Tis the season….

…to reflect on all of the amazing, wonderful and incredible blessings that I’ve been able to experience this year. I hope you all are taking the time to spend with your family and friends (human and furball variety too!) and I wish everyone a Merry whatever-you-celebrate! Whether it be Christmas or not – and even if you don’t celebrate – just remember how lucky you are to have the people in your life that you do.

Believe it or not I’ll be spending another glorious day in the kitchen baking and cooking…actually I’m sure that’s easy to believe cause I know ya’ll are probably doing the same. I can only hope and pray that we all make it through the rest of the season without burning the kitchen down. Burnt cookies are totally legit, though, according to my dog.

Ready...set...FEED ME!

What’s in my oven today? You don’t have to guess this time, I guess I’ll tell you…gluten free bread pudding! I based this recipe off of one I saw on Maria’s blog – I followed her recipe except made a few additions/substitutions and it turned out amazing. I may or may not have indulged in a little over half of it already…but hey, like I said – tis the season…for eggplant bread pudding and burnt cookies!

I would totally bring this along to my family get-together tomorrow to share, but it’s just really not cute when you show up with a half-eaten dish and no one but yourself to blame it on.

Eggplant bread pudding

GF Eggplant Bread Pudding

Ingredients

2 cups eggplant cubes (I kept the skin on)

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp coconut oil

4 eggs (beaten)

2 cups vanilla soymilk (almond would work too!)

1/4 cup sugar (or sub)

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×9 pan. Melt your butter + coconut oil (work quickly – coconut oil solidifies when room temperature or cold) Place cubes in greased pan and pour butter/coconut oil mixture over them and bake for about 15-20 mins or until the eggplant is soft. While the eggplant is in the oven, beat together the eggs, soymilk, vanilla, cinnamon and sugar. Pour over the eggplant cubes and mash down with a fork so that the eggplant soaks up the mix.

Bake for 45 minutes or until “springy” like bread pudding. Enjoy!

Now, I’m sure ya’ll are wondering who guessed “What’s in my oven?”  yesterday…well, no one did exactly…but no worries! It was Walnut Blondies. Veggiegirl, I am SO surprised that wasn’t your guess! Two people guessed blondies, but different kinds, so to be fair, I’ll be sending shenanigans to both of you. Congrats to Jess and Erinbee! Email me with your addresses and I’ll get you your presents when I can survive a trip to the madhouse they call the post office…aka after the holidays. Hope you understand that I’m not really a fan of getting trampled.

Blondies are a-bakin'!

I was really considering tweeting that picture, but I decided that’d make it way too easy 😉

Mmm.

Anyways, I’m off to make a mess out of the kitchen, round 3.

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. a few new videos up on my YouTube channel  🙂

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Tis the season….

  1. AMEN AMEN AMEN!! Enjoy your Christmas – so blessed.

    Oooh, intriguing bred pudding recipe – yum!

    And no, I didn’t guess blondies… oh well, haha. I’m especially glad to see that Erinbee won the blondies though – she rocks 🙂

  2. HAPPY HOLIDAYS to YOU too… squeeze that Sweet Pup for me!

  3. ahahha DANG it wasn’t coconut cookiees! you are a bakin fiend, girl! that eggplant bread pudding is so intriguing.. eggplant and pudding?! QUE?

  4. You are so awesome, Meg! You definitely have the right idea about the holidays. Love you and hope you have a wonderful Christmas! xoxo

  5. Eggplant and bread pudding? Thats weird girl! Tell us how it turns out!
    I’m gonna be bakin a lot today too!

  6. I have an addiction to bread pudding and that looks amazing!

  7. I love that bread pudding- I can never tell it’s eggplant!

    Merry Christmas!!

  8. Walnut blondies = YUM. And the eggplant bread pudding sounds so interesting, I want to try it!!

  9. I WON/TIED?! Yaaaay!

    Now not to be pushy or anything…but I leave for Barcelona on January 6th, so let’s just I hope this delicious little package arrives before then, mmkay?! 😉

  10. Eggplant pudding ?? thats nearly as crazy as courgette cake (or zuccchini cake as u guys call it!) sounds yum tho 🙂 enjoy ur holiday, xx

  11. I was so off, haha.

    Merry Christmas!!

  12. i cant believe you werent baking what I guessed! that was prob your back up plan 🙂

    eggplant??? you cant taste it?!?! that sounds..funkayyyyyyyy! but I trust you that its good!
    LOVE YOU!

  13. Little Bookworm

    Hope you have a fantastic Christmas day tomorrow Meg! 🙂

  14. happy christmas eve meg! COME VISIT KATIE AND ME!!!!!!!!

  15. Gina G

    Merry Christmas Meg! I hope it is absolutely wonderful 🙂

  16. I woulda never guessed you were baking bread pudding–I don’t actually think I’ve ever made one–looks good though!

    Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

