I don’t speak weenie.

If only I could record what’s currently happening in my living room without getting caught. I feel like this is becoming a normal happening in my household and I’m not quite sure if I’m ok with it or not…my Dad and my dog are barking at each other. I really hope for my Dad’s sanity and my dogs ego that they can absolutely understand what they’re barking about cause quite frankly I’m out of the loop…and that’s quite ok with me.

They have quite the special relationship.

They help each other out in sticky situations.

 

In other news, this weekend was totally chill. And by chill I meant I probably almost froze to death approx. 72 times. Maybe I’m overreacting, but it’s seriously way too cold outside. I’m incredibly thankful for a fireplace and my Snuggie. Being outside, even drunk is unbearable! Someone fly to an island in the Caribbean with me?

Yesterday evening I was seriously craving childhood favorites. Maybe it was the weather, maybe I needed comfort (and warmth) or maybe I just really wanted to cook. Either way, I made an amazing re-creation of one of the dishes my Dad used to serve when I was younger.

Lemony snicket

 

Wannabe Dad’s Lemon Chicken

Ingredients:

Chicken breast (I just used a 5oz cut)

Juice of 2 fresh Meyer lemons (or any lemon you have on hand!)

1/2 tbsp cornstarch

1-2 tbsp honey

1 tbsp brown sugar

Dash of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)

Dash of salt

What to do:

Cook your chicken as instructed (I baked mine @ 350 til it wasn’t pink…obviously)

Combine all ingredients in a small pot and whisk together, heat up over the stove or in the microwave like a lazy girl (me!) til the sauce thickens up.

Pour over chicken + veggies if you cooked any and devour. Enjoy! Couldn’t be easier, right?

Mmm!

 

For dessert I was also craving a childhood lunchbox favorite…

Chocolate swirl pudding!

 

Oh, I went there and OH it was delicious. I wouldn’t mind being five again.

I can’t believe it’s already Sunday, really? Do I say this every weekend? Most likely. I got in a killer upper body workout today and I know I’ll be feeling it tomorrow, but something about being sore makes me feel good…does that make any sense? I’m off to get dinner with my brother and sister-in-law (and Mia!) Enjoy your evening and STAY TOASTY!

OH and before I forget (because I almost just did…) the winner of my Perfect Foods Bar giveaway is comment number…

Fouuuur!

 

Congrats to Spabettie! 🙂 Please email me with your address so I can forward it to the company! Thank you everyone for participating and as always, there will be more giveaways soon!

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. a few new tutorials/reviews up on my channel 🙂

44 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

44 responses to “I don’t speak weenie.

  1. hahahaha, you dog!! what is going on in that pic?? so cute though 😉

    • Meg

      Haha umm well you see, my Dad accidently dropped the bag on the floor, Cara made a beeline for it, got stuck (happily stuck) and needed some assistance in reaching the rest of the chips.

      She’s naughty.

  2. Haha wait, can I come over? I am going to steal your dog he is so funny, and I bark at my dog too so your Dad is a cool bean;)

    Slash yes let’s go to the Caribbean and drink Mojitos while we get really really tan. I love warmth, hate winter.

    Now I’m hangry for sweet potaters! And I used to eat jello pudding like it was going out of style, but then again what little girl didn’t;)

  3. That pic of the pup is hilarious! Yummy eats!

  4. bhahaa. I just laughed for about five minutes of the photo of your dog. But seriously-my dad barks at my big dogs too and I thought I was the only poor soul that had to deal with that.

    It has been way to cold here too. I have been living off of hot cocoa the last few days.

  5. I like being sore because I know I’m making progress! Have a great Sunday!

  6. On the real, I still love those Jello Pudding Swirls! And laughing my ass off over here, your dog/dad are hilarious. That photo made my night.

  7. hahah ok i agree, even when drunk it is TOOOOOO COLD! i will fly to the Caribbean with you!!

  8. lets pack our bags right now and go on vaca…ya down?!?

    The chicken recipe sounds like a winner. I love that it’s so simple!

  9. Haha I wish I could see this between your dog and dad! And chocolate swirl pudding is the best!

  10. oatsandspice

    Haha that totally sounds like something my dad would do with my dog… gotta love it 🙂

  11. I love that super sore feeling too 😀

    That chicken looks delicious!

  12. I know how you feel about the post-workout burn 😀 I think I may be addicted to it!!

  13. haha, dads are so weird sometimes!

  14. That’s too funny about your dad and your pup!

    And girl, those little jello cups are the bombdotcom. So good!

  15. dude I lived for those pudding cups! with crushed grahams? j’adore.

    I’m obsessed with your dad… a.) for this post, b.) for lending his sperm to the creation of my favorite girl in the world c.) picking my holy donuts creation like 2 years ago and granting me with four boxes.

    Yeah I’ll never be able to thank him enough

  16. I am SO down to go to the caribbean with you 😉 meet you there??

    (granted, I’m in NorCal and it hasn’t ACTUALLY been that cold, but, I mean, it’s the caribbean! And I like HOT, not just “not-cold”, soooo 😉 )

  17. I’m totally down to hop on a plane to the Caribbean. But only if you bring your weenie dog! Okay, that sounded reallly baddd!

    When my doxie gets ahold of any food she will growl at you if you try to come and take it away! Haha she’s mean when it comes to food. 😉

  18. That dinner with Chicken Looks aweosme! tommrow i THINK i am having rice and veggies! You inspried me.

    Ohhh brother. My dog, dad AND mom have that relationship. I’m like WTHECK is this.
    and the thing that sucks is my mom will act like my dog is going to actually responf to her questions so she keeps repeating it in that baby language….help me! LOL

  19. Ah Cara is such an adorable name for a smaller puppy. That is funny… I can just imagine a dad and dog barking back and forth. Hilarious!

  20. I will literally be on a plane to a tropical island with you in a heartbeat. This winter has been horrendous to put it mildy. I am counting the days till sunshine and flip flops for sure!

  21. It’s too cold. I’m with you there.

    My piano teacher’s dog got its head stuck in a PB jar once. That first photo reminded me of it…too cute!

  22. Thanks so much for that recipe! I have to cook that soon!

  23. Your dad and your pup are like two peas in a pod 🙂 Once my dad woke up to find my pup on the kitchen table slurping away eating his chicken noodle soup! Hahaha

  24. Aw your pup is so cute! They always tend to get themselves in sticky situations don’t they?? Ha!

  25. HAHA love that picture of your dad and dog – You should frame it 🙂 Jello is one of my favorites and they have sooo many good flavors now. Have you had the cinnamon roll? i die.

  26. Loving your youtube channel…I just watched like 6 videos in a row!! I really want to look for that hair creme you got from Whole Foods. Do you tease your hair at all? You have such awesome volume! I think its just natural luscious 🙂 Thanks for the link!

  27. AHHAHAHAHAHAH ur pup!.. and jello is the bam shizzle pop.. it will always be.. except i cant stand jello jello.. jelllo pudding is fine by me!

  28. you’re totally not weird. i love the feeling of being sore. 🙂

    p.s… your pup is too cute. wait till you see my BRAND NEW ADDITION… (stay tuned on my blog today!)

  29. Your dog is so cute. We always gave mine all the good food as treats(luckily for him, any food was “good food” compared to his dog food)

  30. Oh my goodness, that picture of your dad and doggie is hilarious!

  31. Haha, that photo of your dad and pup had me literally laughing out loud! I am a sucker for cute dog photos!

    I am certainly staying warm, it’s about 81 degrees here in good ole’ Florida!

  32. your dad and the dog are too cute, I see they are BFF”s! I was laughing the other day when I saw your tweet about your dad talking to your dog!

    This chicken recipe looks so good and so does the Jello pudding! J-E-L-L-O!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hope you have a great day!

    p.s. I will go on a trip somewhere warm, Im sick of this cold and snow!

  33. hahah my dad totally loves my weenie too 🙂 He keeps saying how much he hates tiny dogs but everytime I come home with Woodstock, he won’t let him out of his site. And yes, he got stuck in a Triscuit box once. Silly dogs…. 🙂

  34. Ayla

    Hahahaha! Your dad sounds amazing. I’m not sure if I should admit this or not but I can totally see myself doing something like that. In fact, I meow to my cat all the time. 😀

    I don’t think you’re ever too old to eat pudding and if anyone thinks so then they need to be force fed some! Then they’ll change their mind. Or choke from being force fed..

  35. LOL at your dad and dog barking at each other. That is hilarious. My cat and I meow and squeak at each other. We kinda have our own language.

    It’s been SOOO cold here. Today, it felt like spring when it hit 41 degrees! It’s been around 19 for a few weeks. I can’t take it.

    PS-thanks for the compliments on my belly 🙂

  36. my mom put the cell phone up to my dog the other day when i was on the phone with here, she said he was listening!!!! haha

    i have read a zillion times about lemon with chicken when you cook it to keep the juiciness in, i may have to try it

  37. Mmm, I love pudding! I’ve actually been on a kick lately. Just to make it a little “nicer,” I like to stir in some pumpkin and pumpkin pie spice!

Leave a Reply

