Pizza and Fries

Wanna know one thing I really miss? Pizza. Homemade pizza to be exact. Ever since I recieved the results of my Celiac disease testing, I have not indulged in a good homemade pizza. Why, you ask? Good question.

Living gluten-free really isn’t all that bad at all. I quite enjoy experimenting with recipes and different gluten-free flours and shenanigans.

ย The only downside of Celiac is going out to eat and being “that bitch” who orders everything “on the side” and “without this and that” and requests a gluten-free menu or ingredient list.

ย Little do they know that I’m really not trying to be a pain in the ass, I just want to be respectful and not have to clog up their septic systems or paint the walls with the elegant shade of my vom. Cause we all know how cute and ladylike that is ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways, lastnight I recruited my Bob’s Red Mill soy and brown rice flour and told them to make me a dang pizza, and here’s how it went down –

Gluten Free Pancake Pizza Crust

Pancake? Pizza? What?!

Ingredients:

1/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup soy flour

1 egg + 2 egg whites

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp each garlic + basil

pinch of salt + pepper for fun

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees, grease small cookie sheet

Grease a medium-sized pancake pan and heat skillet to medium heat

Combine dry ingredients and mix well

Combine egg + oil and slowly mix into the dry ingredients until a pancake-like batter forms and pour that mess onto the skillet

Cook each side as you would a pancake, about 2 min each, until golden brown on each side, don’t burn the sucker!

Remove from skillet, add pizza-like toppings and bake for about 10 minutes – and voila – you’ve got yourself a personal pizza. This recipe is pretty “doughy” so maybe if you cook the pizza in the oven for a little longer it’ll crisp up ๐Ÿ™‚ give it a whirl – experiment! Experimenting is fun! Just don’t start a fire and blame it on me.

Spread with Laughing Cow Swiss

I topped mine with Laughing Cow, pizza sauce, sliced mozzarella and a turkey dawg!

Looks a mess, but it was guuud.

ย Had some eggplant fries on the side as well, super easy to make!

Just slice up your eggplant in fancy fry-like shapes, soak em in warm salt water (to rid the eggplant of bitterness) for 10 minutes, dry them off, toss them in olive oil and salt

Thenย bake themย at 400 degrees (varies for each oven) for about 15-20 minutes, and peek on them every 10 minutes or so.ย 

ย They should be crispy on the outside, gooey on the inside ๐Ÿ™‚ and 110% awesome.

Eggplant fries!

They’re really good dipped in ketchup, too ๐Ÿ˜€

$$$ shot

Sorry for such a quick post – I have weekend things to get into ๐Ÿ˜‰

What is your favorite “veggie” fry? Or do you just like plain French fries?

Any sweet weekend plans?

Peace and love.

Meg

45 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

45 responses to “Pizza and Fries

  1. Mmm those look so good!! I’ve been trying to find flour substitutes as well. It’s tricky!

    Do those fries taste egg-planty? I love experimenting with eggplant but hate when it turns out bitter!

  2. erinsloves

    That pizza looks fabulous!! What symptoms did you have that caused you to get tested for Celiac’s disease? Im just curious I don’t know a lot about it!

    • Meg

      I had serious, seeerious stomach + lower abdominal pain and lots of very unladylike happenings ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • erinsloves

        Hmm yea I have alot of stomach issues as well, and Ive kind of started to wonder if gluten has anything to do with it..I don’t think I have Celiac’s, but I definately have some kind of problem. I thought it was just artificial sweeteners, but Ive completely cut them out of my diet, and still have issues. Hmm I dunno?!

  3. That first photo did look like a pancake! Haha I bet it was yummy though. And I looove sweet potato fries… I want to try carrot fries too!

  4. your vom! hahah. i love sweet potato fries the best. and parsnips are fun every once and a while. XO!!!

  5. Now that looks like a meal in a healthy bachelorette pad! Love the eggplant fry idea – hadn’t thought of that one!

  6. Meg…I had no idea you were true Celiac?!! Wow! First, my deepest empathy! Second, amazing that you GOT A DIAGNOSIS b/c I know how hard it is. I am gluten intolerant, and although I suspect I am much closer to Celiac, I dont test positive & since I have no desire to undergo a colonoscopy or other invasive procedures, just to get a diagnosis, I am “just” intolerant. Did you see my post I did a couple days ago on food labels and how mislabeling can kill. The next day i posted on my near-brush with death after a shellfish allergy…so yeah, I’m that bitch too who has to be uber careful ๐Ÿ™‚ My god, dont i know….living in the bathroom after being glutened from Food should taste good chips (no, they are not GF for my body, maybe the label says they are but i disagree) anyway..yeah girl, i understand!

    • Meg

      The diagnosis they did for me THANKFULLY wasn’t invasive – I got simple blood tests. I’m not so sure I would’ve been down with the colonoscopy or invasive procedure…not my cup of tea. Living in the bathroom after a gluten encounter = not fun, at all. I feel ya girl ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. The eggplant fries look awesome! My favourite veggie fries…lately, carrot and okra!

  8. Mmm…pizza! I can totally imagine it must be hard sometimes when you always have to ask for other things in restaurants or where-ever. A glutenfree restaurant…that would be ideal!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  9. fi

    Hey Meg, it must be tough being a coeliac! my fave veggie fry (although i havent tried many!) are carrot cries, mmm, cause they are sweet too! but ill give the eggplant (or aubergine as we call it here in ireland, pronounved ‘oh-bur-jean’ ๐Ÿ™‚ ) ill give that a try! Parnsips are yum too, but they make my stomach hurt! ooh, and i love veggie crisps! carrot, parnsip and beetroot!
    xx

  10. fi

    Ok, I meant fries no carrot cries!! and crisps are like chips, we just call them crisps, chips for us are fries to you! oh what a confusing world we live in! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. littlemissminny

    wow, pizza looks great!
    I like sweet potato fries, and eggplant chips. Oh, and recently I discovered how you can bake thin slices or tiny cubes of beets, it really tastes amazing!

  12. Fav veggie fry? Carrots!!
    … I made a pizza dough just like that with oat flour a couple times. It’s so awesome and easy to make it as a pancake, no? I MUST try my next one with real cheese though ๐Ÿ˜›

    โค Tat

  13. I love carrot and parsnip fries…especially dipped in BBQ sauce!

  14. Eggplant or zucchini fries are delicious with the right spices…but I love my sweet potatoes or butternut squash too.

  15. Love your creative pizza and love your eggplant fries! Have you tried carrot fries?

  16. oh yum, i want to try this all! i love bnut fries!!!

  17. Now THAT is creative! Way to work with what ya got ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I was also ‘that bitch’ for 14 years when I was an extremely picky vegetarian / vegan and living in the Midwest. A iceburg salad is not a dinner people, so ya gotta give me some leeway!

  18. Loving this girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Looks so good and the eggplant fries, look yum!!!!!!

    I love me some sweet tater fries!! They are delish, especially dipped in maple syrup!!!!!!!!!!

    Love you! xoxo

  19. Gina G

    my fries don’t ever look like fries, but i will call them fries because i love dipping them into ketchup! my fries being eggplant also and zucchini! Love them both! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. I LOVE butternut squash fries. They are absolutely delicious and are super tasty with some ketchup! I’ve never tried eggplant fries, though. They look and sound good!!

  21. Vanilla

    Hihi I did something similar after reading Tatianna’s blog, except mine has gluten (oatbran, baking powder and I also added garlic and basil!!)
    Then I used tomato sauce, pepper and cheese ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo

  22. girlfriend you make GF look DAMN GOOD!!! I think it’s just wonderful that you’ve embraced your intolerances and learned to accommodate in creative ways. LOVE YOU MY LITTLE GLUTEN FREE MUFFIN!!

  23. I do sweet eggplant fries with cinnamon, liquid vanilla stevia, nutmeg, allspice, and a little splash of almond milk to help it stick.
    Your pizza looks great! I’ve been trying corn flour too so maybe I’ll have to try it in pizza form!

  24. Yay for a homemade healthy pizza!! I don’t really care for pizza just cause it’s so caloric for so little (why not have a lot of food for the same amount?? haha) but yours looks really good! As for my favorite veggie fries, I love carrot, sweet potato, and eggplant fries. Carrot fries are a daily occurance but they all would be if I had them stocked all the time. ๐Ÿ˜›

  25. mysweetseason

    Cute pizza! Mmmm I loooove eggplant! I’ve never had eggplant fries but I am fo shiz going to try them out real soon! I need a break from my usual stir-fried eggplant ๐Ÿ˜€

  26. Beautiful! Yummy! I just made eggplant a few nights ago and felt like I wanted to dip them in ketchup..then thought I was crazy (I’m a ketchup freak) …glad to know that they are good that way, I’ll try it next time!

  27. Nowadays with all the gluten-free products out there, I am sure it’s not as bad as it seems. And experimenting is always fun, and it’s good you enjoy it. Looks like you’ve been whipping up some delicious dishes!

  28. teenagehealthfreak

    ooo la la…eggplant fries?? cooleo! for me it’s a tie between sweet potato and squash! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Looks awesome!! I love Okra fries ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. Katharina

    Wow!!! This is so cool Megan ๐Ÿ˜€ I love your experiment. I actually have some recipes on my blog that I’ve experimented with that I think would be friendly for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I wouldn’t mind you painting my walls.. well with actual paint lol.

    ALSO! before I forget. There’s this brand that makes a really taste gluten-free pizza crust. The brand is French Meadow and they have other gluten-free breads (I’ve tried all of them and I liked them!).

    p.s. don’t ever worry about being “that bitch”. I’m going to pass on a quote that I find myself passing on to others, but it’s true! “The people that mind don’t matter, and the people that matter don’t mind.”

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  31. I love sweet potato fries and recently just started making parsnip fries, the one you coat in nut butter and bake? yummy! Hmm, just reminded me. I must make it this week.

  32. LOVE zucchini and sweet potato fries! Bessst. But eggplant is so yummy too.

    I’m sure there are recipes somewhere for gluten-free pizza crust!

  33. Ana

    That pizza looks good!! It is so awesome that you are able to satisfy your non-gluten free pizza cravings with a gluten free recipe that looks delicious!

  34. I love the new blog ๐Ÿ˜€ I haven’t had many veggie fries but when I have – they are amazing!

  35. What a great idea on a pancake! I sometimes use corn tortillas for my base if I’m too lazy to make the dough ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Alyssa

  36. My cousin is cealic too and when everyone else tucks into pizza, he has to stick to the garlic “free from” pizza bread!! i’m totally going to give my aunt this recipe! thanks xx

  37. mmmmmmmmmmmmmm im gunna bookmark this recipe!! that looks amazing!!

  38. I recently made brussel sprout “fries” and they were delicious, I’ll have to try these though ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

