Sharing the Love.

Sometimes you just gotta share the love.

Hearty Curry Stew.

Remember that curry stew I made a couple of days ago? I brought it over my brother and sister-in-law’s to have for dinner, accompanied by my beautiful Momma, and Mia – the newest addition to our family.

She had her own version of a soup. A milky one.

The more I spend time with my family, the more I really begin to realize how truly blessed I am.

 I love making other people happy, and cooking is one way I can express that.

Sharing a passion with your loved ones is a beautiful thing! My family loved the stew, by the way – so incase you were wondering if it was a success or a failure – ladies and g’s, we have a winnnaaaa!

Momma with a big ole' smirk, enjoying her din.

I spent almost all morning in the kitchen for the the past couple of days, before going out anywhere else, I loved just relaxing and enjoying one of the passions that I’d recently left behind because I just didn’t have the time.

What is this, you ask?

Gluten Free Black Cherry Cobbler

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

20 oz cherries – fresh, frozen or canned

2 tablespoons sugar (NuNaturals works too)

For the cobbler topping:

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup brown rice flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup milk, dairy or nondairy (I used Silk soymilk)

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Grease a cobbler dish or baking pan (medium sized) and pour in cherries (thaw if frozen), top with sugar

Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl, slowly stir in wet ingredients

Pour atop the cherries and sugar

Bake for 30-40 minutes until bubbly and your house smells like a cherry tree

Slice, scoop, or simply shovel into your mouth, and enjoy 😉

Cheery cherries.

This cobbler is awesome when topped with frozen yogurt, ice cream or even chocolate pudding. Your options are endless.

Sweeeet.

This recipe is extremely versatile, and you can experiment with different fruits, sugars and whatever else you’d like. It’s easily adaptable for those of you who are NOT gluten free. Simply play around with the flours.

Next up on the menu:

Gluten Free POMtastic Cookie Crunch Pie

Soft, gooey and delicious.

Serves 6-8

Ingredients:

1 cup brown rice flour

1 cup oatmeal

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup brown  sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup POM

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup golden raisins

1/4 cup crunchy GF cereal

1/4 cup almonds

honey for drizzling.

Directions:

Preheat over to 350 degrees

Grease a round baking pan

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and stir (EXCEPT chocolate, almonds and raisins)

In a smaller bowl, combine all wet ingredients until well mixed, pour over dry ingredients and mix well

Gently fold in chocolate chips, almonds and raisins

Plop batter onto baking pan and bake for 30 minutes until outer edges are a golden brown

DEVOUR

Spatula-licking is allowed.

Again, this cake is easily adapted to non GF diets, just sub in regular or whole wheat flour if needed.

POM!

The POM juice gives this dessert a subtle tangy-sweet kick. Pairs perfectly with the chocolate and raisins.

Ok, or you could just eat the batter. No worries.

So, what else has been going on in the kitch? Lots of treats spread with almond butter:

Protein brownie with almond butter.

Comforting summer breakfasts, topped with cottage cheese and fresh berries:

Breakfast is for lovers.

And a whole lot of family time, friend time and just summertime.

Do you have a passion that you’ve recently re-discovered?

What’s your favorite dish to share with your family?

I made it to the gym the past couple of days and it’s felt wonderful. I’m slowly but surely learning that balance is key with exercise, specifically strength training. Splitting up my workout days between different areas of my body is giving me tremendous results, and to be honest, I feel more confident than I’ve ever been. Long gone are the days of being stick-thin. I don’t need to have a set regimine in my life, I enjoy myself, indulge and just focus on being happy. I promise – happiness is the key to health.

Friends and dance parties help, too.

A typical workout for me includes 10-20 minutes of low-to-moderate intensity cardio and about 30-50 minutes of weights and machines. And if I’m not feelin’ it, I go home. No use torturing yourself – you WILL NOT ever be able to stick with ANYTHING in life if you don’t enjoy it! Remember that.

What does your typical workout look like?

What has exercise taught you about balance in life?

Peace and love!

Meg

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Sharing the Love.

  1. i LOVE making cookies for people. not sure why, but i reallllllly find joy out of giving cookies more than anything else 🙂

  2. I am just like you, I love cooking for other people. It is such a nice feeling to be able to share delicious food with friends/family 🙂

  3. Oh my! Cobblers are pretty much the best thing ever.

    I like sending letters to people through the mail–just brightening someones day like that!

  4. It’s so amazing to make other people happy and care about others needs, but make sure you don’t forget about youreslf:)

    i like to bake for my family..espescially on occasions such as birthdays and mothers day! i’m not the best cook by any means….in fact i can barely toast my bread..however, i think they realise it’s the thought that counts!

    the cookie pie looks yummm! xx

  5. wow, everything you made looks great!

  6. What beautiful tasty looking treats you made. Well done!

    I love making applecrisp for my hubby because he gets so happy and child-like when eating it 🙂

  7. AMEN TO THE WORKING OUT THING SISTA!! you da you da best!! Life is TOO short to dread working out!!!

    COBBLER FREAKING YUMMOOOOOO. you da gluten free queen!!

    i LOVE YOUUU SISTA

  8. Ive sadly spent most of my life a slave to working out.
    I’m glad I’ve learned resting feels awesome too.
    I’m a yoga instructor and sadly I feel I dont do enough of it, but I try to mix it up and do some yoga, weight training, and running , and of course PLENTY of R and R
    The cobbler looks good, and cherries are excellent for healing sore muscles!

  9. Your workout routine sounds easy and stress free to follow. You are really an inspirational bloggerm who makes these little twins smile. lol And we love your Pom cookie crunch pie, mmm mmm mmm. Hope you have a great relaxing weekend
    Love ya! ~C+W

  10. Tho look so delicious I’ll have to bake that crumble you made! Yum! You inspire me so much your so pretty!
    xoxo Ashley
    Chewingoncherries.wordpress.com

  11. Vanilla

    Awww I wish my family liked fruit desert >_<! My mom doesn't like when I cook because it's usually not ''chinese'', even if she hasn't tried it.
    I never went to a gym, so a ''workout'' for me is just a little jogging around the neighbourhood. Feels good 🙂

    xoxo

  12. that stew looks and sounds delicious!
    what a beautiful family you have ❤

  13. ummm hello my long lost love 🙂 im back in the blog world for now 🙂 i just would like to tell you that i am so proud of you about the working out thing – ive recently hit that exact same level. i used to go to the gym and do hours on end of cardio – high intensity at that. but recently, ive been doing some more reading on fitness, strength training..and it all makes so much more sense, and with moderate cardio, and a good strength training session, i feel more results than i ever did with the cardio. and its all muscle babbby! pretty soon, you and me are going to have to have a gun show 😉

  14. BOTH your recipes look so freakin’ good! Perfect summer treats! 😀

    My workout routine consists of yoga maybe 3-4 times a week, and some sort of cardio the other days. My workout is flexible though. I take a break from working out when I feel like I need a break 😉

  15. Those recipes look awesome!! I will have to try both 🙂

    ~Alyssa

  16. Beautiful post Meg! The cherry cobbler is vegan and gf, love that! I make a raw vegan apple crumble that’s so good and easy, hello no baking! Anyway love me some crumbles/cobblers!

    The baby pic, too cute 🙂

    The friends pic, love it!

    The ifyou’re not feeling it you go home…AMEN. I do 20 mins of cardio outside by myself every day to be ALONE. I need that! And then I do maybe 30 mins of weights. I do work out like a freak when I am there, no resting, I would rather do it fast and get done plus i have childcare to think about that’s always gonna close on me. But yeah, being flexible about working out is key!

  17. oh…my…gosh. that cookie crunch pie looks like one of the best recipes i’ve seen in months! i will try it soon–thanks!

  18. Rachel

    Love your recipes:) You must be a really awesome cook, Meg!

    I love your new attitude towards your body and exercise…working to achieve that same level of body peace and HEALTHY enthusiasm with exercise!!!

    LOVE you!

  19. Oh gosh, I love baking for people! It’s just the best 😀

    I’m going to have to try that stew and those other recipes you posted, they just look awesome!

  20. #1 reason I love baking so much is for other people to enjoy it. Your recipes sound fabulous!

    That baby is so cute!! What a beautiful addition to the fam!

    My workout these days is anything that on the lake. Hope your weekend is going well 🙂

  21. erinsloves

    I so love making stuff for people too, I find myself making things for family/friends that I don’t even like, but that I know they will like! For Easter I made a huge Thanksgivingish feast and once it was time to eat I realized that half of the dishes I couldn’t even eat bc they had onions in them or something ahah I HATE ONIONS!!! But I was still excited that everyone else liked them (:

  22. Mia is adorable!! And I just got some POM so I am saving your recipe 🙂

  23. Ohmygoshh! I love the picture at the top right in your header. You are so pretty. 🙂

    The cobbler looks great and sounds easy to prep.

    And Mia is so precious!

  24. COOKIE CRUNCH PIE!! good golly miss molly! haha that looks rediculously tasty!! mmm cobbler!! ❤ i dont liek it as much as crunchy desserts like crumble or that crunch pie- but theyre all good when theyre gluten-free, well especially to me ❤

    xoxo

  25. You’ve been baking/cooking up a storm–love it!

  26. Anon

    I hate to say it but Oats are definitely not a gluten free food… 😦 Rice is, but oats most definitely are not. I point this out b/c it could be dangerous if you served this to someone with a severe gluten intolerance, like for instance, someone with Celiac’s disease. A friend of mine has it, and he can’t eat wheat, oats, rye, or barley without being very very sick afterward. Just something to consider if you want to be making gluten free food.

    • Meg

      I buy Bob’s Red Mill gluten free oats. I have celiac disease and these oats are certified gluten free and have never bothered me.

      Thank you for pointing this out, though. Some Celiac’s do have issues with oats, but usually it’s because they were cross-contaminated at a factory or manufacturing plant with another type of grain. I’ve discussed this with my doctor and I will make a note of it in the recipe.

Leave a Reply

