Scrambled, like eggs!

Well helllooo there! It’s been quite a few days! I’m glad to report, however, there have been no more run-ins with angry taxi drivers ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sorry for my little absence, but today was really the only day I’ve been able to sit on my bum for more than an hour. Actually, I sat on it prettymuch all day today. I did get somethings done though, wrote my Dad a Father’s Day card, ordered him an arrangement of chocolate covered fruit, and bawled. I miss him, a lot. I also miss this little furface:

I actually have to pick up food I drop, because she's not there to do it for me.

I’m not gonna lie, I miss my family and friends back home SO much. It’s wierd not being able to see them so often. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE it out here SO much, but it’d be nice to see them right about now ๐Ÿ™‚
Anyways, moving on…

I really don’t even know where to begin, so I’m just gonna scramble it all up…like eggs!ย 

ย This weekend was a mish-mash of exploring town, eating at Whole Foods WAY too much for my paycheck, and the biggest cup of coffee I’ve ever consumed:

If you know how big 18 Rabbits bars are, you understand.

…it was AWESOME. I wish Starbiz would take a hint and serve an extra-gigantic cup of joe for 1.79 as well. I can dream, right? Not to mention, the cafe was so rustic, and just welcoming. I could cozy up to this place anytime:

So antique-y!

Little treasure in town!

Therese (my coworker that I adore!) and I went to a super cute consignment shop while prancing around town – they had some awesome stuff, and I put a few things on hold, but never made it back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

BUT not to fear, we made our way downtown to Forever 21 and we both made our purchases ๐Ÿ˜‰ You know.

Hoofin' it.

Somewhere along the lines we made our way back home, and my legs, glutes and every other muscle in my lower body wanted to murder my ass. So what did I do? Sat on them glutes and ate.

Summery fruit + Greek yogurt...

Complete with a big hunk hunka of ALMOND BUTTTAAA!

And something for the egg-obsessed side of my tum tum too:

This was a mess, but I was hungry.

Eggs and veggies and cheese all wrapped up happily in a TJ’s Corn Tortilla. No gluten! Hoorahhh!

What’s your favorite type of wrap?

I have like sixteen of these corn tortilla thangs to use up, so you may or may not be seeng tons of them. Hint: you will be.

Tuna and cheese ugliness. Mmm

In other news, I’ve got a few reviews for ya’ll! Therese sampled these little boogers that’ve been laying around the office at 18 Rabbits for a few days. Curiousity, my friends, curiousity.

Yogi Granola Crisps. Yogi?

I can’t decide if they’re referring to Yogi Bear or Yogi as in a person who does yoga. What’s your take on that?

Maybe it’s neither. Anyways, no need to rush out and buy 309434 packs of them – she said the Yogi snacksย tasted like cereal – and would be much tastier with a bowl of ricemilk or something of the sort. The texture and look reminds me of Quaker Rice Cakes.

They were “pretty sugary” and the strawberry taste just wasn’t all that. Maybe if she’d tried them as cereal the verdict would’ve been better? We’ve still got another pack, so stay tuned ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can find the nutrish stats on their website.

After she reviewed them for me, I was happy I wasn’t missing out on too much good gluten action ๐Ÿ˜‰

Totally mistakable for Quaker!

I also have a little review for you as well. I know Luna products are NOT certified gluten free, but the Cookie Dough Protein Luna Bar has no gluten ingredients, and I’d been eyeing in since I got it fo’ free at the Whole Foods Demo last Sunday. So I tried it.

...and it did NOT disappoint.

This bar was probably the most cookie-doughish bar that I’ve ever had, and I’ve had A LOT of “cookie dough” shenanigans in bar form. The nutritional stats are pretty good, but the ingredients kinda stank. I’d much rather have a bar with a shorter ingredient list, but whatever, it was so worth it. Sugar in strange forms ain’t gonna kill me. Yet. It kept me full through the ride home from work + a 40 minute strength training sesh, which is a total plus, especially when I’m on the go, and don’t really wanna stop at my place before I stroll to the gym.

Actually looks like dough too, who'da thunk?

Verdict? Amazing. Go buy fifteen. Ok, maybe twenty.

What’s your favorite pre-workout bar when you’re in a rush?

Sorry for the supa-long post. I’m off to grab some sleepytimeย coffee and hit the hay. Early day tomorrow!

Mmm decaf, please.

Sike, I probably won’t even get up after I write this besides to grab a bowl of oats before bed. Tea will suffice ๐Ÿ˜‰

Peace and love.

Meg

p.s. I was thinking about adding a little somethin’somethin’ about my fitness routine. Would you guys like that? Let me know.

33 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

33 responses to “Scrambled, like eggs!

  1. hey boo. i’ve missed reading your blog. welcome back! being busy is good though, i’d much rather be up and about being busy than doing nothing – which is what i’m doing a whole lot of right now. i like having things to do to distract my mind. sorry that you’re missing your family but like you said, you love it out there! just enjoy it for now. you’ll be home sooner than you know it and then you’ll miss being in SF! haha.

    lets hear about your fitness! i’m in such a rut. no motivation to do anything because i hate everything right now. i need to get on my grind and get to the gym! been a few days but watever, be back at it tmw, hopefully ๐Ÿ™‚

    love you to pieces. ps. looking GORGEOUS in your last pic!

  2. Glad you are having fun! I would def miss my family too though. I love Clif bars for an on-the-go preworkout snack! The maple nut are my favorite. You should definitely tell us about your workouts, I really like hearing what other people do!

  3. I was so glad to see you posted! I have been very busy as well, but I guess it is better to be productive ๐Ÿ™‚ Those Luna cookie dough protein bars are so awesome… they always keep me full for hours. I would love to hear your workout routine. It is always fun to try somebody else’s routine and change things up a bit!
    -Court

  4. id love to try those luna proteins before a workout!! i know what u mean about the dough look- i totally see that!

    my fav is a local homemade one thats high in protein and is made from raw quinoa and millet. theyre really great. otherwise i also like clif builder bars.

    oh and best wrap? my fav is eggs, kale, mustard, all in a brown rice flour tortilla โค

  5. I LOVE those cookie dough bars. I whip ’em out mid-lecture pretty often. They taste so much like a candy bar but hold me way longer than anything covered in chocolate should.

  6. Jae

    I’d definitely enjoy reading about your fitness routine :). Oh and this post was a blast! So fun to read and definitely lahhve your syntax-y thing you got going on there. Im glad you’re enjoying SF and gotta say that Im more than a wee bit on the jealous side!:)

  7. Man, I wish I was as busy as you, actually… I’ve been lazing around most of my summer so far, and my days are really unstructured… I’m glad you’re enjoying SF and working at 18 Rabbits, though! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve never tried Luna Bars before, but that one looks great! Cookie dough = โค ๐Ÿ˜€

    I'd love to read about your fitness routine! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Wei-Wei

  8. Glad to hear you’re having fun and I totally understand you’re missing your family and friends and doggie! I think it’s a good thing though, because you love them and of course that means missing them. But glad you’re having an amazing time in SF as well:)

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  9. I love to hear more about your fitness routine ๐Ÿ™‚
    .. as for the ‘Yogi’, I’m pretty sure it has something to do with Yoga. They also make a line of teas ๐Ÿ™‚

    โค Tat

  10. i do love that luna but its so darn small!! and for the 190 calories, I think I prefer to eat the other original lunas that are about twice the size!

    hahaha I laughed at your ‘sat on my glutes and ate’ comment

    i love consignement shops, I never find anything worth buying but they are fun to peek around and maybe see if there is anything worth getting!!

    ahh the day starbies has coffee for 1.79—a gal can dream thats for sure!

  11. Ashlei

    Your dog is so cute! I’d miss him too if I were you! Corn tortillas are a favorite of mine now too..when I first tried them I thought they were gross but now I love them. I use either the WFs ones or the Food For Life sprouted ones. Rolled up with scrambled eggs (and sometimes black beans) all Mexican-ish. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Almond Butter is amaaaazing โค Don't make me pick a favorite bar…umm..well, ok. Coconut Cream Pie Larabars. Sometimes not filling enough before workouts though. I guess it depends on how intense it's going to be. Before running (which I do early a.m. I usually just drink coffee and go!).

    I vote yes on a little excerpt about your fitness routine!

  12. Yay glad you’re having a good time in SF! One of my favorite parts about it actually is how there are coffee shops other than Starbucks, haha.

    I’ve tried the Yogi blueberry crisp things before and they do taste pretty blueberry-ish. But they’re definitely better eaten like cereal with milk.

    Have a loverly day! x

  13. aw, your pup is a cutey – and i hear you on the troubles of actually having to pick up your own food when there is not fur-face around ๐Ÿ˜›
    and oh my gosh, I was obsessed with those granola crisps for a while. the cinnamon raisin and blueberry were my fav – though i’d admit they are a bit sugary. They are indeed good with milk, though.

  14. Glad your having such a good time–and missing the friends and fam is expected! You’ll be back before you know it though, and I am sure they miss you the same! Oooh I love the new Luna bars as well–to die for!

  15. Jen

    you are having so much fun, it all sounds amazing. sorry you miss home ๐Ÿ˜ฆ i get that a lot when i’m away, but its great that you’re enjoying yourself. pictures look yummm. and yess i’d love to hear the routine thing xoxox

  16. I love TJs corn tortillas! I use them for everything, even making little sandwiches. The brown rice tortillas are really good too, I actually think they’re better than the Food for Life rice tortillas.

    I had no idea that the cookie dough protein Luna bars were gluten free! I’ll have to go try one ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Katharina

    MEG!!! So I must’ve fallen off the face of the earth for awhile or something :\ I gotta add you to my blogroll so I can STALK you mwahahah. But for real, I just realized today I was like whoa what? Anywho, you are so adorable. I totally know what it’s like to miss your pup ๐Ÿ˜ฆ When Matilda and I were separated I would come home and expect to see her on my armchair sleeping like a baby as usual. But she wasn’t there and it always made me sad. I’m such a mom lol.

    Hm.. favorite pre-workout bar?? Well I don’t have a favorite pre-workout bar per se but I do love Boomi Bars and 18 Rabbits ๐Ÿ˜€

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  18. i wish starbucks would lower their prices too! i’ve had the choc cookie dough luna bar and i wasn’t really a fan! i felt like i was gnawing on it for too long and my teeth didn’t love it. yeah, put some fitness on here!

  19. My FAVORITE pre-workout bar in a rush would have to be ZeroImpact Pumpkin spice protein bars!! DELICIOUS! They also make really good PB&J bars too ๐Ÿ˜€

  20. HEY MAMAMAMAMAMAMA
    im getting a little spassstice over hurrrr
    bc your posts MAKE ME SO HAPPY BECAUSE I FREAKIN LOVE YOU.
    pre workout bar- THINK THIN ALL DA WAY!! girl you NEED TO TRY THE SIMPLY BARS! gluten free and eeerything! they rock me!!!!!
    i LOVE YOU!
    weener dogs unite!

  21. oh and WOW dorkiest commenter ever award goes to ME

  22. Love the HUGE cup of coffee!!!!!!!!

    And Forever 21 rocks! Glad you got some good stuff there!

    I know its hard being away from your friends and family, but its also such a great experience for you! You are balancing it out well love!!!

    I would love to see your workouts for sure!!

    Have a great night! xoxo

  23. PB and J Lara for sure. Except PB and J is the ONLY flavor I like (and I’ve tried. them. all.)

    I LOVE following up on all your CALI adventures! JUST saw your comment on my blog, and got so excited! Thanks for reaching out to me, and I will be emailing you later!!

  24. Tell us how your workin’ on your fitness! We’re your witness…hahaa did I really just go there?

    I was wondering about those Yogi Snacks (let’s pretend it’s in reference to YogiBear)…

    I love 18 rabbits and I would love that extra large cup o’ jo! ๐Ÿ™‚

  25. maxinthegym

    The Luna bar sounds really good!

    And you should totally post about your fitness! I’m definitely curious as to what you do ๐Ÿ™‚

    That is quite a large cup of coffee you got there! I remember my mom got something like that once. It came in a bowl! Hahaha

  26. I love Larabars and these new Kardea bars I’ve been trying this week. I don’t like the taste of most protein bars (so chalky!) and i’d rather get my protein from foods.

  27. That bar looks SOO GOOD! I’m definitely going to have to try one soon!

  28. I wanna try those bars–cookie dough? PULLEASE and thank you.

    โค jess
    xoxo

  29. I’m curious where that cafe is… it reminds me of Shoes Cup and Cork Cafe in Leesburg, VA, which literally and old, converted shoe shop. Great coffee there, too: http://barncathollow.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/shoes-cup-and-cork-club.jpg

  30. Looking very pretty! I don’t normally have bars such as that, but wow it looks really quite delicious! Keep smiling and pushing forward!xx

  31. Devyn

    I actually really enjoy those yogi granola things, the cinnamon raisin is the best flavor, but I only enjoy them rarely as a treat because they don’t have the BEST nutrition stats, but it could be way worse too. I wish I could try that protein luna bar, but it is not vegan ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  32. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    ah hun i know you must feel kind of homesick ๐Ÿ˜ฆ you are going to have those days but i know in the end you def made an amazing choice!! i am so glad you love your internship.. i haven’t tried those yogi granola things, but i have heard pretty good htings ab/ their taste!
    llove the yogurt w/ almond butter- yum!!

    xoxoxooxoxox
    shelley

Leave a Reply

