Purse Essentials

So, I’ve officially decided that life needs a replay button. Where did summer go?! 😦

Did this really happen already?!

I started my senior year of college yesterday, and I can definitely say this semester might kick my ass, in a good way, of course.

Β As much as I might bitch and complain about the amount of work I’ve gotta do, I know it’s good for me and the real world isn’t going to be all rainbows and butterflies. Thank you Maroon 5 for that reference.

I had two of my 5 classes that I’m enrolled in starting at 3:30 yesterday, and lasting til ten at night.

My Monday through Wednesdays will most likely be all-day and night classes. Aka lots of time on my ass in a computer chair. Aka ants in my pants. Aka do you think it’d be socially acceptable to bring an exercise ball to sit on in class?

Ok, I’ll stop asking questions right there. But you better bet I’m doing that when I have my own office. I feel like Starbucks should just open a shop in every single office location across the globe. Agreed?

Do you work in an office?

Favorite Starbucks drink?

Anywho, I’ve gotten more than enough questions about what I bring to eat/snack on during class, since I don’t have the time or energy to cook when I get back from class. Plus, who wants to shovel down steak and potatoes at odd hours of the night when you could be stalking people on Facebook, Twittering or blogging? Duh.

So, here you go. This is what I managed to shove in my purse yesterday. Just note that this does not include my wallet, keys, notepad, pens/pencils/random items that somehow manage to crawl into my purse…like socks…what? Anyways, also note that my purse is large and in charge.

A scarf. Yes, I know it’s warm out and I know scarves usually belong in closets…BUT, here’s the method to my madness:

I am clumsy. I spill things. I find food tangled in the ends of my hair at 6pm from breakfast that day. The odds of me spilling or staining my shirt are pretty damn high…enter: the scarf! Wrap it around your neck and dangle it so that it covers whatever nastiness you just spilled, spewed or was thrown all over your shirt. Crisis averted. Just make sure the scarf is LIGHT and summery πŸ˜€

A miracle for clumsy girls.

Food. I like to eat, I get hungry…a lot. More than the average college student. I find it hard to believe that some people “forget” to eat, no no, my stomach will NOT let me forget to eat. It won’t let anyone within a sound-bearing distance of me forget, either.

Bars, bars and more bars! Easy and convenient. I carry at least 4-5. Here’s the culprits from yesterday’s haul:

Bars!

I also collect trash. Just kidding, kind of. Somehow my purse becomes a bar graveyard as well…

Wrappers.

Fruit! Even when I’m not hungry, I try to snack every hour or so.

Purse-able fruits.

I usually carry some kind of stone fruit in a baggie, and an orange,Β banana orΒ apple. They USUALLY withstand my romping around and slamming of my bag on the floor. If not, then I can usually smell the mess before I see it. “It smells like bananas in here guys!!” Ummm…about that.

Next up: lip care. I cannot go more than about 2 hours without applying SOME kind of lip product, whether it be chapstick, gloss, whatever…it’s an addiction. My favorite is Burt’s Bees tinted lip balm in “Raisin”. I hate raisins. Love this balm, though. It’s minty, not raisiny, by the way.

Balmage.

As well as a mirror for applying said balm:

Hiiii

Β GUM! And tea. I’ve explained the tea deal before, but basically – hot water is free at most coffee shops. So if I’m not carrying any cash I just ask for a cup and brew my own. Problem solved! Oh, and back to the gum, I am a gum FIEND.

Ice Breakers are good too.

Last, but not least, the necessary compact-Cara:

Complete with a plaid pillow + drool stain!

Just kidding πŸ˜‰

Β 

What’s in your purse?

What’s your favorite type of lip balm/gum/bar/etc?

Off to get some work done.

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. I caved in and got a TWITTER – follow me and I’ll follow youuu! πŸ˜€

46 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

46 responses to “Purse Essentials

  1. obsessed with their iced passion tea. its the perfect warm weather treat!

    good luck with your first week of classes! senior year is soo exciting πŸ™‚

  2. My purse has some random crap in it! Besides the normal things (wallet, etc) I have pills (not those kind of pills, but I do have beano and antidiarrheal and tylenol- just in case!), nuts, protein bars, gum, mints, band-aids, a mini mirror, hmm and I’m sure there is more!

  3. meg! loved this post. and you! i am totally an antsy person and would love having a portable starbucks store that followed me everywhere i go. my go-to drink as of late as been a decaf americano.. ive been finding that the caffeinated stuff has been making me MORE antsy as of late! crazy right? haha. i love scarves too.. so perfect and sometimes when i am cold they double as a good shawl or if big enough, a blanket.

    as for my purse: phone, wallet, always a camera, mints, gum, roll-on perfume (im a smells girl.. haha), floss, chapsticks + lip balm, pens, small notebook. yep!

    on a side note, bora bora bars + kind bars are 2 of my faves!!!!

  4. Demelza

    Hey, Meg!

    I’m a newbie reader, but thought I’d offer a comment
    because there was quite a bit I could relate to in this post. ;]
    “do you think it’d be socially acceptable to bring an exercise ball to sit on in class?”
    Goodness, I sure wish! :/ I started my Junior year of college this week,
    and I too have five classes this semester along with the new fulfillment of a position as treasurer in my university’s psychology/psi chi club.
    Read: TOO MUCH SITTING. Tuesdays and Thursdays are my long days,
    as I have three 1hr15min classes back to back (should have allowed 20 min
    in between for a short stroll around campus…).
    But yes, my days are now chock full of booty soreness…I am not used to sitting for so long all at once!

    I also don’t understand how some people can just “forget” to eat.
    Haha, I love it. There’s nothing like a steamy sweet potato,
    a creamy container of Greek yogurt, or the sweet crunch of a crisp apple!

    In my purse I tend to carry the usual (phone, keys, tissues, gum, chapstick/lip gloss, comb)
    but this summer I studied abroad in Japan and found the cutest keychain/phone strap
    of a “Sweets Spirit,” so I also have the Sweets Spirit “Vanilla” in my purse. ;]

    Favorite gum: Probably just original flavor! So sugar free Extra or Orbit’s Bubblemint.

  5. I usually have a pack of Orbit, a pen and pencil, my iPod, phone, and big sunglasses. Oh, and my keys, although I have a bad habit of forgetting those.

    I’ll have to start stocking my own tea bags – that’s a great money saving tip!

  6. I always carry a HUGE bag. I usually have my camera, my cell phone, my lotion, my checkbook and wallet, my calculator, my planner, my sunglasses, my tanning lotion (i use a tanning bed, bad i know), my bottle of water, snack bars, and a pb&j sandwich!! πŸ™‚

  7. i have so much crap in my purse. i always have a bar and fruit, plus some sort of trash, post it notes, candy, magazines, books…omg you name it. it can be scary sometimes.

  8. I’m glad I’m not the only one who carries a crazy amount of bars and fruit in my purse. Great idea about the scarf! My family nickname is “messy Chelsey”, so that could really help me out!

    I do not work in an office – I’m a teacher, so I am up and moving all day! I think I would go CRAZY sitting all the time. It would drive me nutso!

    My purse has a ridiculous amount of gum wrappers. All the time. I’m weaning myself off of gum though… it’s not going too well.

  9. I always have tons of food in my bag- I never know when I’m going to get hungry! Usually I have a few bars, maybe a piece of fruit, string cheese, rice cakes, bottle of water, etc. This is why I carry around a huge purse πŸ™‚

  10. Good luck with school! I used to drink a lot of Starbucks but have cut way back. My favorite was a latte, than a cafe misto, and now just black coffee πŸ™‚

  11. It’s almost embarrassing the random odds and ends that are in my purse. Purple socks? Check. Salt and pepper packets? Hells yeah. And like you, I must have snacks stashed about…especially bars!!!

  12. Wow talk about an intense class schedule! When I start next week I’ll be done with all my classes each day before noon πŸ™‚
    Hmm my purse: GUM (5 zing or trident layers), mini perfume, hand sanitizer, way too many receipts, this mini frederic fekkai hair glossing cream, juicy tube lipgloss πŸ™‚

  13. Hey Meg!

    I’m also a new reader, but I think your blog is adorable!

    I’d just like to pay you my respects as a fellow all-day chair sitter :-p. I’m from New Mexico (and go to university there) but I’m living in Germany this year and **technologically** commuting to school everyday.

    Culprit-a German boyfriend
    Result-10 hour days on the internet reading/doing work
    Verdict-So much more trying than actually going to a campus and seeing faces!

    Can’t wait to read more!

    Talia

    –oh, and I’ve been experiencing really terrible stomach pains after I eat lately. I visited a doctor who thinks the culprit is lactose or fructose. Should I also be considering gluten?

    • Meg

      Thank you so much for reading! Yay! I can’t wait to check out your blog!

      About the gluten – I would talk to a doctor if you’ve been experiencing stomach pains and they can give you blood tests or experiment with your diet to see what helps you best πŸ™‚

      Germany sounds SO neat! πŸ˜€

  14. OH my, my bag has sooo much stuff in it! i always think i “might” need something, so i have all bases covered… lip balm (obvs) purse/iphone, mini first aid kit with plasters/paracetemol etc, mini makeup pouch with mirror, tissues, snacks (raisins, bars fruit) gum, tube card, keys, notebook & pen, gosh it goes on…..!

    good luck with your classes, its true… i cant believe summer is over and out! roll on next year…
    x

  15. I have so much junk in my purses πŸ˜€
    Now when I’m in Zurich, I have my passport, wallet, tram ticket, town map, chewing gums, maybe some granola bar…
    Thank god I’m not the only one who snacks every hour or so :))

  16. Hi BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!!

    I always have bars in my purse too! I can not live without sanckage in my purse!!!

    I have lipgloss too, burts bees and FRESH SUGAR Lip Gloss, a pen, little notebook, icebreaker sours, and sooooooooooooo much change!!!

    Love u! Happy Weekend!!!!

  17. Life needs a pause button too! Ahhhh! And I def have all those bars in my snack drawer πŸ™‚
    My favorite lip balm is Burt’s Bees or Lip Smackers Vanilla!!

  18. Vanilla

    Woah you have class till 10 at night? O_o

    I once found out that my purse had 7 wrappers in them. It’s a trash can…:p

    My favorite balm would be Bora Bora lipbalm!! And favorite bar would be the SlimDown line…so good, but they need to change the name :p

    xoxo

  19. Hmm, well I have a lot of sand in my purse right now from my purse tipping over at the beach two weeks ago. It’s sort of annoying, but also brings a smile to my face πŸ™‚

    Fave Sbux drink: Venti, 4 Pump Vanilla, Non-fat Iced Latte!

  20. highonhealthy

    Haha.. I love the scarf idea! Genius. Whenever I discover a random food stain that magically appears on my clothes I usually just have to deal.. or try to get it out with water which just makes it worse and 100x more obvious.

    My purse is always full of garbage but aside from that it usually contains random groceries, deodorant, wallet, plastic fork, lipgloss/lip balm, camera, cell phone, ipod, random lists, more garbage and today.. a dishcloth. Yeah, I dunno how the dishcloth got in there but I suppose it could end up being pretty handy.

  21. I feel like copying you on this post, but you pretty much covered the same stuff I carry in my purse! My fave fave FAVE Starbucks drink is an iced venti soy latte with light ice. I have it pretty well-rehearsed as you can probably tell πŸ˜‰

  22. eatspinlive

    cute post girl πŸ™‚ and I totally wish life had a replay button as well sometimes! I always have all kinds of things in my purse! Usually my essentials are: camera, phone, wallet, a good book, gum, snack and keys!

  23. I don’t carry a purse. I should because I am always carrying things and putting things in my pockets and giving things to other people to carry for me. Carrying a purse is just not natural for me, but I’m going to have to change that I think… I Loooooove Burts Bee’s Lip Balm. Just the plain old stuff int he yellow tube.

  24. i adore those perfect foods bars! i also adore cara. and i also am sorry it took me so long to start commenting. ive been really behind on life. ❀

  25. Haha, I love that you stuff food in your purse! I always have that….in case of emergency, you know πŸ˜‰

  26. This made me laugh, as I had about 14 bars in my purse today, as we bought some and realised we forgot a separate bag, so instead of paying for a plastic bag and causing more harm to the environment, we stashed them all in her purse. It felt odd walking around the shopping centre with a bag stuffed with bars. My brother thought we had stolen them!
    I think the insides of our purses look identical, right down to the same lip balm!
    Sophie x

  27. Katie

    I totally agree! During my internship this summer, I would bring in a Grande Skinny Vanilla Latte from Starbucks every morning. Every office should have one. It would be amazinnggg! πŸ™‚
    -Katie

  28. Kudos on referencing Maroon 5. Great musicians.

    And cute dachsund! I had to take care of one this weekend on IV fluids for a gall bladder ailment. They’re sweet dogs (when they’re not being nippy. Trimming their nails is a chore and a half). How old is Cara?

  29. right now i have lip balm, gum, change purse, keys, bandaid, random pennies i picked up from the ground, water bottle, and kleenex. nothing too special…

    wow i cant even think about how sad it is that summer is almost dunzooo. WTH .. where was i, where did the time go! now we gotta wait a whole freakin year again lol

    xoxo ❀

  30. hey gorgeous girlie!!
    I am so lucky I don’t work in an office! my favorite starb’s drink is an iced coffee, no sweetener, with soy…I realllllly like the soy that starbucks uses!
    the world is in my purse! hehe!
    and I can’t believe summer is over either! I hope you have a great night girlie!
    xoxo!

  31. Yay! I am going to follow you on twitter!

  32. C0ngrats on being a senior and converting to Twitter!

  33. I love this post. You are adorable. And holy heck, WHERE did this summer go? I’m kind of freaking out that another one has bitten the dust. When did I get old?

    In my purse: gum, bars, camera, and trash. I’m horrible at cleaning out my handbag!

  34. I always have snacks in my purse plus chap, floss, toothbrush and toothpaste……… oh and bandaids!!!

  35. Summer sure flew by thats no doubt–you had such a fun one though!! Good luck with your semester, I am sure you will handle it just fine! πŸ™‚

  36. well, HELLO sweet Cara!! πŸ™‚ Basil’s blanky or pillow always has that drool mark too…

    I LOVE Burts Bees raisin! My favorite color! that has totally been my lip color for about 2 years! πŸ™‚

  37. teenagehealthfreak

    your so funny!!! i have my wallet, nuts, a mirror, lipgloss, pen, usually a raw revolution bar….old recipes….random change, a hair brush, sun glasses….and i think that’s it.
    and the last time i drank A LOT of iced coffee i got dizzy..so i decided to quit that addiction.

  38. Definitely can relate to stashing a million bars in your purse! I also am a college student and on the go those nutritious bars are a must! =) Love your blog!

  39. What a great idea about the tea! I’m a college student too and my bag usually becomes more like a trash collector by the end of the week. Gum wrappers are usually everywhere!
    My favorite lip care is smackers! I’ve used it since 7th grade but I love all the fun flavors and it just works for me πŸ™‚ Have a great day!

  40. i love burts bees!!! i have the same one πŸ™‚

    what a great approach to a hectic school year and knowing that u’ll have a bunch of studying and work to do. looking at it in a way that makes sense, like being able to have a great career and a strong foundation later on is extremely helpful and im positive it will be what u need to pull you through any stressful times during the school year. plus ur extremely intelligent, so u’ll get through it no problem ❀ ❀

  41. Caitlin

    I just found your blog and love it so far!

    I totally agree that there should be a starbucks everywhere—life would be so much more simple! πŸ™‚ My college had a Starbucks on campus and I would go pretty much every day–made class time so much more enjoyable.

    What do I keep in my purse? Always my cell, car keys, credit cards/license, Burt’s Bees chapstick, mini lotion, antibac, concealer compact, gum, pens, post-its. I think that is it!

  42. 14yearoldvegan

    I keep coming across your blog and i loveee it! Starbucks is amazing. Simply because they use soy milk and good sweeteners now πŸ™‚ Also, i seee you have a lara bar sitting there.. love ’em. Homemade ones are the bestt!

  43. Erin

    Tall Iced Double Skinny Vanilla Latte!

Leave a Reply

