Island Time

You know you’re on island time when:

You find yourself sipping “Lime in ze Coconut” at several meals, and you really feel like you gotta shake it all up.

Lime in ze coconut!

Your Dad had put one-too-many limes in the coconut and looks a little funny.

...or maybe it's just the sunburn?

You swim for what seems like 42433 miles to shore to explore gigantic rocks.

...and climb all over them.

The mass-consuption of protein/snack bars is totally necessary when spending a day in the sea on a gluten-free diet.

Crunchatize me cap'n!

p.s. this thing was the da domb.

You take 329423 pictures of the same scene from dangerouslyΒ hanging out of the boat, and they all prettymuch look the same.

Okay, so the waves change.

It’s worth my life/camera/pride anyway.

Parasailers! Arrr matey!

You devour a gigantic bowl of mango gazpacho full of sugar and get ready to bounce off the walls for the rest of the evening, and maybe put some more limes in ze coconut.

I got the recipe for this! It's BALLIN!

Mango Gazpacho

(they just told me what was in it – no measurements, sorry!)

Mangos, sliced + pureed

Cane Sugar

Rice wine vinegar

Cucumbers

Onions

Avocado (blended)

Cilantro, jalepeno extract,Β basil and mint!

Viola! Out of this world delicious. Promise.

What’s your favorite type of gazpacho?

Part of your morning routine includes getting harrassed talked to at the breakfast bar by Esmerelda.

She's known for chasing women out of the restroom.

I love birds, they’re beautiful. Esmerelda was quite the charmer fo sho.

Your morning routine also MUST include saying hello to Max, especially if you’d already seen Esmerelda.

Playing favorites is frowned upon.

You enjoy breakfast with a side of papparazzi, allowing you to make supa cute faces.

Tryna holla?

Ok, let me redeem myself. When the humidity is 110%, my hair likes to channel it’s inner Jimi Hendrix.

Excuse my fro.

You also know you’re on island time when you eat oatmeal for breakfast…oh wait…I do that everyday anyway.

Tons of tropical fruit aside as well.

You realize how crispy you are only after spending a few hours asleep on a beach chair – fail.

Crispy and half awake, so hot right now.

But, you feel a lot better about yourself when you realize that your Dad is still a lot toastier than you.

Dad and daughter, fried and loving it!

You know you’re on island time when you get the catch of the day, and it’s your favorite fish EVER!

AHI TUNA! Sesame and walnut encrusted!

I didn’t ask for this recipe because there’s a good chance I’d eat it for breakfast lunch and dinner for the next 70 years. (I figure 70 years because anytime after that I’ll probably be eating blended chicken and peas and juice. In diapers.)

St. John was absolutely amazing, and every time we go back to the Virgin Islands I discover so many new things to appreciate about life, the planet and all of the beautiful critters that live with us on this Earth. God has created some amazing stuff, guys. Go out and find it.

Hermie.

Between exploring the beaches, diving off of rocks, snorkeling and swimming in the sea, I kept in mind always how blessed I am to be able to do this kind of stuff, and get a glimpse at another side of the world. You think this water looks cool on TV, you should see it in person. The sea creatures as well. I had such an awesome vacation – and I’m sad it’s over! But, I am happy to be back home with my dog (who got a little chunky on her pet-resort vacation…) and friends.

I’m definitely gonna miss stuffing my face with amazing cuisine, fresh fish and tropical fruit and all them shenanigans. It just tastes THAT much better when you know it came from 3 feet in front of you.

It’s also my Dad’s birthday in a few weeks, and I really need to get him something good, because he is so incredibly good to me!

Note: Dad's reppin' 18 Rabbits!

What was the best gift you’ve given to a family member?

πŸ™‚

I’m off to unpack…you’d think I’dΒ  be a pro at it by now with the amount of traveling I’ve done this summer, but I still can’t tame my clothes, they’re so unruly!

Back to “normal” blogging soon πŸ™‚ Hope ya’ll enjoyed my little recap!

Peace and love!

Meg

50 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

50 responses to “Island Time

  1. loveee ahi tuna! so glad you enjoyed your trip! You look amazing and your pictuers are beautiful!! πŸ™‚

    we should catch up soon!

  2. teenagehealthfreak

    whoa!! looks like so much fun!! i’ve never had gazpacho. and the best gift i ever gave someone was this very expensive leather bag I got my mom for christmas…she was superly surprised and loved it…i really had to save a lot to buy it. πŸ™‚

  3. looks like a blast! I’m so glad you wrote about feeling blessed that you have the opportunity to be experiencing that.

    There have been times in my life where it all of a sudden hits me how blessed I am. A warm feeling rides over me and I just feel amazing..

    PS–you are beautiful!

  4. Such an amazing recap girl!!!! Looks like you had ana amzing vacation!!! LOVE that your dad is repping 18 rabbits!!! lol! So cute! Love your dads too many lime in the coconut pic! Your dad seems so great, be very lucky and blessed you have a great family, I know you are grateful!

    Love the pretty birds too! Did they talk alot, I know those birds do , they are cute but scary too!!!

    Love ya girl and thanks for sharing amazing pics and for just being amazing! xoxo

  5. You are soooo gorgeous!! Gosh I am jealous! πŸ™‚

  6. Such an uplifting, really inspirational post! Your glowing and enjoy every bit of fun you are having xx

  7. Hey Girl! Thanks for the shout out on my eggplant recipes. I love your blog. You look great!
    Thanks
    Maria:)

  8. squigglefloey

    Haha funny how you mention gazpacho because I just did a spanish presentation mentioning it :P. I suspect I’d much enjoy the gazpacho de tomate en espana πŸ™‚

  9. Looks like you had quite an amazing trip! Hermit crabs are so cute :] And I like the dandelion in your hair in the picture of you with the parrot!

    Hm, best gift I’ve ever given… this past mother’s day I gave my mom a nice scrapbook of a bunch of family recipes and pictures of us cooking. She loved it because it showed that I actually was paying attention during all her rants about how we were losing our family’s history, haha. x

  10. AMAZING! I love me some ahi tuna. And just about everything else you ate!! Perfect Foods bars are the best. Glad you are enjoying island time!

  11. That looks like a great trip! Awesome time!!

  12. Dang girl, you are beautiful!! So tan, lucky girl! πŸ˜€

    Love the gazpacho recipe, must try it!
    ❀ jess
    xoxo

  13. erinsloves

    yay for your trip..im jealous!! as for best present..i just bought Stu plane tickets to see his best friend from Iraq..he doesnt know yet, but Im hoping this will be considered a really good present!

  14. I’ve said it before but I’m going to say it again: What an awesome vacation! That, and you’re gorgeous! Enjoy the rest of your time on the island…lucky girl!

  15. i LOVE your pics!!! you’re so freaking cute. such a good looking family!! i love that your dad was “toastier” than you hahahha. can i come on vaca w/ yall next time? ok sounds great! haha

  16. oh my gosh LOVE THIS POST because it is SO full of life and beautiful things!!! I LOVE how you talked about GODS creatures. amazing, huh? SO perfect and SO unique!! gah! haha your dad is TOO funny in that pic. i LOVE your family.. dont even know em but i love em! LOVE YOU

  17. I have never had gazpacho.. it kind of freaks me out.. haah, i dont know why, i need my soup hearty and warm πŸ˜›
    looks and sounds like a freaking fantastical vacation! xox

  18. sweetsbyalli

    Meg! I’m back to blogging!! I loved this post…You’re GLOWING in all of the pictures! LOVE the relationship you have with your dad. It looks like you had so much fun and YES for uncovering how BEAUTIFUL God’s creations are πŸ™‚ Love you!

  19. that mango gazpacho looks pretty awesome!

    you look beautiful in all these pics (i love your bikini too)! you and your dad make such lovely father-daughter pair πŸ™‚

  20. You island time has looked so much Fun! You and your bikini are adorable.

  21. Fi

    Wow that place looks amaaaazing! like paradise. I would ever want to go home. The best gift i have got for a family memeber was a replica of a necklace my mom got for her 21 birthday, i got it made for her 50th (my moms worth it!) and she loooved it. Parents rock! and deserve the best.
    xoxo

  22. LOVED your guest post on Cinny Buns, btw!

    And you my dear, are living the life!! love all the traveling you’ve done..enjoy, savor, relish…there will come a day when you’re a wife, mother, employee and this will not be so easy…enjoy it all now, as i know you are πŸ™‚

  23. Beautiful pictures.. beautiful trip.. beautiful girl!! I love this post πŸ™‚ By the looks of it, you had and INCREDIBLE time! I absolutely love parrots.. so I am definitely jealous of you and Miss Esmerelda πŸ˜›

    The best gift I’ve ever given a family member is a painting that I did. Gifts just mean that much more when they are home-made πŸ™‚

    ❀ Tat

  24. I’m glad you had such an amazing trip! Tropical vacations are always wonderful, aren’t they? That mango gazpacho looks awesome, as does the lime in ze coconut. Makes me want a pina colada πŸ™‚

    Best present I ever made my dad was a scrapbook full of our memories. Lots of pictures of he and I as I was growing up, and quotes about dads and daughters. He said it’s the best present he’s ever gotten!

  25. Gina G

    ahh looks like a dream! i’m so glad that you all had such an amazing time girl! your family seems wonderful in every way possible, just like you! πŸ˜€

  26. Youuuu are so pretty! πŸ™‚ Looks like you had fun! Get blogging soon! πŸ˜€

  27. I have not seen those raw crunch bars..I NEED one. Raw bars are my new favorite thing!!! Looks like you had a blast!

  28. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    your vacation sounded amazing! I am so glad that you got to spend some quality time with your family, nothing better πŸ™‚ & those perfect food bars are AWESOME aren’t they?!! i’m obsessed! i wish they sold them in stores. you’re gorgeousssss megs!!!

    xoooxox

  29. i love this recap, Meg! everything you did = so fabulous. and where you guys all stayed, SO BEAUTIFUL! like a freaking screen saver! (lol, to quote Couples Retreat, if you’ve seen it…)

  30. glad you had a great time in st. john! you look so tan! i’m jealous πŸ™‚

  31. love the pics and LOVE your bathing suit! ahh I cant wait tops like that because well they just arent that flattering on me, but on you, ROCK it girl!! πŸ™‚ for my dad’s birthday he really always talked about how he wants me and my brother to lend our time and volunteer in some way, so thats just what we did, he said it was the best birthday present ever!

  32. Looks like you’re having so much fun in St. John! I’m so jealous!

  33. Hi gorgeous! Looks like an amazing, perfect time. Glad you’re enjoying yourself and also have so quality time with your dad! You look stunning, a bit ‘tiny’ to be honest, but so beautiful!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

    • Meg

      Hi Julia, I really appreciate your comment, but although I may appear “tiny” to you, I’d like to clear up the fact that I am not underweight. I am at a healthy weight, and I don’t want others to take this comment the wrong way and start assuming things. πŸ™‚

  34. Wow! We are all so jealous of your incredibly journey!!! Have a great time and don’t get any more tan! You’re making me feel way more white… πŸ˜‰
    Love it!

  35. I was just running through these comments and wanted to clear something up!

    Julia- Meg is a petite girl naturally. She is at a healthy BMI and totally respects and takes care of her body. We are really close and I KNOW this! So dont worry πŸ™‚ She is in great health and living it UP!!

    Just wanted to clear everything up!

  36. seems like you had a ton of fun!!! im so jealous of your vacation and coconutty drinks, afterall you can’t go somewhere tropical and not have a coconut drink in my book!
    love your swimsuit by the way!

  37. You look gorgeous, dont hate me, but I’m so jealous, you seem so happy, kind, beautiful! Can we swap lives?

  38. Glad you had a good time!!! Your pictures are so pretty πŸ™‚ I am jealous!

  39. does ur dad have a leash? haha jk. seriously, ur dad rocks!!!

    loving ur smile πŸ™‚ ur all giggles!!

    xoxo

  40. Thanks for responding, please don’t take my comment the wrong way: I never meant to say this gorgeous lady is underweight at all…that must be the language thing (english isn’t my first language)!
    Glad we cleared things up:)

    Enjoy your amazing holiday!

    xxx

  41. crazylittlethingneela

    aww you’re making me so jealous! that place looks amazing. i miss my tropical home singapore now!!!
    and thank you for the amazing recipe. i have to make that once i get home.
    have a wonderful time
    xoxo

  42. dmcgirl37

    Those raw crunch bars are the BEST!! I love them… That bird is soo pretty! I asked you if she was your on your FB because I have a parrot πŸ™‚ Hehe

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  43. Sounds like an amazing vacation! Have you ever been to Grand Cayman? πŸ™‚

  44. Pingback: Post-Vacation Blues: The Cure « Sunshine 'n Spice

  45. So I seriously cannot get over your hair. I mean you whip it around so effortlessly and it looks gorgeous! Hello, Pantene commercial! haha

  46. If you’re not a model already, you should be!!

Leave a Reply

