The Enemy

Monday. The most dreaded day of the week for almost all human beings over the age of six (when you’re under that age, you could really care less about anything more than Barney (does he still exist?!), or when it’s time for that peanut butter and jelly you can put anywhere but your mouth.)

But why are Monday’s the enemy?

Because let’s face it…weekends rock. Especially when they begin with pancakes.

Brown rice flour pancakes with bananas and cherries.

Brown Rice Protein Pancakes

1/4 cup brown rice flour

3/4 cup egg whites

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

2 tbsp soy milk (I used vanilla)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp vanilla

sprinkle cinnamon

dash salt

Combine dry ingredients and mix well, add to wet ingredients and pour on, flip em’ and eat up! Obviously. If you like your cakes a little sweeter, add some honey or sugar 😉

Top with whatever your little heart desires. In my case – cherries and bananas. Cherries are such a pain to pit, they’re lucky they taste good. More so, Whole Foods is lucky they taste good, or else I wouldn’t buy them.

For a chocolatey version – use chocolate protein powder and 1 tbsp cocoa powder!

I used leftover batter to drizzle on top.

However, if you use regular eggs, and not whites, I highly recommend NOT using extra batter to top…unless you’re down with salmonella. Whatever floats your boat (or sinks it).

Weekends are also good for much-needed relaxation, even if it involves the floor.

Stay classy.

I’m not going to tell you quite how I got there, but I can say that it may or may not have involved a delicious pineapple cocktail and a staircase that obviously got in my way.

Why am I not ashamed to put this on here? Because this was totally not my fault.

Monday is also the enemy because said relaxation is just not possible when you don’t you bestfriends to relax with:

I adore my friends.

This past weekend we continuted celebrations for my friends 21st birthday, and two of my friends and I surprised her pre-party with an anchor necklace that we knew she’d wanted for a long, long time.

 Enter: tears, sappiness and a whole lotta love 🙂

Aww!

What’s the best gift you’ve given someone lately?

p.s. hugs totally count!

I find that during the weekends, even though I’m not back in college quite yet, it just feels so right to let loose. Anyone else feel this way? That’s why I think it’s so important just to “be”, and let yourself have fun without any guily or feelings of negativity. Weekends are meant for “me time”, and sometimes this so-called “me time” just doesn’t include anything but indulgence and freedom. Sometimes I feel like people are just way too hard on themselves every single day, and it’s totally unnecessary by all means – I used to do the same thing to myself, though. I’d feel totally guilty if I didn’t get in any gym time, or didn’t do anything relatively productive over the weekend, but you know what? Life is precious, being young is even MORE precious; the most precious thing of all, though? Friends and family. These people were put in my life for a reason, and they make me incredibly happy in a way that a nice weight session or work doesn’t. Don’t get me wrong though, I adore working out, it relieves my stress and now that I’ve found a balance with it, I actually ENJOY it…and I do NOT want to risk overdoing it so much that I stop enjoying it. Whenever I go to the gym I make sure to really push myself, and find out what my body can do for me, but if I’m not feelin’ it, there’s a damn good chance I’m NOT getting a good workout, so here’s to trying tomorrow. I challenge every single one of you to take at least one or two days (preferrably the weekend 😉 ) to just be, just live and do whatever makes you happy…try and leave your “obligations” in the back of your mind, and chances are, when you finally get to those obligations, they won’t really feel as if they’re so tasking or a burden, and you may really be motivated to get em’ done, more so than you would’ve if you’d forced yourself into it. Take this challenge and maybe Monday’s will no longer be the enemy. Here’s to taking the time to love and appreciate what makes you most happy. For me? It’s my friends, family and the pup.

How could this ferocious beast not make you smile?

Rant over, I promise 😀

What have you done for yourself lately?
What makes you happy outside of work & the gym?

Oh yeah, dancing also makes me happy.

Peace and love!

Meg

p.s. I finally updated my recipe page – enjoy!

39 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

39 responses to “The Enemy

  1. Dancing makes me happy too, lol! Love the “happy carefree pictures”.

    I enjoyed myself this weekend at the OC Fair, enjoying all the unhealthy fried food *in moderation* without guilt at all. The fair comes only once a year so why not seize the moment right?

  2. I loved every bit of this post. And I most definitely read every bit of it too! This weekend I actually took time to take MULTIPLE naps!…with the pup of course. I’m also working on collages again…getting back to my creative side is what makes me happy. OH, and so do taking/looking back at pictures where I was actin’ a fool and lovin’ every bit of it!!

  3. Aw, I love the pics of you and your friends. You all look like you’re having so much fun, and I’m really glad you’ve been able to take weekends to relax. You’re right – we alll need a little break!!
    The pancakes look delicious, too – I’ve never tried anything with brown rice flour before!
    Outside of work, I enjoy being with my ponies and my mom – and the camera, too 🙂

  4. UMM AMEN SISTER TO THAT LAST PARAGRAPH!!1
    i am so glad you posted that! YES YES YES. hello- LIFE IS NOT MEANT TO BE LIVED RIGIDLY!! let loose and HAVE FUN and LIVE YOUR LIFE!!

    ” I highly recommend NOT using extra batter to top…unless you’re down with salmonella. Whatever floats your boat (or sinks it). ”

    HAHAHAHAHAH wow megs i was literally lol-ing at that for real. you are such a freakin CORNBALL, but a cornball that I adore. Every time we eat salmon my dad goes “better not add any vanilla too it.. cause you know what you get when u do that? SALMON-ELLA” and he cracks up at it EVERY time.

  5. Looksl ike you had a blast!

    and heck yes, we all need our me days. I love your challenge!

  6. I used to be a hard core Barney fan. I carried a Barney with me around all the time and can be seen with a Barney doll in most photos. TRUE STORY. No shame.

    Love that paragraph about letting go of obligations! It’s so true, a little overload with “play time” makes you actually want to return to “work.”

    I’ve been eating pancakes like…every day. So good!

  7. teenagehealthfreak

    I like your rant. 🙂 makes me think. glad your having fun!! i just went dancing with friends this weekend too ((did you know saturday was national dance day?!?!!?)) hadn’t done it in 4-ever!..had fun.

  8. My fur-children (cats Myko and Neci and dog Naava) make me very happy. Dancing makes me squeal with delight. A pair of new shoes rocks my world. A pedi puts me in heaven. A fab glass of Pinot Noir makes my head spin (in a good way). Laughing with your friends til your belly hurts. Girls nights out. Laying on the beach with a can’t-put-down book…those are just some of things 😉

    BTW, Tuesday is my enemy..more than Monday!

  9. woman I think it’s time to send you to Alcoholics Anonymous…jusssss’ kiddin’, I’ll be right there withchaaa 😉

  10. Gosh girl I LOVE reading your blog – especially for paragraphs like that last one.
    You are SO right, I SO AGREE!! Thank you for voicing an opinion I share, and in such a great way.
    Adorable pictures, and a recipe I can’t wait to try ❤ From one GF girl to another, I LOVE your recipes 😀 😀

  11. looks like a fun weekend!!! my dog and his craziness keep me happy 🙂 now im ready to kick every monday in it’s butt!

  12. hahahaha youre the best!! like really, THE BEST! “stay classy”, such a goofball i love it 🙂

    protein pancakes are dynamite. i cant believe ive only recently discovered them. i was missing out all this time!

    xoxo

  13. fi

    Sometimes I think we all need a reminder of how precious and sacred life really is. If we were all aware of how lucky we are to be alive, we would all start appreciating life and the smaller things more, so thanks for reminding me! and ur right, an unproducitve weekend is totally NOT a wasted weekend!!
    xx

  14. You’re so right and so wise. This actually brought tears in my eyes, because it touched me. Thank you so much for sharing beautiful!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  15. You are so cute, Meg!
    … and this post is super inspiring! I’ve recently started to find a balance with working out, and I adore it as well. I am still trying to figure out how to just ‘be’ though, which I suppose will take some effort on my part.

    It’s so refreshing to see you having such an amazing outlook on life. Your friends are truly blessed to have you in their lives. By the way, you must be so happy to be home with your puppy again, no?! What a stunner 😛

    ❤ Tat

  16. i was going to post some really elaborate comment saying all these wonderful things and admiring all of your pics and recent eats…but i changed my mind. because there’s really only one thing I want to say.

    You inspire me. You motivate me. You move me to tears.

    Thank you.

  17. Looks like you had a fun weekend–no wonder Monday’s are hard. Unfortunately, I work both Sat and Sun, so Monday is just another day for now 🙂

  18. Amanda @ HopeHasAPlace

    You have the most beautiful, luxurious hair! I love it. 🙂

  19. Gina G

    hey Meg! Another beautiful post once again, loved every word. Everything you said is so true. This past weekend i sadly worked the whole weekend, but you know what? I’ve finally built up enough confidence to talk to this reallyyy cute guy i work with that I have been crushing on, haha And I didn’t get rejected, he is sooo nice (and smokin, baha)! Anyways I just wanted to say your still amazing as ever and I am so happy that you have been living your life and enjoying every moment of it! 🙂

  20. I loved this post! Especially the last paragraph. I used to go to the gym every morning- even if I was tired or sick or whatever. But now I haven’t been to the gym in months! If I feel like exercising I go on a walk or do yoga. Working out is great, but not if becomes compulsive or causes stress. It feels so much better to just let go and live your life 🙂

  21. I’m all about cutting loose for the weekend! I usually plan to exercise once during the weekend, but if it doesn’t happen, no big deal! You’ve got the right idea about the weekend for sure.

  22. mondays are only fun if you have a fun breakfast! special breakfasts help make it easy to get up early!

    damn that cocktail and staircase!! that is too funny. my bed always gets in my way..and then i happen to just FALL ON IT…sometimes a man is involved! damn the man and the bed!!

  23. Dancing. laughing. exploring. all beautiful gifts in life that should be incorporated more into our daily routines.

    have a marvelous day!
    love
    becca

  24. Hmmm… for me it’s Tuesdays that are the killer. I go into Mondays with enough motivation leftover from the weekend to get me through… it’s Tuesday where everything slows down and starts to suck a little… 😛

    Dancing makes me happy! Especially when I know no one’s looking… 😉

  25. Oh meg, hoe we adore you. lol You are still gorgeous, even w/ a stair accident. Lately we have really enjoyed working out too! It really gives you a positive outlook on life. A challenged body makes a happier more accomplished person.

    We tried flax oil, and LOVE it btw! My skin has never looked so good 🙂

  26. You look like you’re having SUCH fun!! Great paragraph you wrote on “living!” LOVE IT!
    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  27. Roxanne

    I went cherry picking this summer, and the orchard owner gave a really good tip on pitting cherries: stick a straw right through them, and the pit comes right out with the straw on the other end of the cherry (I hope this makes sense without a visual!). It works like a CHARM. I pitted about 20 pounds of cherries in less than an hour! And it makes little/no mess! Hope it works for ya! xo

  28. “Weekends are also good for much-needed relaxation, even if it involves the floor.”–LOL!!! but so true!

    love your msg…I have recently tried to give up some of my blogging “obligations” on the weekends. Commenting, posting as deep of posts, the whole thing. I dont enjoy it so why do it…I want to be with my fam, not at my computer, so that’s what I try to do…but then I Feel guilty for not being a good friend to others in the sphere. Anyway girl, just wanted to thank you for your beautiful comment you left me yesterday 🙂

  29. Love this post! I’m so happy to have found your blog. 🙂

    I completely agree that we all deserve some me time. I try to get at least a little bit in every day and always respect myself and live my life with joy. I can certainly tell you do those things too. Love your happiness!

    And for the record – yes. Barney does still exist. I have a 2 year old and one day I put something on TV for her and then Barney suddenly appeared. Oh…heck NO! He should be extinct by now! LOL

  30. Aw love this post! I feel exactly the same way about weekends (and Mondays!). I love how you put it “indulgence and freedom” – it’s so true! I love to let lose on the weekends and work of steem. Great wrap up at the end!

  31. Great post! You need to be able to let loose and have fun with friends!

    Love the recipe for pancakes!

  32. Hi beautiful!!!!!!!!!

    I hope your week is going great!!!

    Yay for pancakes!!!!! I have been eating pancakes ALOT this week! I love them! Perfect for any meal in my book!!!

    Live it up girl! Life is about having fun and enjoying every minute!! I love seeing your pics, you always look like you are having a blast!

    Love you! xoxo

  33. Even when it’s summer, I find myself of sliding into the “weekend’s here, time to have fun” mentality. Not like life is all that stressful from Monday-Friday. But, sometimes it’s just nice to have an extra excuse to have fun… unfortunately, I also sometimes use that as a reason to eat more indulgently than during the week.

  34. I personally love mondays, I like when people are back at work/school, its more lively I suppose. Then again, I have not been in school for a while and I really enjoy my work which is rather unconventional. I think sundays are more my enemy, everything is closed early or closed period and people are depressed for MONDAY.

  35. “Stay classy” haha I love it! I am challenging myself to take weekends off from working out because I want to just live and relax, like you said! 🙂

  36. Hahaha, looks like you had fun! I wish it was still the weekend!

    I love being with my friends, and just enjoying the relaxation that weekends bring 🙂 It’s the best.

    Also, pancakes. And baking. 😉

  37. Pingback: Sunshine 'n Spice

  38. Pingback: Confidence and Confessions « Sunshine 'n Spice

Leave a Reply

