Get low

Just practicing....

 

If you follow me on twitter you know I tweeted about taking my first Zumba class and I must say, I am in love. (p.s. if you don’t follow me on twitter, you should get on that!) I’m not too much of a cardio buff at all…I love my weights. This was so different though, I’m a huge fan of dancing (grinding in particular…and I can frame face better than your mama.) Zumba was so, so much fun! If you haven’t tried it, I highly recommend it. I met up with my friend Mandy and my cousin Carly to do some damage:

Three peas in a pod!

 

Some things to keep in mind for your first time (aka the things I wish I knew)

1) You WILL sweat and smell afterward.

2) It’s totally fine not to nail every move the instructor does…just pretend like you know what you’re doing and when all else fails just get low…real low.

3) Don’t be intimidated by the amount of people, they all feel like idiots at moments just like you…I promise.

4) Wear something that won’t give you a wedgie…in all seriousness…wear a thong. A hot pink one works best.

5) Don’t eat dinner right beforehand unless you want to feel like you’re dancing with a twenty pound moving child in your stomach for the first fifteen minutes.

Pre-Zumba turkey burger chow. Bad, bad idea.

 

It was awesome. I am exhausted. Afterwards Mandy and I hit up Trader Joe’s because my sunflower seed butter is running a little low…and we all know that’s just absolutely not allowed. Plus, we figured TJ’s would enjoy two smelly chicks cooling off in the freezer section (specifically by the chili lime burgers.)

Post TJ's cooloff sesh.

 

Now I’m just enjoying the evening and daydreaming of my bed. But first, refueling with some oatmeal and berries and dropping it all over the keyboard cause I’m just classy like that.

Get in ma belly.

 

Have you ever tried Zumba? Thoughts?

What’s your favorite pre-workout/post-workout fuel?

Peace and love!

Meg

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Get low

  1. I have not tried Zumba-it has such a cult following I should def try it! Looks like a great time with great friends:)

  2. I haven’t tried Zumba because I’m so shy and can’t dance! LOL. It does look like a much more fun alternative to traditional cardio though!

    Preworkout I always have oatbran with protein, and err.. post workout the same! LOL

  3. I’m a pretty big fan of Zumba, my mom teaches it at my family’s health club. But, as a hip hop dancer, I can’t realllly get into it, and I’ve found something else even AWESOMER called BodyJam. I’m gonna get trained in it, and if you like Zumba you’ll love BodyJam, you should try it! 🙂

    I love smoothies for pre and post workout fuel, totally typical, but theres nothin better than a banana and vanilla protein powder shake 🙂

  4. I have never tried zumba but I might give it a go this weekend!

  5. Ahh I’ve always wanted to try zumba! Looks like such a fun way to workout. My favourite post-workout fuel: 2% greek yoghurt w/ cinnamon, berries, and a hunk of blueberry crumble cake. DELISH.

  6. I’ve done zumba many times!!! It is so fun!!! As a dancer it’s fun to do less technical more bouncing around kind of dancing!!

  7. Ive never tried Zumba because I. Can. Not. Dance. Notatall. Its awful.
    I dont fuel right before working out unless I am specifically hungry but I always have a whey protein shake right after weight training!

  8. How fun is that?! I’ve wanted to try Zumba since I heard that my fiance’s former church has a session every monday! cool huh? The pastor’s wife teaches it, but I was never able to make it 😦 But I’m scared! I tottalllllyyy have NO rhythm 😛

  9. ruth

    hahagreat posts! you’re doing a good job following our readers wishes and ideas(concerning your blogging). that is so nice.
    thanks for the entertainment and Continue (:

  10. I am so glad you tried zumba!!! Yes, you dont have to know every move, just as long as your moving and shaking your booty, who cares!!!

    Love u! xoxo Have a happy Wednesday!!!

  11. i WOULD LOVE ZUMBA! i love to get down and dirty- i mean. dance
    when i join a gym and find that class- no doubt i will be doing it!

  12. I took Zumba once and let’s just say my girls and I did NOT know what was going on, but we were sore the next day! Haha but I agree it is SO fun, I just want to get better at it.

    Slash pre-workout I always do TONS of carbs/fruit and usually some flax or nuts. Afterwards, a smoothie of banana, dates, a tablespoon or two of protein powder, a teaspoon of EFA oil blend, and a teaspoon of dulse all blended up! It is soooo good, and then an hour later I have a big meal.

    • Meg

      That smoothie sounds amazing…I LOVE dates but would have never guessed they’d be good in smoothies!

      Let’s take more Zumba together and get better at it?! 😉 Haha

  13. Hahaha I love your Zumba tips 🙂 I’ll keep them in mind and I think my friend and I are going to try a class in Charlotte!

  14. I’m SO glad you liked Zumba! I was once a lover and now I’m an instructor. It is seriously the most fun workout. It makes women feel so sexy and confident 🙂

  15. I LOVEEEE making a fool of myself in Zumba. It’s really my time to let loose and just enjoy the music without any inhibitions. I think I’d definitely enjoy it more if I went with friends though. That way, I’m not the only one laughing at myself.

  16. I’ve done zumba a few times, but since I teach step aerobics I love that a wee bit more ha. ;). I agree though, many people their first time going to a class get really embarrassed if they mess up. No one is going to remember 5 seconds later because we are all just trying to remember the steps in our minds.

  17. I’ve been wanting to try Zumba, but just haven’t taken the leap yet. I think it would be a blast!

  18. I haven’t tried Zumba yet, I’m going to try it at home before I actually do a class!

  19. Diana

    I teach Zumba! I lurve it! Looks like you posted some great tips. #3 is so true! Even the instructor feels nervous/silly sometimes! 😉 And glad to hear you had a good time!

  20. I’ve always wanted to try Zumba. Nothing better than doing cardio in the form of dancing! 😀

  21. I did Zumba last quarter, it was a lot of fun! Though I didn’t get as much of a workout as other stuff I did… but it was empowering somehow 🙂

  22. Haha I must admit that I am not a fan of Zumba due to my lack of dancing skills. The only time I like to dance is when intoxicated….wait, drunk Zumba would be the most fun thing EVER!

    • Sara

      hahah girl- last night I went out with some of the girls I go to zumba with and we heard some of the songs and were all about trying to show off the routines. Completely ridic and oh so fun!!

  23. I looove 3oz of chicken with salsa or tomato sauce and sweet oats — with strawberry or banana or apple slices. 🙂

  24. Pingback: Giving up the bean | Sunshine 'n Spice

  25. Zumba is the best! I started taking it after I left dance as a way to let go of my rigid ballet training and focus on calories. It let me get my cardio in without being obsessive and I always left feeling great about myself , Definitely an intense workout if you give it your all! Also, so impressed that you are giving up coffee, I lasted 2 days but the migraines were too much, all the best with this goal!

Leave a Reply

