from! =/

  25. Katharina

    I hear you on the Facebook thing. I get a lot of requests and not even a message explaining who they are although most of the time I know it’s from my blog. But I have made strong connections with some bloggers out there and I feel like I do know them in person. Some I have met actually.

    Greek yogurt + honey, Greek yogurt + granola, Greek yogurt + sweet sweet mango!

    p.s. I’ve been voting for you!! I hope you win 😀

    XO lovie!

  26. Totally agreed on the FB thing. I might take a page out of your book and do this too, cause I’ve gotten a few requests in the past couple of weeks that are just pending. I love my readers, but I don’t know them the way they feel like they know me, and that makes me uncomfortable on a few levels. I would totally LOVE a SnS FB page though!!

  27. I just recently found your blog, and I loveee it!! I love finding fellow college student bloggers 😛

  28. Hey meg! I’m barely on facebook but I totally understand your situation!! I mean, I know that this is still private enough as anyone can see this stuff! But if YOU want that privacy b/c it’s also very highly related to your friends when you’re on facebook and it’s also about THEIR privacy, then you definitely should only allow peepz you really know! it’s not mean, but perhaps good for the sake of your friends and family? 🙂

  29. Zack

    If I see someone out and about that is my facebook friend, and they see me and ignore me or something like that it freaks me out. Why do you want to be my facebook friend but not my friend in reality?

  30. Ash

    I actually have the same view as you. I mean, I don’t have a blog, but if I did, I would not really accept blog friends as my facebook friends. It sounds…kind of rude…maybe? But it’s really not if you think about it. Not accepting them isn’t to say that you don’t trust them or anything, but really, what’s the difference between them contacting you on their blog or on your facebook? Whatever they have to say would probably fit best on your blog as that is what connects you and your blog friends together.

    I mean, can you just imagine your wall filled with posts/pictures of oatmeal, nut butter, and greek yogurt?

    Bloggers don’t know their readers in the same way that their readers know THEM. If that makes sense…

    Anywayyyy, this was a lengthy comment. -___-

  31. I barely ever go on facebook, simply because I am not that interested in it anymore. Id rather spend my time reading blogs 🙂
    My favorite greek yogurt dish is probably just freezing it and blending it with a frozen banana for softserve. It makes such creamy ice cream. SO delicious!

  32. truth – I have all those ingredients sitting in my kitchen, and I’m pretty pos I’m gonna make that dish fo’ dinnah tonight. 🙂 waahoo!

    p.s. do you use peelings of the s’ghetti squash, or do you have one of those cool little contraptions that makes them like noodles?

  33. TheCreamFilling

    Definitely don’t blame you for not accepting. Facebook is very personal.

    I would totes like your page if you made one though 🙂

  34. I LOVE YOU!
    and i am the same about FB friend requests- i know we have talked about this before!
    you are hawwwwwwwt and so is yo wiener

  35. I voted for you. You look good in that picture girl, fit and strong from what I can see.

    Just a suggestion, you can still open an FB page and have your readers go on there for extra info and tidbits that they don’t see here on your blog. I agree with you though, I will keep my personal FB and blog FB separate…for now. One is private use and one is for public use. I hope that helps, but I do understand that you are in a pickle!!

  36. Lee

    I have blog friends as facebook friends, but I totally understand wanting to keep your personal life personal.

  37. wutdafuhk tj

    I agree with you meg. I know you only through Twitter and your blog and I wouldn’t ask to be a facebook friend. As you said, that should be for family and personal friends. There are many social sites and although you can use fb to friend lots of online friends, I too like to keep it to people I know, have met in person, and have done things with together.
    Also, as the father of a beautiful daughter, I would want her to be extremely skeptical of those she let’s into her inner circle. Kudos to you for being wise. Keep it up.
    So, take it to heart when I say that I hope that my daughter will have similar attributes as you show and also don’t get all creepy mccreepster if I get all older brother on you lol. Peace.

Leave a Reply

