A Thousand Legs and Five Things

Somedays I wake up, open my blinds and immediately crawl back into bed and pretend it’s still 4am.  I pitch a little tent with my blanket and it’s just dark enough for my imagination to work it’s magic and convince my half-asleep self that it’s still sleepy time.

This morning was definitely one of those mornings. I fell asleep to hail lastnight and woke up to grey skies, I want some sunshine pronto! Wanna know what else I fell asleep to? You probably don’t, but I’m going to tell you anyway.

I was innocently walking upstairs to hit the sack lastnight and low and behold, waiting to attack – a house centipede. Cleverly trying to disguise himself in between the cracks of the door to a room and the wall. Sneaky, but not sneaky enough! I may or may not have squeeled and/or almost wet myself. If you’ve ever seen one of these things, you TOTALLY understand…worst nightmare on legs.

My thoughts exactly.

So I proceeded to grab probably 94% of the roll of toilet paper, balled it up and went in for the squish. I missed. Go figure. Homeboy vanished underneath the door…thankfully not the door to my room. What’s a girl to do? I’ll tell you. I stuffed the underneath of my door with towels so tightly that there was no possibly way he’d get in my room (and don’t tell me the other ways he can get in…I don’t wanna hear it.) This wasn’t a problem til I had to pee at 3am and had to almost drunkenly unstuff my door before peeing my pants. Til we meet again centipede…til we meet again. It’s a problem.

Anyways, excuse my bitchfit, but I had to get it out. Prancing around the house and gym all day, my pup and chatting with friends made me realize how good life is, even when it’s crappy outside. Know what else makes a grey day better? These five things:

1) Packages. Specifically from Sephora. Product reviews to come, probably in video form. Get pumped.

Excitment in a box.

 

2) Looking through recent pictures tagged on Facebook and realizing that having two-too many cocktails really brings out my eyes…er…lazy eye.

Date me?

 

3) This face. End of story.

My boo.

 

4) Frozen Chobani. Just do it. Right now sounds good.

Freeze me baby!

 

5) Homemade chili is best when shared. With your dog, of course! (Disclaimer: I only shared the ground beef…tomato + doggy digestive system = disaster all over your floor. I just went there, yep.)

Chili!

 

Five Alarm Chili

12 oz ground beef

1/2-1 cup peppers and onions, sliced

1 can diced tomatoes (I used no salt added)

1/4 cup tomato paste

1-2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional – this is the “five alarm” part aka SPICY)

1/2 tbsp chili powder

salt + pepper to taste

Cook ground beef thoroughly and add in peppers + onions. Combine and heat other ingredients in a medium-sized pot and simmer over medium heat; add beef + veggies and continue simmering on low/medium heat for about an hour til chili is thicker. Serve immediately or store and save til later. (It’s REALLY good if you let it sit for a day or two in the fridge!) Serves 2-3.

Super simple and super delicious. Also, I know this isn’t the recipe I mentioned in my last post – but that one’s coming, don’t worry – I’m still perfecting it!

I’m off to watch Wipeout and wish I was a contestant.

What’s your worst nightmare on legs?

What’s your favorite soup/stew/chili?

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. PLEASE keep the votes coming, you can vote once per day…I appreciate it so much 🙂 http://photos.fitnessmagazine.com/category/vote/photo/751190/33

32 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

32 responses to “A Thousand Legs and Five Things

  1. Love sephora! I just got a sephora package too ; )

    Loving the chili recipe, mike would love it! I will have to bookmark that ; )

    Love you! xoxo

  2. Hi, I’m new to the blog world and just wanted to say that I find your blog really inspiring. I tried some frozen fage the other day, you were right, just like froyo!

    Check out my new blog at http://www.foodsavi.blogspot.com

  3. I hate spiders for real. I cannot stand them and they freak me out like no tomorrow.

    I’m actually eating frozen chobani as I type this now! Twinnies!

  4. I am new to this whole “blog” thing…but I love your blog and read it frequently! I think you little puppy is adorable and I want a dachshund so bad..they are so cute! 🙂

  5. hahah i do the SAME thing with bugs. the other day I washed my face, went to grab the towel and saw a nasty spider on it. so I shrieked and then slammed the bathroom door and then my door so it couldn’t get near me. why am i so scared!?! I remember being told as a little girl that I was like, 1000x bigger than the spider, so why so scared of a tiny thing!?!?
    Idn, but I do wonder where that spider went… haha 🙂

  6. I’ve never seen that Chobani flavor before, honey-nana sounds freaking amazing. I am a big chili fan, so much food for the calories, delish! 🙂

  7. I LOVE packages, especially from Sephora…

    and yes – that face? SO sweet 🙂

  8. 1.) SPIDERS! Serious arachnophobia here, yo.

    2.) Matzo ball soup, hehe 😀 But I want to try your chili!

  9. I love lentil soup and baked potato soup! 🙂

  10. Spiders! I can’t get much done if there’s one in the same room as I am … at all. Once I saw a spider ON my bed, right before bedtime, and of course I couldn’t find it. It was horrible!!!

  11. I refuse to even try to kill bugs – last week I vacuumed up ants. Yup, in the vacuum. Then my mom reminded me that it probably didn’t kill them and they’re more than likely roaming around in the vacuum bag.

  12. aBAHAH i would have freaked- seriously CANNOT STAND INSECTs.. spiders are the WORSt- oh please. i thnk i can beat you on the drunk pictures becuz you actually still look goood! theyre the ones i untag myself in on fb for OBVIOUS reasons!

  13. Bugs are really terrifying. If I see a cockroach or a spider I almost start crying, so I completely understand your reaction.

  14. I would have flat out died. I HATE bugs! Cockroaches especially…I cant handle them at. all.

  15. i’m weird. i refuse to kill any bug/insect. i would have to let it free. however, i am prone to beg someone else to take care of the issue for me. and in that case, i don’t care if they kill it lol– so long that i don’t have to.

    i’m complicated, what can i say

  16. Ahhh! I am terribly arachnophobic (and scared of just about any three dimensional insect creature!) The toilet paper throwing sounds like something I’d do as well…I used to attempt to throw water on bugs in the bathtub to get them down the drain so I wouldn’t actually have to…ugh touchhhh them.

  17. You’re going to die when you hear this. I went to surf camp in Hawaii in middle school, and our cabins were basically little wooden roofs. AKA centipede central. We were always super careful not to let our sleeping bags touch the floor, but one night mine did and I woke up to one CRAWLING UP MY LEG. Gah. Yes. It was horrifying!

  18. kEndra

    I am completely 100% with you on the centipede hatred. O..M..G.. NOTHING should have that many legs…and I’ve always failed at squishing them before and of course with that many legs they just disappear – and then I can’t sleep at night…or have nightmares about them. Gross, Yuck, CREEPY!! blah. Anyhow….. I also LOOOOVE wipeout haha… we have the game for our wii – absolutely hilar! 🙂

  19. Ahhhhh, I HATE bugs in my apartment… especially when I lose sight of them. AUGH, hope you meet again just so you can GET that darn thing!

    I must try frozen Chobani!

  20. I totally grab about 91% of the TP to squish something. That, or he just chills underneath an upside-down glass till he one, dies… or two, I get the courage to squish him.

    AND I’m planning on freezing some chobani as per your suggestion on my post yesterday. 😉 thank you, pretty!

  21. Haha! I feel the same way, especially about beetles. It’s a lifelong battle for me.

    I’ve been voting for you, I hope you win!

  22. I am NOT a bug person. I don’t even like killing them. I’ll run to the next room, squeal at Paul to “GET UP GET UP YOU HAVE TO KILL IT!” and they I always ask him to “make sure it’s dead”.

    …I’m a wuss.

  23. That chili sounds BANGIN’!! I want it in ma belllyyyyy!!

    Even with your lazy eye, you’re still gorge!! 😉

  24. Hi Meg:) I have been reading your blog for a while now and decided to make my own 🙂 Hope you will check it out ! Thanksss giirrrlllll

    Cant WAIT too see your sephora goodies! I just placed an order too 🙂

Leave a Reply

