Fueled by Cover Girl & Breakfast

True story: I have no idea what kind of illness plagued me for the past week, but I am more than happy that I no longer sound like a young boy who just hit puberty. I really wanted to make a vlog, but I couldn’t bear thinking about the fact that I might scare ya’ll away because of it. At least the weather’s nice 🙂  Also, your comments, as ALWAYS made me smile about the 5 things I wish I knew post 😀 I suggest you go back and read the comments if you want some amazing tips.

🙂

Another true story: being sick=no sleep. Wait no…college=no sleep. So today, I’ve put together a little post for you on how I look “awake” when I’m really just faking it. Sure, it’s partly superficial, but I am a woman.

Awaken your eyes with some shimmaa.

Step 1: roll out of bed with a smile on your face. I promise you, it will make your day better, AND smiling makes you pretty, naturally. If you’re just plain pissed and can’t smile, simply stick an orange rind in your mouth for a fake. Please brush your teeth too, if you do nothing else.

Step 2: hair and makeup. Superficialicious. My personal favorites for looking alive are Cover Girl’s Shimmering Sands eye palette, Maybelline Great Lash mascara in blackest black and some Burt’s Bees tinted balm. Lashes and a little shimmer make all the difference, I promise. Don’t go overboard, though, no one wants to see a prostitute running around campus…oh wait, that was just you with too much glitter? Sorry. I usually sweep a small amount of the lightest color in the palette on the corners of my eyes and use 2 coats of mascara, one after the other dries. Burt’s Bees slapped on before I hit the road, and into my pocket it goes. Reapplication is a must with lip shenanigans. Oh, and hair? Messy bun – simple, quick and easy. Dress it up with a flower or bow if you’re really feeling perky 😉

Blackest Black Mascara.

Step 3: Breakfast. Always always always make time for breakfast. Even if you think you can’t make time, I promise, you can. If you’re 5 minutes late to class/work, just explain to them that you wouldn’t be functioning right now if you would’ve showed up 5 minutes earlier sans breakfast, and they should be appreciative of your motivation to work by munching. Duh. Personally, I like to start my day off with oatmeal, but on days where I roll out of bed leap out of bed realizing that I have about ten minutes to look human AND eat, I’ll grab a sufficient bar – my favorite? Perfect Foods Bar. I eat so many of these, it’s kind of ridiculous. Not just for breakfast, actually, hardly ever for breakfast, but I always have one on hand for a hefty snack.

Breakfast is a must.

Step 4: Grab a friend and a Slurpee after you’re done for the day. Best way to unwind and treat yourself for surviving the day. Especially if you’ve been sick.

Slurpees!

What are some of your ways to look awake when you’re sick or just plain tired?

Peace and love!
Meg

p.s. you can still vote for me here til the end of the month, thanks (M.Morat): ow.ly/2xZqD

35 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

35 responses to “Fueled by Cover Girl & Breakfast

  1. fi

    Concealer!! and a cuppa tea usually do the trick for me ;D

  2. Adorable post!!! I’m going to do one like it and link to you; what a great idea.
    I’m a big fan of a glowing moisturizer for your face and NARS mascara myself, and you can ~never~ go wrong with a smoothie or a starbucks, depending on the weather.
    Love that palette, too!!<3

  3. Haha I love this post… useful for when my 6 AM alarm doesn’t go off! To fake looking awake when I’m really tired, I exercise a little (like yoga, a walk, or stretching). Before I do it, I always think “Ugh, I am way too tired for this!” but when I’ve finished working out, I feel (and look, hopefully?) so much better! Gotta love exercise endorphins 🙂

    Glad you’re feeling better!

  4. Great tips! I definitely go with the make up tips you mentioned. I’m not good at putting on a smile when I don’t feel well.. but I’m working on it!

  5. HAHAHAHA what if i like the sound of a boy who just hit puberty?? so??

    i loveeeeeee ya girlfranddddd
    youre so beautiful you dont need no make up!

  6. I would say I need some concealer and mascara!

    And I agree with Katie, you are beautiful without make-up.

  7. Hehe.. this is totally adorable 🙂
    How do I look awake? Coverup stick under the eyes and a smile on my face… works every time!
    ❤ Tat

  8. Some pink lip color, a few minutes of dancing around, a bestie, and a giant Sbux!

  9. Love it! I can never stay up and tend to fall asleep no matter what so I don’t really have any tips! Ha! But on those rare occasions.. I do the white eyeshadow on the inner corner of your eye- heard that makes you look more awake!

  10. highonhealthy

    Aha.. love the prostitute reference. 😛

    When I look tired it’s pretty hard to fix that.. but straightening my hair and making my eyes all pretty helps a TON. Pretty hair though.. that’s the key. I’ve found that even if my face still looks tired, nice hair instantly makes things 10x better.

  11. I love all your great tips! 🙂

    When I’m tired, I drink 3x the amount of coffee I normally do!!

  12. Your kicking butt on the bora bora challenge.

  13. Tina

    I usually just go back to bed and try again the next day… If that’s not possible however, a few minutes of running and some yoga should do it. I don’t know why, but make-up just never seems to help with the tired look on my face (I guess my fatigue is stubborn)…

    And hooray for female superficality! 😀 We all need it sometimes!
    xx

  14. Whoa–I use that /exact/ eye-liner palette and mascara. I use the lightest color most of the time and ignore the others too (except a little brush of gold on special days), to the point that it’s almost gone and I still have a full block of dark brown. I sweep it up towards my brows to make myself look bright-eyed and bushy tailed 😀

  15. love those eyeshadow colors! you girls crack me up with your slurpee pics! 🙂 have a great weekend! XO

  16. This is such a cute post :)) My boyfriend loves slurpees haha.

    I go for some ice coffee. Always gets the job done!

    And this is my first time stopping by, so hello!!

  17. good tip about mascara!! much better than slapping my face trying to wake up and look refreshed lol.. which i totally do on ocassion. coffee helps too. i think the best is laughing- it really perks up the whole face ❤

    XOXO

  18. This post rocks! I love all of your tips. Can you be my life coach? lol. Whit and I use that same exact eyeshadow palette and mascara! Those colors are awesome for people with pale skin. When you put the lightest color in the corner of you eyes then it is like an instant eye brightener. Drinking a little coffee in the morning and having a luna in the afternoon gives me a little energy jolt… or if you are feeling a little crazy maybe a 5 hour energy shot. lol

    -Court

  19. Hi! I’ve read your blog before but this is the first time I comment.
    Let me just say, your posts never fail to make me laugh!
    I love these advice posts you make, keep them coming PLZ PLZ
    and check out my blog if you get the chance… right now I have like, 5 readers…. But it’s only a week old
    Have a great day!
    -Nicole

    By the way, I first heard about 18 Rabbit bars on your blog, and now im IN LOVE
    too bad they don’t sell them here in Canada, the only ones I have are the ones I got on vacation and my stash is slowly drying out 😥 “mommy, take me to the u.s!!”

  20. land animal

    Green smoothie. Followed by coffee. A little foundation under my eyes, bronzer on my cheeks and smudgy eyeliner. And a smile of course. Then I’m good to go!

  21. I am obsessedd with perfect foods bars. And this reminds me that I need more mascara!! =P

  22. Tinted moisturizer (I love to kill two birds with one stone), a quick dust of powder, bronzer, shimmery shadow, and a quick line of the eyes. Then coffee…LOTS of coffee!

    P.S. gifty for you on my blog! http://bit.ly/a640QK

  23. Kat

    I drink LOTS of water to help. It helps brighten my skin up, and gives me that flushed look back in my face. Otherwise my face is really pale and dull. So I drink up and it seems to help!
    Although I do like the slurpee idea 😉

  24. Those products are such classics! Keepin’ it simple… I like 🙂

  25. Slurpee DOmination!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lol! love it! I love the pics on facebook!

    Breakfast is a must for sure, I ALWAYS have breakfast!

    Love you beautiful!!!!

  26. Thank you for the tips! That is so awesome. 🙂 I use that mascara, too, and I agree that breakfast is a necessity. Haha.

  27. loved this!!!

    need to try a Perfect Foods bar though!!

    messy buns = the best

    AND SLURPEEEEEEEEEEES! now im craving! 🙂

  28. wnk505

    perfect timing.
    I went to bed last night feeling gross… woke up this morning with a horrible headache, sore throat, and stuffy nose.

    Luckily school is not in my plan right now but some ways I combat feeling like *crap*.
    * put cute clothes on
    * Keep warm
    *Force myself to hydrate
    * Wear the same kind of make-up as you 🙂
    * surround myself with people I love to be around

  29. Pingback: A Happy Belly « Sunshine 'n Spice

  30. Miss the east coast and Slurpees!!! Dang girl.

  31. girl! i have never ever had a slurpee before! haha.
    i love your always have breakfast rule, so true!
    jenna

  32. I like dabbing a bit of shimmery white eye shadow in the corners of my eyes–never fails!

  33. Pingback: My Buns are Soaked « Sunshine 'n Spice

Leave a Reply

