Baking Farewell to Summer

I really appreciate all of the feedback about exercise and confidence on my last post – it really goes to show that goals for exercise stretch so far beyond calorie burning! Also, your confessions made me feel a little better about my slight Starbucks addiction…I’m working on it. Baby steps.

Yesterday I was in a baking-kinda mood. Then again, when am I not? Instead of hitting up the gym for my workout, I spared my muscles a session with the weights and hit the mixing bowl 😉

NOTE: this recipe, unlike many of my others, is NOT gluten-free. So if you’re like me, and can’t dance to the tune of gluten, make it anyway, and share. Sharing is caring!

Banana bread.

I love taking advantage of a huge, sun-filled kitchen on a lazy day. On the menu? Fresh banana bread. I know my Mom is always looking for quick on-the-go breakfasts that don’t involve McDonalds or HFCS-infested cereal bars, so Mama, this one’s for you.

Lazy Sunday Banana Bread

1 cup flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup sugar

3 over-ripe bananas, mushed

1/4 cup honey

1 egg

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

For topping:

1/4 cup granola (I used Galaxy Granola’s Vanilla Almond Munch)

1 tsbp honey

My enemy, but makes damn good banana bread!

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees + grease a loaf pan

Combine dry ingredients and mix well

Beat eggs into wet ingredients and slowly add to dry, mix well

Pour into baking pan

Sprinkle granola on top and drizzle honey

Bake for an hour (check the bread at the 45 min mark, just incase)

Slice, share, devour and love your Mama.

Banana-batter

Slice stolen

Along with baking and making a disaster out of the kitchen, I pranced around town and picked up a few necessities; necessities that include magazines, mascara and a haircut. I felt like such a material girl, but I haven’t had my hair cut in at least 6 months (my split-end collection was starting to outnumber my collection of trashy magazines, and we just can’t have competition there, friends) and my mascara was lumpier than spoiled milk. Gross right? Just imagine what my eyelashes looked like…ANYWAYS. Girls got needs.

To fuel my baking and errands, I fixed the usual:

Oats with everything?

Oats with sliced strawberries, figs, almond butter and cottage cheese. Drag me out of bed, feed me, and I’m good to go.

What’s your go-to breakfast lately?

Lunch was a whole lotta snackage, to be honest, I just did not feel like sitting at a table and eating, so I fixed up some kale chips, and munched on random other shenanigans throughout the afternoon.

Baking bug = snackage.

For dinner, I played around with a vegan mac ‘n cheese recipe using nutritional yeast and made not-so-vegan chicken brocolli alfredo with rice noodles:

Alfredo!

With some cottage cheese, berries and pure maple syrup 🙂 What a pair, right?

My sweet tooth always wins.

I’m off to grab some food with a friend and watch Elf – one of my favorite movies, ever 😉 In celebration of our last day of summer…hard to believe I’m going into my senior year of college, time seriously flies. Although I can’t wait to join the rest of you in the working world, I can definitely admit that I’m going to miss college so much; but that’s for another time and post, here’s to living for right now 😀 

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. I recommend you all check out the Health Living Blogs Community 🙂 Here’s the scoop:

Healthy Living Blogs is a new resource for the health blogging community. Created by Lindsey of Sound Eats, HLB is a site designed to enhance the positive community of the healthy living blog world. Bloggers and readers can explore the site and find more blogs to love, bloggers in their area, and forums to deepen healthy discussion and support. If you’re interested in having your site listed on HLB, simply send the following information to healthylivingblogs@gmail.com and check the site out for yourself!

  • Email subject line: MEMBERS

  • Your name (please share if you prefer to go by first name, first and last, or however you prefer to be known on the Internet)

  • Blog Name

  • Blog URL (please start with http://, not www.)

  • Your twitter handle, if applicable

  • Your location (if you prefer not to disclose this information for privacy’s sake, that is completely understandable. We’ll simply include your blog listing in the A-Z listing, not by location, too)

  • Any specific labels (i.e. vegan, gluten-free, weight loss, running, etc.)

41 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

41 responses to “Baking Farewell to Summer

  1. I have a fresh loaf of banana bread at home too! so good!

    I love that you are watching Elf in the middle of summer!

  2. I love that you watched Elf on the last day of summer. Perfection. “I like smiling. Smiling’s my favorite!!” Ahhhh words to live by. Hope you have a blasty with your friend today girlfriend- enjoy your last hurrah!! Love you!!

  3. erinsloves

    Yum that banana bread looks sooo good! Now I want to make some (:

  4. Banana bread is the bestttt 🙂
    I wish I can go 6 months without a hair trim but my split-endage gets so out of control that I have to go more like every six weeks which sucks since I’m trying to grow my hair longer. I just got this brazilian keratin thing done to it which smooths it (i have naturally wavy/frizzyesh hair) so I’m hoping I can lay off the flat iron/blowdryer for a few minutes and thus reduce the damage. arghhhh….your hair always looks so shiny and pantene-commerical perfect though in the photos! Haha.
    It’s totally okay to have material errands- mine for the week are pedicure, picking up a pair of jeans at nordstrom, and ironing all my wrinkled clothes to take up to college this week.

  5. Love banana bread! My mom used to make it for us all the time growing up.. it was one of my favorites!

  6. that Alfredo looks delish! nI just bought me some nooch so I can actually try this!

  7. “buddy, i hope you find your dad!!!!!!!!” hahah love it.

    see, i love banana bread.. but i love it even more when chocolate chips are involved… jusss sayin 😉

  8. yum banana bread!! Need som epeanutbutter smeared on it!!!!!!!!!

    Love the movie ELF!! Such a funny one!!!

    Love ya girl! hope your week is great! xoxo

  9. Oh yum, this looks fabulous! I LURVE bread but having a whole loaf in my posession might be dangerous…I might make this and pawn it off on my boyfriend!!!

  10. Lately I’ve been chowing down on bran flakes…for some reason I’ve been feeling thirsty no matter how much water I drink, so I really crave the feeling of cold soy milk going down my throat in the morning.

  11. mmm everyone is making banana bread lately! i need to get on it!

  12. fi

    Oh I lurrve banana bread, ive never made it either, but i think ill tyr it soon and i love the sound of strawberries plus almond butter, ill be giving that a try tomoorrow. My go to brekkie is tahini and date oatmeal with honey. mmmmmmmm.
    p.S-i LOVE Elf, but i could probabaly rival him in the maple syrup addiction department
    ;D
    xxxx

  13. MMM I LOVE naner bread!! you so creative mama!!!
    whats this healthy blog thing ive been hearing about??? text me!!
    what are rice noodles? never heard of em!!!!!!
    LOVE YOU

  14. Mmmm nana bread, I seriously need to bake some before I go back to school on Monday… How nice of you to make some for your mom! I like the touch of granola on top :]

    Have fun watching Elf! Such a great movie.

  15. You bake for your mama, that is sweet. I bake for my sister too 🙂 She loves it and they’re healthier than the options at the store.

    I’ve never seen Elf, maybe I should add it to my movie queu.

  16. actorsdiet

    since i snack right before bed, i’ve noticed i am eating a lot more brunch these days, rather than b’fasts. therefore my “breakfasts” are a lot of sandwiches and salads.

  17. Banana bread is a classic in our family. Our mom used to make it all the time for us girls 🙂 YUM

  18. Rachel

    I have a terrible craving for banana bread right now…and I’m in school!!!! BOO Meg! Need some now:)

  19. There’s a few things I love about this:

    LOVE banana bread
    LOVE Mommas
    LOVE Elf
    LOVE oats
    LOVE trashy magazines.

    Sometimes… it’s just all about the love.

  20. I really really wish I had some over-ripe bananas right now!

  21. Kat

    Homemade banana bread is the way to go. My gma made it for us kids when we were younger, and now that she is gone, I make it for everyone 🙂

  22. This banana bread looks awesome! I love the granola twist Meg. I posted it as blogger recipe of the day on the Go Dairy Free facebook page – http://www.facebook.com/godairyfree

  23. I’m a fool for banana bread. It’s just so dang comforting!
    I totally lived up my last days of summer by spending quality time in the kitchen. Sure, I could have soaked up some more sun, but the kitchen is one of my favorite places in the world!

  24. Mmm.. I love banana bread 🙂 I think it’s so cute that you bake for you mama so that she doesn’t go to the HFCS bars in the cupboard – I do the same thing with MY mom! Sharing is caring, and I love the feeling of spreading the love through baking… doesn’t it feel great to watch someone scarf down something you made with a hige smile on their face? Uh huh!

    My go to breakfast is oats with blueberries, greek yogurt and tahini… but you already knew that 😛
    ❤ Tat

  25. Delicious! I started making banana bread since a few months and never had it before! It’s really not as common here as in the US, but I love it! I like to experiment with things like chocolate and nuts in it as well: so good!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  26. Yumm Banana Bread. I make a gluten free version for myself from time to time but mostly, like you, I make big loaves and share with everybody. It’s very difficult not to taste (but so not worth it to do so) but I love giving little presents to people, and banana bread is one of those really heart-warming little surprises ❤ I can practically ~smell~ that picture! hahaha.
    A few quick things? Trashy magazines? Guilty pleasure for sure. I sneak them under my "shape," "whole living," etc magazines at home 😉 Also a total makeup junkie, mascara especially. I love combining NARS with Rimmel!
    Sending off an email to that new healthy initiative, thanks for pointing it out!
    Hope you have a happy humpday,
    xox

  27. My go-to breakie lately has been yogurt messes. I keep telling myself I’ll make oats, but then I just crave some creamy Fage 2% when I wake up. Anddd…minimal prep time 🙂

    I feel like college is going so quickly too! I cannot believe I’m already a junior – I feel like a kid still.

  28. I’ve never put a topping on my banana bread, but I love that idea and all the oats on top.

  29. Amy

    I’d cook instead of exercise almost anyday (and I’m sure it is starting to show), but I think I need to do both. Your banana bread looks delicious!

  30. hey girlie girl!!!
    ughhhh no summer goodbyes…I don’t want it to leave! but baking goodbye=perfect! yummmy banana bread! and no shame in a starbucks addiction…i think ive crossed over into the No-turing-back addiction to Starb’s!!! eeek! hehe!
    I hope youve been having an excellent week!
    xoxo!

  31. Love the unique crunchy granola topping on the banana bread : )

  32. When I saw your berry and maple syrup photo, I “recognized it” as an vovel idea, before I read the title. Alas, I was wrong about its components.

    I am not much of a sweet person myself, being rather salty (my friends say savory) so I leave the idea for you to try:

    Rather than Cottage Cheese, have you even thought of putting an Arroz con Leche (I think it is “Rice Pudding” in English) over the precise berry/maple combo you have listed?

    Best from Lima

  33. That banana bread looks great!

  34. Your banana bread looks amazing! Such a great idea to add granola to the top 🙂

  35. your banana bread looks delicious! i love the idea of using granola in the topping. and elf is such a great movie!
    my go to breakfast lately had just been cereal and milk with fresh strawberris, except i am too indecisive for one cereal and have to take a small handful of every single cereal we have in the house.

  36. mmmm I love KALE!!! My go to breakfast lately is hardboiled eggs and an apple. I am always in a hurry these days.

  37. I’ve been craving for banana bread since yesterday and then I saw this. It looks really good!I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.if you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the banana bread widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  38. Some days I wake up in such a baking mood too–you can never go wrong with banana bread..especially infused with honey!

  39. That banana bread looks delicious! Its healthy and decadent all at the same time! Love your recipes girl!

Leave a Reply

