Hair: Detangled

I know I’ve been promising you this post for what? Weeks now? Probably. My apologies for being the biggest procrastinator in the entire world.

Rockin' my waves, yo.

First of all, thanks for all the sweet, kind and just heart-warming comments that each and every one of you leave on my posts, I really appreciate it, and a big HELLO to all my new readers ๐Ÿ˜€

I devised a list of the top fiveย ways to keep your hair healthy, not just from the outside, but from the inside as well. Our body on the outside reflects what we put inside of it and how we treat it. Through experience, I’ve found that my skin, hair and outer appearance glow a lot more when I respect my body.

ย This is just what worked for me, and I’m sure you’ll find it can do some work for your locks as well. They aren’t really anything special, but some might seem new to you ๐Ÿ™‚

Justin's = healthy fats.

1) Healthy fats: when I used to shy away from fats in my diet, my hair was definitely one of the first things that went dull. Healthy fats are beneficial to hair (and skin). The fat is absorbed to thicken hair and develop shine – and omega 3’s are also an important fatty source: “A deficiency [of fats]ย can result in a dry scalp and thus hair, giving it a dull look.” sourceย (that link also provides a great list of foods for healthy hair) Some of my favorite sources are: nut butter(I eat about 4-5 TBSP a day at least), avocado, salmon (any fish, really!) and cheese (don’t be afraid of full-fat stuff! It tastes better anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Yoats, yo.

Oats (whole grains!) and berries (fruit!)

2) Whole foods: TONS of fruits and veggies. This goes without any explanation, really. Incorporating the recommended servings of fruits + veggies for your body and even more. Vitamins and minerals are super important for scalp health, a healthy scalp = healthy hair growth – and I also found that when I lost the whole “diet food” mindset (aka super-low calorie processed junk) my hair got thicker, softer and a lot shinier. As seen above: a favorite real-food breakfast: oatmeal, almond milk and berries.

3) Don’t wash it everyday. I go about 2-3 days without washing my hair.ย  Washing your hair everyday is really not necessary, and a waste of time – it strips your hair of it’s natural oils, and you end up with lifeless locks. I recommend a dry shampoo if your hair gets oily, or check out some easy hairdo’s you can pull off here ๐Ÿ™‚

Updo-it with a sweet bow!

4) Embrace your natural beauty. Probably the most important thing, realize that you are naturally beautiful, you don’t need tons of products, appliances and makeup to look gorgeous. I promise you that. Don’t go crazy with the blowdryer/straightener/curling iron/whatever! A few times a week is fine, just make sure you’re using some kind of protecting serum.ย  Whenever I straighten my hair – I use this stuff. It’s pretty pricey in salons, but check outย Walmart, they usually have it for a heck of a lot less. Just watch out for these people when you’re there ๐Ÿ˜‰ย Also, I find that the less product I use, the less “junky” my hair feels – you know that feeling?! Yeah gross, right? Which brings me to my final tip.

Sometimes I like to embrace my hair by being a creep.

5) Get rid of build up. When I was featured in Seventeen Magazine for my hair, the first “tip” that came to my mind to share with the magazine is an apple cider vinegar wash – SUPER cheap and simple way to clean all the build up and crud that your hair collects throughย styling products/serumsย and daily shenanigans. I usually only do this once a month, or when my hair just feels heavy, or I’ve been spending a lot of money using styling products in it. Before you shampoo, just create a rinse of apple cider vinegar and pour it over your hair – focusing on your scalp and the top of your head, where stuff usually hangs out, and keep it on for a few minutes, then rinse and shampoo/condition as usual! Voilaaa!

Heeey, that's meee!

If ya’ll have any questions, ask away. Also, feel free to add your own hair tips!

What’s your favorite go-to hair product?

Favorite healthy-hair food?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, my Frosty is melting ๐Ÿ˜‰

Better than a frosty. Swear.

Peace and love!

Meg

62 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

62 responses to “Hair: Detangled

  1. Not gonna lie, I’ve definitely been checking back regularly to make sure I didn’t wait to much anticipated “hair most”. Your hair basically should be next to “va va va voom” in the dictionary.

    Your tips are SO on point!! When I was at my all time lowest weight my hair was a hot mess. Thin, lifeless, stringy. Ew. It’s so important to remember that proper fuel isn’t just to maintain a healthy body weight, it’s essential to maintain a healthy BODY! Hair included ๐Ÿ™‚

    LOVE YOU!

  2. I am ALL ABOUT not washing my hair everyday! haha. It really does help though. And actually my hair works with me a lot better (especially when putting it up a bit) when it’s a little dirty.

    On that note, my current favorite product is Tresemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo. I actually did a product review on it awhile back! http://mysocalledhealthlife.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/the-great-hair-experiment/

    • Meg

      I JUST bought that stuff! I love it and it works so well! HEY EVERYONE – GO CHECK OUT JILL’S REVIEW! ๐Ÿ˜€ That stuff rocks!

  3. You certainly have the best hair here on the blog world, & maybe in the entire work. Great tips Meg!

  4. Holy Hot Hair! I never knew you were in Seventeen! very cool.

    I love your tips. My hair got so much healthier once I quit blow drying it everyday!

  5. i agree with jenny! love all these tips they really are very spot on!

    one of my favorite hair products is tresemme heat protector ( red cap!?)

    i also use nexxus hair shampoo+ conditioner and some other fun things ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. WHAT?!?! You’re a celebrity?!?! That’s so awesome!! Your hair’s beautiful btw ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Love the hair tips (and the glamour link)! I’m always on the look out for new styles and ways to make my hair healthier! I try not to straighten/blow dry it too much now, but I still feel like I use too much product sometimes.

  8. CAN I HAVE YOUR HAIR? like .. for real.. gah first of all 1. you are incredibly gorgeous and 2. your hair is amazing and 3. (last but DEF not least) your heart is beautiful. can we say “The Entire Package” ? That is your label. i cant wait to see who you are going to marry.. ONE LUCKY SON OF A GUN!! He is going to be freaking amazing, because you are freakin amazing, andddd you dont deserve anything less!

    So that was random, but whatever. I like yo frosty girlllll. so refreshing!!! and AMEN TO HEALTHY FATS! that makes EVERYTHING look better!!

    LOVE YOUUUU SO MUCH SISTA

  9. Gorgeous hair and wonderful tips. I definitely agree with adding healthy fats to your diet…my faves are avocado, cheese, and walnuts. I’ve noticed a HUGE difference in fullness. During my anorexic stage, I lost alot of my hair and it’s slowly starting to grow back. You should do a follow up post of some tips you receive from comments on this post! I want to learn more!
    Oh and the best moisturizer: coconut or olive oil. I coat my hair and put it in a shower cap for 1/2 and hour to an hour or if I can overnight. Wash and instant shine and moisture!

    • Meg

      I can certainly do a follow-up post ๐Ÿ˜€ and I will include your moisturizer – that sounds amazing! I’m sure the coconut oil smells divine too ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks Yasmin!

  10. mysweetseason

    Oh my gosh that was you in Seventeen? I remember when I bought that I was like hot diggity dog I want that girl’s hair! Love your gorgeous waves! So jealous right now haha

  11. Love that black and white photo of you- it could be in a magazine! Soooo gorg ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. land animal

    First, I love this post! Second, you’re so gorgeous! I also have learned the not washing everyday trick too. When I got my hair cut recently my hair dresser actually told me how healthy my hair looked. This is amazing because I dye it frequently and had been hearing that it was in bad shape for a few years now. I started washing every other day and viola! it looks good again. Also, I’m with you on working with your hairs natural texture. My hair is straight so I never have to worry about taking the straightener or hair dryer to it. I only use the curling iron on special occasions now.

    I will have to try tip 5! Love it. Also, have you ever used coconut oil on your hair? I haven’t but I want to start using it on my skin and hair. I hope I glow!

    • Meg

      Thank you!

      I’ve never tried using coconut oil directly on my hair, but Yasmin (above) mentioned it as well and I’d love to see how it works ๐Ÿ™‚ Let’s try it!

  13. Very cool tips! I have baby fine, very straight hair (probably the opposite of yours!), and it tangles and retangles just like a little girls. I searched for ever to find a good conditioner / detangler when my favorite brand became no more, and am pretty happy with Shikai’s Mist & Go Color Reflect Conditioner & Detangler. It works great! I only use it to condition these days, as using a conditioner in the shower really wieghs my hair down and makes it feel yucky. It is much softer and flowing with just the Shikai.

  14. Megssss you just have ballin’ hair! Fact of life. My hair, well. I’ve been blessed (read: damned) with a Jewfro that JUST WON’T QUIT (kinda like my ass, too). So I straighten it. Every day. Bad? Oh yes. BUT. Wait til you read my next post in le works, because homegirl, you’re gonna laugh. My desperate need to straighten my hair has led me on plenty of adventures throughout my lifetime…true story.

    So lesson of the day is: embrace your natural hair, unless you have a Jewfro.

  15. As an admitted hair envy-er, yours is fabulous! I love natural full looking hair. I’ve been obsessed since I was very little since mine was anything but wonderful. After being a vegetarian for 14 years and going through some extremely stressful times in my life, I lost over half. Pretty devastating, especially when you’re a girly girl.

    Now I try to work with what I have and make sure I’m eating really well so that I have the proper hair health, which includes Vitamin B supplements and Iron supplements.

    Be thankful for your lovely locks ๐Ÿ˜‰

  16. I”ve been waiting for hair tips!! Thank you!! You have beautiful hair.. and skin.. and eyes. ok now I sound creepy ๐Ÿ™‚ But anyway, thanks for the post! It’s so true about healthy fats too. I find my skin is much less dry when I eat more fats too!

  17. *Andrea*

    that black&white pic is a total model shot! you’re so gorgeous! especially your hair ๐Ÿ™‚

    i agree eating healthy fats and a diet mostly from the ground (WHOLE grains, veg/fruit, less processed foods) as well as not conditioning your hair every day are great tips

  18. I LOVED this post! Thank you so much for all of the tips :)You are such a confident person. My favorite tip is to embrace your natural beauty. I agree 100%. Your hair is so gorgeous! I only wash my hair every other day, but that apple cider vinegar wash sounds awesome.

    I cannot believe you were in SEVENTEEN! That has pretty much always been my dream. Whit and I write to them all of the time. lol. What issue were you in? Now I am going to go back through all of my old issues tonight ๐Ÿ˜›

    -Court

    • Meg

      Pshhh you two could TOTALLY make it into Seventeen. Ya’ll are incredible, for real. And AMEN to natural beauty. God gave us these bodies for a reason, we’ve gotta embrace em’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I was in the June 2008 issue, with Taylor Swift on the cover – I love her! I was so pumped.

  19. Oh yeah, aren’t those FROSTY’s awesome!

  20. by being a creep — hahahh love it!!! so funny. so cool that you were featured in 17 magazine!

  21. Rachel

    I LOVE THIS POST. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    And love you too, you gorgeous sweetie Meg!

    xoxo

  22. Awesome tips!!! And always a good reminder that healthy fats are GOOD! (I used to be a fat-shunner as well!) Gorgeous pics by the way ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Great tips! You have such gorgeous hair. And that’s so cool that you were in Seventeen!

  24. sooo agree with like EVERYTHING you posted!
    the healthy fats! more nut/nut butters I eat, I notice more shine to my hair! and the whole foods! I notice not only my energy and mood are better, but my body/skin everything looks better!
    great post. and your hair= absolutely GORG!!!!!!!!!!

  25. This post was awesome! I’m so with you on the not washing your hair everyday. I definitely would have brittle and dull hair if I put it through that on a daily basis.

  26. teenagehealthfreak

    you have beautiful hair! yeah..healthy fats/fruits/veggies for surely help..I know what ya mean!!!!! and that’s awesome that you were in 17!! so cool.

  27. Girl, you have got some gorgeous hair!!! I’d kill for half the volume you have!!
    I definitely agree with you on the healthy fats — since I’ve been adding more of them into my diet, my hair and nails have been growing like weeds!

  28. You have gorgeous hair!!

    What I do a lot of times is mix 1 whole egg, avocado, and a tablespoon of olive oil together and slather it in my hair. Leave it in for 30 minutes, then wash it out…BEST thing I’ve done for it. I do that every couple weeks or so, and it’s like a deep conditioning every time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. you do realize that not only would you be hired as a model but u now will easily be booked as a hair model! ur that fantastic!! โค

  30. you were in 17? you’re famous ๐Ÿ™‚

    thanks for all the amazing comments and thoughtful words the past few days, meg! so sweet ๐Ÿ™‚

    hair..yes. Crappy diet = crappy hair. Too many products = crappy hair. And overstyling and overwashing = crappy hair.

    I wash every 2nd or 3rd day, no heat styling. No prods other than leave in condit spray. That’s it. I have actually posted about this in the past week..asking ppl how often they wash their hair and most ppl are every other…but often it takes women into their later 20s/30s to realize this. in your teens/early 20s we are all a bunch of over-washers!

  31. love love love! i totally agree with everythangg on here– take care of yourself and eat the right foods to really see shiny hair results ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I can’t stress how soft my hands are, either, with the abundance of ma healthy fats!

    you’re gorgeous. I love you! talk soon! xoxox

  32. Oh! And hair washing is for CHUMPS hahhahaha!!!! I only wash it every few days as well ๐Ÿ™‚

  33. Hedda

    You are right – it makaes a world of difference what we put in our bodies.
    After over three years of restricted eating my hair looks…well, it looks just the way it has been treated : abused, and exhausted. It is getting better, but it is still thin and rather dull.
    It is rather amazing how our bodies have ways to express their pain : dull skin, hair, eyes – all symptoms of that we are not treating our body with the love and respect it deserve.

    Keep shining, you wavy beauty ๐Ÿ˜‰

  34. My hair is actually starting to GROW BACK which I am loving right now! With any luck, I will be seventeen mag cover-style in no time. Haha – totally joking there.

    You’re so gorgeous and inspiring darling!
    โค Tat

  35. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    you’re beautiful!!!! i love the tips- and so cool that you were in seventeen ,that is legit! haha. “frostys” = heaven.

  36. I remember your tip about the vinegar in Seventeen magazine! I had no idea that was you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Some really great advice here! My hair has been so much smoother and less frizzy since I started washing it every other day. And yes healthy fats and no products make such a big difference. Awesome post!

  37. You are absolutely beautiful and your hair is gorgeous! ๐Ÿ™‚

  38. your hair is everything i want mine to be! hah

    beautiful โค

  39. Kat

    Your hair is gorgeous. I was born with thin stringy flat hair, so my hair is the most frustrating thing in the world haha. I have found tho that if I keep it short, I am able to give it some oomph ๐Ÿ˜‰ If it is long, it just lays straight…regardless of how much hair spray I put in it!!

  40. AMEN!! I don’t wash my hair everyday either..it is much more shiny and healthy!! I go about 2-3 days too..LOL but I do wash my body every day!!

  41. Erin

    I so remember that issue of Seventeen..I am obcessed with Taylor Swift…You are so right about diet and effect on your hair..after my “diet issues”, my hair was in such bad shape..I went to the salon, told the stylist about everything, and she did this protein treatment on my hair. OMG the results were amazing, best 30 dollars ever!! My hair was 100 times better, but she did stress to me the importance of eating good fats like avocados, and also suggested taking Hair, Skin, and Nail vitamins- which I have been taking ever since..huge difference!

  42. you were in 17 mag?!? thast so cool!! and I love that ACV ti[p! I’ve heard it before but now I am DEF going to do it!!!

  43. Your hair is FAB.U.LOUS! i am totally a not-wash-every-day person. it dries it out!!
    how were you featured in seventeen??! love it!

  44. crazylittlethingneela

    gorgeous!!!
    i use hair mask about 2-3 times a week. i love kerastase products for my hair if only they weren’t so pricy. but a girls gotta have here priorities here right??
    xoxo
    love you

  45. Your hair is soooo gorgeous! I have thin flat hair…but I am eating my daily dose of nut butter ๐Ÿ˜‰

    ~Alyssa

  46. Seeing as how I don’t have hair anymore, this isn’t so useful to me, haha. But your hair is very pretty, so I’ll defer to your authority. I did have an awkward long-hair phase in college.

  47. Yes, your hair is absolutely gorgeous just like you–so thanks for sharing. Great tips!

  48. I’m so glad you did this post – your hair is really so gorgeous! I’m so lazy with my hair. I cut it into a bob 2 years ago, and it’s manageable except for when it’s humid. And since it’s summer and disgustingly humid, I’ve just been sticking a million bobby pins and keeping it out of my way. The less time and money I spend on my hair (within reason – I still like to look nice!), the more I can do other things.

  49. healthyhelper

    thanks for the comment girl! yeah the kale in the burgers is actually really good! it takes em to a whole new level!
    BTW ur hair is gorg! I completely agree with all ur tips for healthy hair. healthy fats do wonders for soft shiny hair….i have even heard (besides eating them of course) that putting fats like coconut oil in your hair, is really good for it. I’ll have to try it out for myself lol!

  50. Those are all great healthy hair tips! I definitely agree that what we put into your body makes a differance in our outward appearance, so many benefits to eating well/exercising!

  51. prettytimepiece

    Megggah! (?) you have amazing hair. in case no one’s ever told you. frizz-free *and* voluminous, i am sooO jealous! ;D i am with you 100% on the don’t-wash-everyday. it’s so unnecessary… except when i go for a bunch of back-to-back sweaty runs, then i always have to wash.

    random — but that is beyond awesome you were in Seventeen – did you send in a modeling pic, or did they find you? lucky girl!

    โค Chandra

  52. Your hair is gorgeous xx

  53. Pingback: Yep, it’s a fact. « Sunshine 'n Spice

  54. dmcgirl37

    You hair is amazzzinnnggg!! Love that pic of you in seventeen

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  55. Nice tips friends! very helpful
    I also want to sharing about beauty tips, please visit us!
    Beauty tips

    thanks .. ๐Ÿ™‚

  56. Shamila

    Hi gals.

    I have been plagued by facial hair for so long and have tried creams, electrolysis which left a black marks on my skin, waxing etc until I found this amazing little tool called Epicare. It is just a lil spring with handles on either side. I love, love, love it. It is so affordable compared to laser where there is still no guarantee that facial hair will be totally gone. For gals who are used to threading this is the perfect D.I.Y. tool. Got mine at http://www.epicarehome.com. I have been using mine for 8 months now. Hope this info is useful foryou.

    Sham.

Leave a Reply

