Berry Cheesecake Oatmeal: How To

Let me introduce you to my favorite breakfast:

Looks fancy, but it’s really relatively simple; because complicated and I just don’t mix in the morning. Here’s how I make my go-to breakfast.

1) Make a batch of oatmeal or oat bran (I use Bob’s Red Mill GF Hot Cereal or oats) over the stovetop, or the in the microwave if you’re lazy or pressed for time.

2) About halfway through cooking, mix in vanilla whey protein powder (HUGE fan of Jay Robb!)  and a blend of frozen or fresh berries…my favorite? Blueberries, strawberries and blackberries! Sometimes raspberries make it in there as well. Pour in bowl and…

3) Simmer or microwave (I usually microwave, but simmer just sounds more attractive) about a cup or two of berries and a tsp of sugar or Stevia and pour em’ right over the oatmeal like so:

4) Drool. Then proceed to scoop out a huge hunk of cottage cheese (my personal favorite? Whipped cottage cheese!) and top them beautiful berries off like so:

5) Pair it up with a spoonful of almond butter, peanut butter or anything nutty like that. Breakfast is not complete without nut butter, I promise. I think of it as the “crust” flavor to the “cheesecake”; got it? Also, garnish with chopped dates, figs or anything else that suits your fancy and dig in!

Viola!

What’s your favorite breakfast? Please share!

What’s your favorite oatmeal topping?

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. check out my holiday gift guide for the women in your life here! More gift ideas coming soon! 🙂

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Berry Cheesecake Oatmeal: How To

  1. Love your fancy shmancy breakfast oats!

    My ultimate breakfast is pancakes but I rarely have them. My go-to is oatmeal and I toss in pecans and raisins..yum!

    • Meg

      Mmm pecans and raisins sound amazing! Except I’d have to find a replacement for the raisins…not a fan 😉 haha! You should treat yourself to some pancakes this weekend!

  2. I’ve never tried cottage cheese in oats… but I’m game to try anything with the name “cheesecake” in the title! 😀

    My favourite breakfast is good ol’ pumpkin oatmeal with banana, soy nut butter, granola and chopped figs.

  3. Amy

    I’ve never heard of cottage cheese on oatmeal. Interesting idea. My favorite breakfast is french toast!

  4. I’ve always been apprehensive about cottage cheese, don’t know why but I don’t like the cut of its jib. Otherwise, I like the idea of a cheesecake oatmeal! My favorite breakfast usually consists of a Belgium waffle with fresh strawberries.

  5. I have been loving plain oatmeal with some brown sugar, walnuts, and raisins lately. I was amazed that I could like something so much that has no nutbutter, haha. It is SO good, though!!

  6. YUMAYYYYY!!!!!!!! droooooooool this looks amazing girlfrand. come cook it for meeeeeee

  7. That looks delicious! My favorite oats are pumpkin oats right now. I can’t get away from them.

  8. Haha I agree, smother sounds much better! Those look delicious and actually look like they taste cheesecakey!

  9. hey lovey! that looks amazingly good!! YUM and super pretty color!
    i love cottage cheese on oatmeal or mixed in, makes it so good! cottage cheese just has a special something that makes oatmeal that much better! 🙂
    I am soo gonna make this recipe when i get home and can “simmer” some mixed berries on the stove top! 😉
    my favorite breakfast is oatmeal! obviously 😉 addicted forever hehe…
    especially lovin lately multi grain oats with a banana cooked into it, lots of cinnamon some truvia and topped with Trader Joe’s raw creamy almond butter and chopped up dried figs! i also love to toast sliced almonds and throw them on top of oatbran 🙂

    xx
    maya

  10. I know as a guy I am a little out of place over here but I have really been trying to eat healthy as it keeps my body active and my mind feeling clear! Thanks for having a cool blog like this.

  11. this looks uhmazingggg…! I can already taste the party in my mouth-! fav breakki- Death by Chocolate oats or Choc fudge brownie oats.. I call it many things aha! fav topping definitely cannot be limited to one…. nut butter and a choc protein muffin!

  12. Looks delish! I eat oatmeal day in and day out:)

  13. Love this! :] i love cottage cheese + oatmeal! it is such a great topping and it’s quite good stirred in while cooking as well! + jay Robb’s vanilla whey is a favorite of mine as well! i am making this asap, looks amazing!
    my favorite breakfast is without a doubt and obviously oatmeal ;] my favorite as of late is pumpkin oats..i like it best with Irish style oats + 1/4 pumpkin + 1/2 a banana whipped in + lots and lots of cinnamon ;] topped with dried mission figs or raisins + almond butter or with raw nuts(almonds and walnuts)…the toppings for oats are really endless! ohh and ricotta + a bit of honey on top of oats is Amaazzing i did that a week or so ago and it has the same cheesecake-y-ness ;P lol

    love you babe
    xx
    eliza

  14. Ooh, these look so tasty! Will be making!

  15. Fi

    I’m all about simmering! No nukeage for me!
    My fave oat topping? Heated dried figs, chopped pears,almond butter and honey,ooh,and cinnamon too.xxx

    • This looks unbeliveable tasty! Cottage Cheese is one of the best toppings by far. I’d love to try it, but I don’t have any whey powder. What does it do, other than add protein? Would simply adding some vanilla extract work, or does it change the texture? Also, how does one ‘whip’ cottage cheese? That may sound like a stupid question, but I can’t think how beating it with a fork or something would actaully do anything. Obviiously lacking in imagination!
      Best Breakfast? Dried fruit (figs, apricots, raisins, BEAR cherry/tropical nibbles) left overnight in Keffir Yoghurt with Oats. Also, anything containing Cottage Cheese and Melon together (this is such a good combination, I highly recommend tring it!)

  16. Yummo! I don’t like cottage cheese, but the idea of a cheesecake oatmeal? I’m down! My fave topping is a “brownie batter” made out of chocolate protein powder + water + pancake mix microwaved for just a few seconds until warm…I haven’t made that in FOREVER! I may have to resurrect it!

  17. Oh gosh, now you’ve got me wanting oats for dinner! This looks fabulous!

  18. Ayla

    That.looks.divine. Well, minus the cottage cheese. 😉

    I’m currently favorite-breakfast-less. Lately nothing has been sounding super appealing to me. It’s my scrooge-like nature starting to make an appearance now that Christmas is approaching.

  19. You had me at berries & cheesecake. I am not much of a dessert person, but I can never ever pass up a good cheesecake. It’s just not an option! And for breakfast?! Count me in–your brilliant. 🙂 Enjoy your Sunday!

  20. Carly in Wonderland

    I have got to try this!

  21. runyogarepeat

    Mmm! I love adding any type of nut butter + cinnamon. Cinnamony oats are so good!

  22. Gah, my favorite breakfast is a whole grain homemade muffin (like my chocolate coconut or pumpkin pecan) crumbled into greek yogurt (with added vanilla extract) and a giant blob of nut or coconut butter!

    As for oats – Ive been loving gingerbread oats with coconut butter or lemon curd oats with cashew butter, just to stir it up!

  23. Looks yummy and filling! I make a carrot, pumpkin and coconut oatmeal breakfast cake that is crazy good… Every time!

  24. I just bought Bob’s Red Mill GF Hot Cereal and I can’t quite figure out the right ratio of cereal to liquid. I want to make a 1/4 cup serving (probably in the microwave cuz I’m a tad lazy hah). How much water (or milk or liquid or whatever) do you recommend?

  25. Wow this looks good!!!!!!! I need to add cottage cheese to my oats!!!!! I love you!

  26. My favorite breakfast are pancakes for real. I eat them almost everyday.

    I love your oatmeal ideas. Perhaps I’ll convert my love for pancakes to oatmeal.

  27. oh my goodness. time to clean up the slobber all over my keyboard 🙂

    looks deeeelish.

    xo.

  28. Pingback: Tis the season, finally! « Sunshine 'n Spice

Leave a Reply

