My Buns are Soaked

If you live anywhere near me, you probably woke up to a monsoon outside of your window this morning, and if you’re lucky, the sky is probably still dumping buckets. Beautiful, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

The twenty-foot walk to my car this morning made me regret even bothering to shower this morning.ย ย I could’ve saved a few gallons by taking my soap outside and lathering up, although I’m sure not as many people would’ve enjoyed that as I would have. And I’d probably be sitting in a prison cell right now waiting for my Daddy to come pick me up instead of writing this post. It’s just one of those days where it’s best to stay indoors, unless you just love that “I look like I just pissed myself” style. I won’t judge.

Anyways, I took the opportunity of my indoorsy day to do some baking (after I stripped down to my bare necessities, which were thankfully still dry) Enter: Gluten Free Buns! Recipe adapted from here.

Buns

I followed that recipe exactly, and they turned out alright – a little flat (like my boobies!), and honestly, they smelled like a wet dog.ย Maybe Cara managed to climb in the oven while baking (no worries, if she did – she didn’t get burnt), or the combo of cream cheese and egg just smells naturally rank. Either way – I’ll be sure to let you know how a sandwich holds up on these babies.

Looks appetizing. The smell? Not so much

What’s your go-to bread recipe?

A few packages arrived as well while I was busy in the kitchen…and of course each and every one of them was absolutely drenched. Nothing like that awesome feel of goopy wet cardboard…mmm appetizing! Nonetheless, I am forever thankful that the postal service didn’t drown in the monsoon today.

A couple weeks ago, I mentioned my favorite “bar” in this post, and at the time I had just about run out. I was super happy when I realized that one of the packages had them, so I could show you!

Perfection in a wrapper

These are my favorite go-to snack, especially in my 4-hour long classes. They’re also perfect for a breakfast on the go, and I rely heavily on them during school. They’re totally worth every penny. Promise.

You can order them off of their website here.

Snackage!

So, what’s in the rest of the packages? You’ll have to wait and see ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve got quite a few reviews to catch up on – including beauty products, food and fitness shenanigans, as well as school projects to catch up on…

…everything in moderation, right?

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. new look! Yay or nay?! Let me know ๐Ÿ˜€

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “My Buns are Soaked

  1. I could tell you were feeling spunky while writing this post – I was dying laughing!

    My favorite gluten free bread recipe I made last week! It is sandwich bread and was super easy!

  2. Those gluten-free muffins look delicious!!!!

  3. Love gluten free stuff-especiall bc I am allergic to wheat! I’m going to try this out! looks delish girl! =)

  4. I was in a cooking mood today I coooked white beans from scratch, made raw sweet potato chips, soaked some nuts, made raw pizza crackers, and attempted to make pumpkin chocochip muffins vegan and gluten free[totally DID NOT follow the recipe] I always have to make it my own ahah I love getting packages wooo.

  5. Randy

    I’m going to get some of those bars. I’m also going to get some of this for early morning exercise:

  6. perfect food bars are SO good! wish they weren’t so expensive though.. at Fresh Market, they’re $2 a bar! madness.

    hope the rain clears up soon girly ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. it was raining hardcore here, too. I’m always amazed when I get soaked even when I have an umbrella. I’m just excited for this gross weather to go away so I can enjoy the crisp fall weather and go pick some apples.

    even if they didn’t smell too good, those buns look delicious. I’ve never had real success with baking bread myself. perhaps that’ll be my next rainy day activity!

  8. Hey girlie! I love baking bread…only discovered how much earlier this year (not all winners). I actually have a french bread recipe that ROCKS (not whole grain) but SO good! I highly recommend you check it out!
    http://thehealthyapron.com/2010/04/21/french-bread/

  9. Mmm yummy looking buns! =P And yes, it monsooned here today as well. Another excuse for Starbs, right?! Haha and I totally agree that PF bars are worth every cent. SO GOOD!

  10. Tinka

    Hilarious post! I really liked your previous layout. Oh well, onwards and upwards I guess.

  11. I love your honesty in this post! The smell of the bread, I don’t know what was in it, but yeah it can smell funky sometimes. Flax is one of those things that I love and it just smells weird when it is all wet and goopy. As for go to bread around here…this will sound weird, but I make a savory waffle for sandwiches. If you like your sandwiches on toast, it is perfect! My husband has celiac too and bread is just strange. He did try Udi’s bagels yesterday and liked them a lot!

  12. Bahaha, you killed me with this one Meg I was dying while I was reading it. Your buns look BEAUTEOUS though, if I do say so ^~
    I actually kind of liked your old layout better – this one is beautiful too, though, maybe I’m just an old granny who is resistant to change?

  13. We have crazy rain here in Canada, too!
    Btw, I love your blog’s new look ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope your buns turn out to be tasty…… Hmm, maybe I could have chosen better words? lol
    HAVEANICEDAY!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Aw, the new look is fun! Glad I clicked through from reader today ๐Ÿ™‚ Heavy rain = perfect baking day! Of course…after you go play in it ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. The title of this post–love it! The rain? Not so much..it hasn’t stopped coming down here either unfortunately! And at least you experiment with different gluten-free things. Keep trying different bread recipes, you’re bound to find one you love!

  16. I have tried a bun recipe similar to that one before…only thing is, I can’t remember if I liked them or not! hahaha. I guess I’ll have to wait for the verdict from you!

    I want to try those bars. I always see them featured in magazines…and now that I know they get the seal of approval from you, well I MUST have them! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. i like the new look, very pretty but i miss your face on it!!!

  18. The buns look good! And yes it was sooo much rain!!

  19. haha when u described the smell i definitely had to laugh! im sure these buns could hold a lot of things wedged in them! greens, proteins, sauces, everything!! โค really awesome that theyre gluten-free too!

    oh and i loved how u said in ur last post that baking is so much more fun when u can share them with others. Ditto!! i think its the only way u can appreciate what uve made when u can have others enjoy the baked goods too โค

    xoxo

  20. Yep, same here in Northern Virginia. Would have been a good day to start a gondola business. We had a mini longhaired dachsund stay the night at the clinic and I felt bad about walking her outside in the grass this morning. But no, she loved every second of it.

    In fact, this is her: http://barncathollow.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/mini_dachsund.jpg

  21. teenagehealthfreak

    love your new layout!! i’ve never tried those bars..but if they can hold a girl for 4 hours… i need them!! lol

  22. highonhealthy

    New look – YAY! I really like it! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Favorite thing I’ve read all day (let’s ignore the fact that it’s only 7:09am) : “they turned out alright โ€“ a little flat (like my boobies!)”

    Hah. Pure win.

  23. I’m not sure what the old lay out was, but I like this one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    We still have sunshine where I am- want to trade? I love torrential down pours (from inside, I might add). Leave it to the UPS guys to make a blogger’s day, right? My UPS guy is always laughing at me and my random packages.

  24. Pingback: Artsy Farsty, Cheesy Weesy « Sunshine 'n Spice

  25. Hi Meg!

    My name is Lauren from Biochemista.com and I’m planning a happy hour meet & greet for DC health bloggers. Not sure how far from DC you are but let me know if you’d like to come ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m shooting for mid late Oct-ish. You can receive updates through my blog or follow me on Twitter @LaurBiochemista

    Have a great day!

    Lauren

  26. Chris

    I havent seen you in a while but I never thought you were flat (remark towards the boobies comment). You are a beautiful woman and seem to be a very nice person so even if you were “flat” it would not matter. Also, the food looks great!

Leave a Reply

