Don’t Sweat It

I have a problem.

Most of you are probably going to think I’m either a) nuts, b) ridiculous or c) too concerned about my looks. Let me explain: I simply cannot bring myself to wear sweats to class. Yes, a senior in college cannot wear sweats to class. I don’t know if it’s the fact that I enjoy spending 75% of my morning digging through my closet or the fact that sweats just make me wanna sleep, which really isn’t the best idea in class, especially when a keyboard would be considered the pillow. I don’t know about you, but I’m not down with little square/rectangle imprints on my forehead. You let me know when that’s in style, deal?

Do you wear sweats to class, or pick out an out fit for everyday?

Please tell me I’m not the only one. Even if I am the only one – someone, just lie to me!

Although somedays I really do regret not wearing sweats – the days where I have massive coffee spillage (usually the days in which I’m wearing white, naturally) or those days when my jeans just do a terrible job at hiding the fact that I have a bright pink thong on. Wardrobe malfunction at it’s classiest, I know.

Anyways, other than bright pink thongs and coffee stains, here are a few things I’ve been lovely lately. In no particular order:

1) SCARVES! I am so, so excited that it’s finally scarf season – even though I totally wore them in the summer as well. I called them “summer scarves” – and as far as I know, I got away with it.

Love.

2) Breakfast: on the go, or pretty breakfasts that I can actually sit down and enjoy (with a side of blog and news reading, of course)

With figs!

Β 

‘notha angle.

Β 

Perfect Foods Bar - I LOVE these things.

I cannot say enough good things about those bars. They’re kind of my favorite thing in my purse right now.

3) Transition sandals: I made up a name for these, cause I feel like they’re a good transition from summer shoes into fall. And I cannot get over my love of sandals and flipflops. I got these in St. John when I went over the summer πŸ™‚

Sandals - fallish?

4) Almond butter. I hate to say this, but it’s totally replaced peanut butter in my life right now. Not that I don’t eat ridiculous amounts of peanut butter on a daily basis, BUT when I reach in a jar with a spoon, it’s usually my almond butter. I could eat this like pudding. In fact, I kinda do.

Yum!

5) WEEKENDS. I have finally come to terms with the fact that I need weekends to relax and have fun – not just worry about schoolwork, which I tend to do anyway, because I’m a perfectionist and HAVE to get everything done on time, if not ten days early.

Weekend apparel?

Are you a procrastinator or are you obsessive about getting things done?

I guess I can sway both ways in that aspect now.

Tell me YOUR favorite things today!

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. I hate my layout – have any ideas for me? πŸ™‚

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Don’t Sweat It

  1. I’m a senior in college too, and I never wear sweats to class. Studies show you learn better when you dress up more (I think), and out of respect to my profs, I try to look like I care. Still, you best believe I change into sweats as soon as I’m in the comfort of my own home! Also, I used to wear sweats all the time in high school. I went to an all girls’ school and everyone would come in sweatshirts and sweatpants on out-of-uniform days. We looked like we were having a giant slumber party in all of our classes!

  2. I don’t wear sweats for classes either, although, it would probably be the best thing to do, ’cause veterinary uni really isn’t clean πŸ˜€

  3. Oh you’ll cringe when I tell you this:
    Sometimes, I wear my PJs to class! Forget sweats; those are too fancy for me ;).

  4. I never wear sweats to class! I actually tried it once and felt so bad about it that I’ve never done it again. I like to look nice (or what I deem nice, lol) so I pretty much always plan my outfits.

  5. Nope not a procrastinator here…never have been. I think it’s pretty annoying to some of my friends πŸ˜‰

    And also NEVER wore sweats during college or grad school. Never. If you look good, you feel good and I wanted that extra boost every time I sat my butt in the chair and someone tried to teach me rocket sciene πŸ˜‰

  6. Randy

    You might like nutella, it’s basically hazelnut butter with cocoa. They make it with more fat in Europe, they serve it on crepes in France.

  7. Carly in Wonderland

    I wear sweats to class! I wore black dog sweats yesterday! Did I feel like a slob? Kind of but I was comfy and it was raining! Fuck it!!

  8. Um, I totally wore sweats and sweatshirt to school today. hahaha.

    I am such a perfectionist too. Sometimes it is more of flaw than a good thing though because it makes me such a worry-wart! Then there are definitely times where I am a major procrastinor as well…its a vicious cycle. πŸ˜‰

    love you!!!!!

  9. I like your layout!!! I have come to school in sweats, it’s just how I roll. I have no shame! But I do wear outfits from time to time πŸ™‚

  10. I’m kind of on the fence – I sometimes am a procrastinator, but other times I need it done!

    I used to always get dressed for class too – I think the only time I wore sweats to class was my first semester in college!

  11. I always wear sweats–too much! I wish I had your attitude. I just get so stressed out about school, that its hard for me to focus on getting dressed up! Like you, I am a huge perfectionist, so I need to tell myself to relax and that its okay not to get things done within the first 5 minutes of them being assigned! Hahha

  12. I never really did sweats to class. But I was known to rock my jeans with holes in them pretty much every other day. Ironically, I’d often pair a cute top with it. Just to make sure no one mistaked me as homeless. πŸ˜‰

    Almond butter is the love of my life right now. It’s ok, I’m sure peanut butter understands…

  13. I have sweats days and cute outfits days, it just depends!! Nothing beats comfy clothes though for real. I love scarves too, I broke out my first one this week!! I’m a bit obsessive about getting things done on time.. but hey, I never have to pull all nighters to write papers! You look adorbs in your tie-dye hat πŸ™‚

  14. I have a no sweats policy myself. I would much rather throw a button down shirt and scarf over a pair of leggings and equestrian boots. I enjoy the whole outfit making process way too much to stick to plain old grey sweatpants. Plus I think it helps detract from the massive bags under my eyes and the fact that I haven’t had time to get a haircut in waaaay too long.

  15. You are too funny πŸ™‚ I wore jeans mostly but every now and again I’d wear “fancy” sweats to class. Cute ones from PINK that made me feel like I wasn’t as a big of a bum that I probably was!

  16. Fi

    My favourite things right now? Changing colours of the trees, autumn boots- not full on winter boots but slightly warmer shoe boots for autumn(it’s probably colder here in Ireland than where u r!). I tend to get all little things find on time and leave the important big thingcs to last minute! Xx

  17. um, i am so obsessed with scarves. i am with you on that one, lady!

  18. highonhealthy

    I’m currently not in school at the moment but when I was in high school I did occasionally wear sweats. In my defense though, I only had 1 class at school (the rest were online) for my senior year and I lived a 2 minute drive away from home.. so yeah, no point in getting dressed up. Sometimes I didn’t even bother changing out of my pajamas, I just rolled out of bed and literally went to school.. literally as in sometimes I also didn’t bother putting makeup on. Does this make me a slob? Haha… I’m a lot better now though! Maybe because I’m not in school..

  19. Demelza

    I never wear sweats, either. I’m a Junior in college right now, and I have NEVER worn sweats.
    I tend to stand out from most other girls on campus because I don’t have the words “PINK” or “JUICY” or something splashed across my rear or a humongous hoodie on.
    I understand the comfort aspect many girls go for, but I don’t know. I like dressing uniquely (helps me leave a good impression ;]) and what can I say? Dressing the way I do is most comfortable to me. I would feel weird wearing sweats. :s

  20. I never wore sweats…I was always in cute outfits and often heels! I think I wore yoga pants once after an all-nighter and felt like SUCH a bum! It’s always a confidence booster to dress nicely and feel feminine and cute.

  21. teenagehealthfreak

    i never wear sweats to school either..i’m not in college but part of me is putting together expressive outfits!!! your oats look beautiful!!! i like to get things in early too..helps me sleep better. πŸ™‚

  22. that hot looks hot on you sista
    I MUST FIND THOSE BARS ASAP!!!! I CANT FIND THEM
    and you are a FREAK about the sweatpants! bahaha totally kidding-but that surprised me! thats cool tho. i wish i could be more like you. actually, i want to BE you so there

  23. Love the sandals, those are perfect for fall.

  24. pscalise

    I have the SAME problem. I used to wear sweats to class all the time in high school. But then I went to boarding school where you actually had to get dressed every day for class and look presentable. Since then its been so hard for me to break that habit. I definitely spent tons of time in the morning searching for something to wear.

    I was totally rockin a scarf today. SO EXCITED that its scarf season. I have a huge pile in my dorm room just waiting to be worn!

  25. I’ve never worn sweats to class either! Wearing sweats or PJs just makes me feel lazy. Not that I get dressed up or anything- I wore old jeans with holes in them to class today πŸ™‚

  26. I wear workout clothes to my first class so I can go afterwards and then I wear normal clothes later in the day to class. But never sweat pants specifically…. so hopefully that makes you feel slightly better?
    Though Ive done it before. My goal for the year is to actually do something with myself.

  27. good to know about those bars… I see them but have never tried? I may have to now… πŸ˜€

  28. Haha I’m a senior in college & never wear sweats. My definition of lazy is appropriate jeans, converse, and a t-shirt. Even then, I feel kind of bad for not wearing a nicer blouse.

    A few of my favorite things? Hmm.. oatmeal πŸ˜‰ late nights out with my new date, bombin’ peanut butter cake, that moment of glorious success when you’ve finished writing a paper (thank god thank god thank god it’s done).

  29. Totally a procrastinator. A bad one, at that. I love wearing yoga pants to class- you can still wear a cute top/jacket on top, but the bottom is so easy and comfy!

  30. I never wear sweats to school. EVER! Even on days when I’m super tired and would love to just be lazy and wear sweats, I always pick out a sort of dressy outfit. When I love good, I feel good!

    Favorite things: baked oatmeal, Glee (duh), scarves, autumnal trees.

  31. Procrastinator to the core, m’dear!

    Almond butter can’t replace peanut butter for me, though…but it is pretty delicious!

  32. I am definitely a procrastinator, but who isn’t you know?
    And I’m with you on the sweats! I don’t think I could ever wear them anywhere outside my house, partly because I only own a pair and they’re very old and baggy πŸ™‚

  33. wnk505

    i’m the complete opposite. I wore sweats to class every single day almost. I hated getting dressed or wearing make-up and i have no fasion sense

  34. i was ALWAYS that girl in high school and college who couldnt wear sweats to class! I’m also that girl who has to dress up for any and all doctor appointments. Also, I find I’m much more productive in ‘real clothes’ haha.

    enjoy your sunday πŸ™‚

  35. You’re certainly not the only one! I never wear sweats to class! The closest it gets is maybe, mayybbeee, a work-out outfit! I don’t even really own any sweats! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

