Final Travels.

People don’t believe me when I tell them that my friends are crazy until they witness things like this:

Totally normal.

Sometimes I wish I was joking when I tell stories of gorilla masks, Lady Gaga wigs and extreme wrestling matches – but I’ve come to terms with the fact that life is just that much better when it involves absurdity.

Probably the scariest picture ever?

At least I can say I ended my last summer as a college student with a bang, ๐Ÿ™‚ย and lots of dancing.

...and don't you dare forget the tables.

...and close friends.

See, we’re capable of looking totally normal too. We arrived in South Carolina at about 2am on Friday, and no surprises, everyone was ready to go. 8 hour car ride put behind us, festivities began, and literally did.not.end until yesterday morning…I need a serious detox right now – either that or I need to hibernate for at least a week.

Friends are good for the soul.

Beach!

This is the only place where I relaxed/slept for more than two hours – and it was glorious. The weather was beautiful, the water was actually warm, too, which is always nice.

And fun fact: I’m not as white as I look in this picture, I’ll blame my ghostliness on the sun ๐Ÿ˜‰

Beached.

I considered rolling around in the waves as exercise on this trip – as well as ROLLERSKATING!

...or lack thereof.

I hadn’t been rollerskating in forever, and it’s a lot harder than I remember as a child. We used to have “skate nights” in elementary school, it ROCKED ๐Ÿ˜€

Did you ever go rollerskating for fun as a child?

Another thing that brought back memories was this game – you had to make it past the cups without hitting them, and they got further and further apart each time.

Not to make ya’ll jealous or anything (kidding!) , but I kicked ass at that game. I won an Airhead, legit.

And pulled ALL of my groin muscles in the process.

I’ll give my friend some credit too, cause he ALMOST beat me. ALMOST.

So close, yet so far.

As I mentioned above – besides dancing, rollerskating and beaching, I didn’t make exercise a priority at ALL on this vacation, and it made me realize that maybe taking a week off now and then is a fantastic idea, cause when I got home (and got some sleep) I had a kick-ass workout, not the kind of workout that kicks my ass, but the kind of workout that YOU do the ass kicking. It was phenom, and I totally recommend taking a rest week if you feel like you need it. Especially when you’ve got better things to do that involve friends, girly cocktails and 2am wrestling matches ๐Ÿ˜‰ you know?

Have you given your “routine” exerciseย a break lately?

To my surprise, I felt no guilt whatsoever, it feels good to give your body some chill time.

...and some beach time too!

I could blather on SO much more about my roadtrip, but I’m sure I’d lose ya’ll, so I’ll give you a little glimpse of some other good things I’ve been doing for my body – first up, MARYLAND CRABS BABY!

My favorite seafood, ever.

My Dad and I go out crabbing every summer, but we didn’t make it out this year unfortunately, because I was all over the place…literally. So we settled for all-you-can-eat crabs at a local place, and they did NOT disappoint.

Have you ever had Maryland crabs?

If not, please come visit and I’d be glad to take you out ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve been craving pancakes lately as well, so lastnight before bed I made myself a big batch of protein pancakes. My belly was happy and sleepy after this.

Protein pancakes.

Paired withย yogurt and sliced strawberries:

...because I'm out of syrup.

So, overall I’m glad to be home, but I’m so sad that summer is almost over. A lot of my friends have already headed back to school, and I’m due to go back next Wednesday – yikes…since when is August almost over? July JUST ended…for real! Hope I didn’t completely overwhelm you with my little recap ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace and love!

Meg

38 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

38 responses to “Final Travels.

  1. aww so glad you had lots of fun! GOOD LUCK with school this semester!

  2. Girl, your posts are always sooo upbeat and uplifting and I just feel happy giddy smiley when I read them – you have such an awesome zest for life! And AWESOME friends, might I add! Mine are absolutely bonkers too and I wouldn’t trade them for a million normal ones. Ever. Not a chance.

  3. erinsloves

    So glad you had fun in SC, and your pictures are great!! No shame in having crazy fun with friends- that’s the best kind of fun!

    And oh my gosh I remember when I was younger I wanted to be a professional roller blader- but not just any kind of roller blader, a DANCING roller blader. I was going to start a new kind of sport.

    And I never really took big breaks from exercise, (maybe because until recently, I never exercised consistently lol. But good for you girl, you deserved to have fun and give your body a break!

  4. Your friends look AWESOME! What good are friends for if you can’t have a good time like htat? I hope you enjoy the last week of your summer!

  5. Love all the pictures! It really looks like so much fun! I specially love the roller skating, I would enjoy that ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope you enjoy your last week of summer!

  6. fi

    Hey Meg, you looked like u had sooo much fun and your friends look great. Its fab that u were able to take a week off from workin out and just chill. Have a great first semester ;D

  7. Friends like that are once in a lifetime..hold on tight! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I used to go the Rollerdrome as a kid..haha…never played the cup game, but I’m very intrigued!

  8. ahhh I am with you…where the heck did August go?! This is just plain craziness. At least you lived up your Summer to the fullest, complete with gorilla masks to boot! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Love ya soooo much girlie!

  9. I am in Shock that Summer and August have come to an end as well. It is kinda sad but exciting as well. Your Summer was def. one to remember with your internship, vacation, beach, and FRIENDS. ๐Ÿ™‚ I am jealous of your beach adventures btw, Court and I never did make it to the beach this Summer. Oh well, the mountains can totally make up for the beach any day. Oh and good for you for taking that break from excercise, WE ALL NEED IT every once in a while. LOVE YA ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Ummm I still take my dates rollerskating, that is how I rollll!

  11. I love that you are getting out there and living life!! You are so beautiful!
    What’s your recipe for protein pancakes? I do one with cottage cheese and egg whites but they look different than yours!

  12. We are totally similar!! Yes, there was some empty calories in the form of drinks with me as well ๐Ÿ˜‰

    But I feel the same as you- more fit! And refreshed.. it’s great!

    Your closer than me on those splits.. totally jealous! And you look amazing in your bathing suit!

  13. Love that you had a great time and just enjoyed and didnt worry about working ! U should enjoy these times! I loved all the pics, I saw them on FB, I was lughing at some of them! U guys have alot of fun!

    Summer is almost gone, went by too damn fast!

    Love you girl! xoxo

  14. Love all the fun in those activities. Just doing random things with certain people provide the best time. Love seeing people live and laugh. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Looks like a great time with friends!! I love goofing off with my friends ; )

  16. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    your friends seem like SOOO much fun!!! i love being crazy with my friends ๐Ÿ™‚ it is the besssst. You are gorgeous toooo- ya glow girl! ๐Ÿ™‚
    and those crabcakes sound amaaaaazing- i’m sure they are especially good because you are in Maryland… super jealous!
    love youuu. & i go back to school tomorrow AHHH so excited! text meee

    xoxoxooxx
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  17. Looks like sososososo much fun! Unfortunately most of my good friends are from college and not from high school/my town so these fun times are exactly why I can’t wait to go back to college for senior year next week!

  18. ahhh meg i miss you sooo much! youre lookin more gorgeous than ever but more importantly it looks like you are having an AMAZING TIME!!! good luck on your last year in college… thanks for all the lovely texts and i am definitely holding you to hanging out in new york next year!!!! love you

    btw LOVE the picture of you doing nearly-splits in roller skates, haha

  19. Glad u had a super fun summah!

  20. “Iโ€™ve come to terms with the fact that life is just that much better when it involves absurdity.”

    ^^^ SO true!

    I’m happy you had a great summer! ๐Ÿ˜€

  21. pscalise

    so glad you had a good time love!!! it definitely sounds like a great way to spend the summer

  22. Rachel

    Awesome good rolling! times with your friends:b You look AMAZING, Meg!!!

  23. Glad you had such a great trip Meg! I know you’ll go back to school with an even happier attitude now :]

    And I’ve never had a Maryland crab, which is maybe a little sad considering that I live in Maryland, haha. But I never really liked seafood even before I went vegetarian so I don’t think I’m missing out on much!

  24. meg

    CRABS! OMG, I love MD crabs. Definitely one of the best parts of summer! Cute pictures too- and trust me girl, you are NOT pale! Good luck with school-this is my first year not going back, and I admit I’m kinda sad so enjoy it!!

  25. teenagehealthfreak

    glad you had a fun summer..we all need a break! i used to go roller skating all the time…so fun! and i’ve never tried crab!

  26. Hiiiii beautiful!!
    What a fun post – LOVE the pics of you with your friends, ahahahah, I wish I knew you for real, it looks like you always have SO much fun.
    Love your attitude about giving your bod a week off – it’s AMAZING, I totally agree!!! Good for you for embracing some R&R… & cocktails ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Food looks delish, as always, and you look GORGEOUS, as always!
    xox

  27. Looks like you had a ton of fun. I had fun reading about it! I am just getting back form a 2 weeks exercise break (if you don’t consider backpacking exercise). It feels so good to kick-ass or have my ass-kicked and come out all sweaty and happy. I missed that. I feel the same way about summer. All of a sudden I’m thinking about my schedule and worrying about finishing my summer work! WTF I want summer back! Good luck in school!

  28. omg, remember slow dance couples skate at the skating rinks?!?! haha. We used to go in middle school, that was the jam.

    Also, my friends and I ALWAYS had wrestling matches in college. So fun! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Glad you had lots of fun! I think being crazy/goofy is way more fun than being mature : )
    I definitely went rollerskating only like a year ago haha it was so much fun! I used to go a lot when I was younger too for like birthday parties and such.

  30. ahhh i am FROM maryland!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELL YEA MD BLUE CRABS!!! load up the old bay and gimme a bowl of butter!!!!

    your gorgeous girl that pic on the beach is so cute!!!!

    i dont have an exercise routine haha but i am glad you broke from yours!!!

  31. What a great time with those special, full of energy friends! You’re blessed with them but they are so blessed with YOU as well!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  32. I love you ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m so glad you had such a fun summer. Looks & sounds like an absolute BLAST!!

    โค jess
    xoxo

  33. Pingback: Confidence and Confessions « Sunshine 'n Spice

  34. our bodies definitely need chill time from the exercise routines!

    being a college studnet is supposed to be fun, carefree and some of the best times of our lives. gotta learn to make it count!!

    thinking of you

    hope you have a splendid sunday, dear
    love, becca
    http://fromheretothereinpurple.blogspot.com

  35. TOTALLY agree- BEST crabs ever! Ahh, I’m missing those MD crabs!!

Leave a Reply

