Thanksgiving and Beyond

Is it just me or did Thanksgiving come and go at an unacceptable speed? I can’t believe tomorrow’s Monday and I really can’t believe how much work I put off until today. Does Senioritis happen in college? If so, I’m pretty sure I caught it. Maybe I should restock my hand sanitizer. Bath & Body Works is having a sweet sale, and they do sell my favorite hand sani’s ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anywho – hope you all had an awesome Thanksgiving or just a great week/weekend in general, whether you ate turkey and taters or not! Over this (too-short) break, I’ve managed to cook up quite the mess in the kitchen. If ya’ll want recipes for any of this stuff I’ll gladly do a seperate recipe post. For Thanksgiving I made my cousins favorite dessert – Peanut Butter Creme Pie:

I feel like she should wear a diaper whenever she hears the words “peanut” and “pie” used in the same sentence, but it is that good, promise. Super simple too. Oh, and yes,ย I did write her name on it in chocolate ganache. I also made a gluten free pumpkin pie that seemed to have escaped from my camera? Guess it was hungry.

Peanut butter creme pie – deconstructed. Apple pie was the main culprit in the pie-smell suffocation process that went down in my house on Wednesday – and I’m not complaining about it…

I just loved having everyone over for Thanksgiving, as any holiday! My family means the world to me.

I didn’t go Black Friday shopping – which is incredibly unlike me – because I was honestly so stuffed to the brim that I really just wanted to sleep for a long, loooong time. So my Aunt and I made a holiday out of Saturday and called it Black Saturday, because we’re original like that. Gathered up some Christmas goodies, and oo-ed and aaahh-ed over this little MINI PIE MAKER!!! I am obsessed and I want one:

Williams-Sonoma is like a foodie gadget dream store. I am in love…and they always have an array of samples ๐Ÿ˜‰ I remember when I was little, samples were the highlight of my grocery trips – and the sweet electronic coupon dispensers that I’d oh-so-sneakily pull all of the coupons out of.

During our trip I had to make a stop by the department store make-up counters and test out all of the holiday goodies and shades. Although I buy probably more than half of my make up at the drugstore, it’s nice to splurge on some holiday glitter – agreed? Oh, and speaking of beauty shenanigans, I recorded a little “Winterizing Your Skin” vid, if you’re interested.

Tis the season for flakes…and not just snowflakes. Gross.

Lastnight I indulged in a little celebratory festivities for one of my friends 21st birthday’s (by the way, since when does Party City RUN OUT of Happy Birthday balloons?!) I ended up grabbing some half-ass excuse for birthday balloons that said “2” and “1”…lame. Anyways…

Her cake definitely made up for the balloon issue ๐Ÿ˜‰

Cook anything special this week/weekend?

What do you do to “winterize” your skin?

I’m off to cook some chicken curry stew (recipe coming soon!) for my brother and sister-in-law to bring over for dinner tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace and love!
Meg

p.s. incase you missed it: MEET MY WEENIE!

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “Thanksgiving and Beyond

  1. P.s I giggled a the title meet my weenie ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am immature!

  2. please hand over the peanut butter creme pie- that has my name ALL over it! AND mini pie maker!!! where has this been all my life?!

  3. I am in love with that mini pie maker! Ahhhh! I am going to have to try that body scrub you mentioned.. I loove anything coconut. Def got the “senioritis” thing going too =P

  4. Aww, how exciting! Sounds like a fun celebration anyways, and those pie makers are AWESOME! I think all I want for Christmas this year are kitchen gadgets!

  5. Gasping! That mini pie maker is amazing, I want it! And yes, Thanksgiving came and left WAY too quickly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  6. oh goodness that food sounds amazing! and I adore the fact that your making videos!! I love watching beauty vids on you-tube and yours are so good.
    as for winterizing my skin I have to switch to a thicker mosistuerizer and I usually switch the hot water in the shower to cold before I get out so it shocks my skin.

  7. I have definitely eaten my fair share of pumpkin baked goods this weekend. I was responsible for making a pumpkin roll, and while I had some technical difficulties that detracted from its aesthetic value, it sure did taste good!

    In the winter I switch over to a heavier face lotion and can’t leave the house without the Body Shop’s hemp hand lotion. Aquaphor must always be in my bag, too, or else I am a gross dry mess.

  8. Peanut butter pie is AWESOME. It’s my brother’s, dad’s, boyfriend’s favorite dessert…and that’s just the top three.

    I was on a baking kick last week but haven’t made anything since Thanksgiving, when I made Mama Pea’s dough balls. So. Freaking. Delicious!

  9. Thanksgiving did come and go far too quickly, I agree! Have a great upcoming week!

  10. well, i love pb. and i love pie. looks like we’ve got a winner!!

    i baked my usual pumpkin choc chip bars for the fam this year. nothing too crazy!

  11. Girl, I think procrastination just happens on break, regardless of what year you are. It’s called a break for a reason (or that’s my excuse anyways).

  12. Emily

    haha, I lol-ed when I you semi-orgasmed after smelling the coconut body scrub. haha. hah. coconut is my favorite and I have reacted that way before. Tis uncontrollable.

  13. I’m a sophomore and having “senioritis.” UH-OH. You can do it though, really only 1 more semester, right?!

    Merry Christmas ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. I didn’t really cook anything super special, I made pumpkin pie for on Thanksgiving. I honestly don’t like pumpkin pie but everyone else in my family does so I made it for them. Also, what I do to my skin for the winter is that I try to moisturize it to keep it from drying.

  15. Cecilia

    Try Nature’s Gate What A Walnut night cream (I use it as day cream as well as night cream) – I live in Australia were the air is always dry, so this cream works wonders, I never get dry patches anymore + it has awesome reviews on Makeup alley website!

  16. Great vlog, as always! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I basically sleep with moisturizer on so thick you could stick a finger in it ;)The cold weather + harsh, dry air from heaters kills me!!

  17. Did we make the same PB pie?? It looks so similar! Yummy!

  18. Oh my goodness, this pie has to be the best thing ive seen all day – so good!

    x

  19. Erin

    I love La Mer moisturizer for my face, it’s definitely the best I’ve ever used. As far as facial wash and toner, I really like Kate Somerville’s Gentle Daily Wash and Origins Toner. For body lotion, I use Lubriderm Fragrance Free lotion. I also really love Rosebud Salve for my lips as well as La Mer lip balm.

  20. The only thing I do to winterize my skin is to START using a moisturizer, baha! Gosh thats aweful. I am going to utilize your amazing tips. Thanks girrl

  21. Ooo love the looks of that pie–how creative to write the name with chocolate! My birthday is in May! haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

  22. I NEED that pb pie!!!!!!! Like right now. How much would you charge to ship it to me????? =D
    Anyway, for thanksgiving I made a side dish: wild/brown rice with mushrooms and celery. Pretty basic, but it was yummy, and my first-ever contribution to a Thanksgiving meal!

  23. Loving your blog! That pie looks amazing!

  24. An unacceptable speed is right! Christmas is just around the corner! how nuts is that….it sneaks up faster and faster each year, I swear..
    I love the picture of you and your gal pals. So Cute. You have the most gorgeous hair, EVER. It’s so thick and healthy!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Xo.

  25. that mini pie maker thingy is genius!!!!! so glad you had a fun family filled turkey day my dear ๐Ÿ™‚

    those 1 and 2 balloons will definitely be a fun memory for your friend!

  26. william sonoma really is a foodie DREAM HEAVEN! omg its amazing in there, but I wish everything wasn’t so darn expensive ya know?? crate nad barrel rocks too!

    love the skin care tips beautiful!!

  27. My skin gets so dry in the winter!!! I like to use baby oil to lock in moisture! It works really well, and it’s so much cheaper than expensive lotions!

    I haven’t cooked anything too out of the ordinary this week. Nothing special, just lots of veggies!

  28. I am saying this with 100% certainty: You CAN get senioritis in college. I’m a junior and I already have it. Sucksssss. Good luck, girly.

  29. valgal123

    Oh my gosh does my skin get dry as well! I use alba sea moss moisturizer and its by far the best face lotion I’ve had yet. I try to do a salt or sugar scrub every now and then, but it seems to just make my skin worse, much worse and then it takes days and days to get back to normal. Anyway, love your blog, love the videos.

Leave a Reply

