Thank you, Trader Joe’s!

Thank you all so much for participating in the 18 Rabbits and Purity Organics Facebook giveaway – it was awesome! We get to mail out 50 free bars + coupons to all the lucky winners 😀

Sweeeet!

This week is just flying by, isnt it? Not cool, NOT cool. That means I only have about 3 weeks left out here in California. Gonna make the best of it, of course. I finally managed to do some legit grocery shopping lastnight after running on bars galore, egg sandwiches and measly salads for the past few days.

I had this Boomi Bar at work yesterday, and I really loved the ingredients – and with 260 calories, it kept me full for at least 2 hours after I got off of work. It had all kinds of different nuts and seed-like thangs, and plenty of sweetness + a chew factor. But, I think it’s definitely a true story that bars do not replace real, cookable food 😉

This bar was pretty awesome.

Kudos to Trader Joe’s 😉

What’s your favorite grocery store?

Okay, egg sandwiches aren't all that bad.

My version of an Egg McMuffin – corn tortillafied 😉

Fun fact: eggs STANK up the office. Sorry, coworkers.

Another fun fact: I wasn't lying when I said I DESPERATELY needed groceries.

So, I decided to get a cab back from Trader Joe’s lastnight – I took the cable car down there, but with 3 hefty breakable bags, I just couldn’t pull that off on the way back up. I asked mister taxi driver if he took credit cards, he nodded, I hopped in. We get to my destination, and his computer shuts off – I told him I didn’t have cash on me (which I didn’t) – he started cussing out the computer system, and just got completely irrational, and he STILL had my credit card. I heard a scratching noise, and asked what he was doing with my card – he continued dropping f-bombs while telling me he wanted to get f-ing paid so he made an imprint of my card. I politely asked for it back and he FLIPPED out – seriously, I thought homeboy was gonna pull a knife. Long story short – a few minutes later I managed to grab my card and book it. I reported him, as well as the imprint of my card.

I’ve never been so in shock in my life – I’ve NEVER experienced someone like that before. I was completely polite about everything.

I’m still a bit shooken up, but hey, you live you learn – not everyone in the world is nice. I’m really keeping this man in my prayers, he needs Jesus.

How can you be a jerk with THIS kind of view?

Have you ever had a scary taxi cab experience?

I took my frustrations out on the kitchen and fixed myself some Trader Joe’s goodies.

Fresh fruit, welcome back to my liiife.

I honestly could only eat half of this – I was still choking back tears. I hardly ever cry, but I was just really upset about it for some reason, he just really pulled my strings. At least I know something’s being done about it.

Anyways, in other HAPPIER and BRIGHTER 😀 news – I took my first ever SPINNING CLASS yesterday morning at 6am! It totally kicked my ass, and I LOVED every minute of it. Ok, that’s a lie, I loved maybe 96% of every minute of it, the other 4% of the time I was hoping my a$$ didn’t fall off. It really makes me wanna try more classes they offer at my gym. Fyi: I had a banana and some peanut butter beforehand (as I usually do when I workout in the morning – working out on no fuel = no beuno.)

Zumba, anyone?

Have you ever tried spinning?

Afterwards I refueled with some overnight chia seed oats:

Ohh yeah, bringing back the cheetah print; fa sho.

Overnight Chia Seed Protein Oats:

1/2 cup oats

1/4 cup cottage cheese

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1 banana

1) Cook oats as you would normally + stir in protein powder and banana

2) Add chia seeds after heated and microwave for a bit longer

3) Keep in fridge overnight 

4) Add cottage cheese + optional toppings, stir, heat up and enjoy 😀

This was awesome topped with banana and almond butter.

Kind ugly, but really good.

After that, I had to book it to the bus stop – my motivation? Starbucks. I cannot go a morning without coffee. I’m addicted.

I love my job – as I’ve said like 30242 times before.

 I really, really do.

 I worked on some page layouts and Facebook shenanigans (which I bombarded ya’ll with 😉 )  and created a new background for our Twitter – check it out and let me know what you think 🙂

Speaking of my job – I should probably go get dressed and roll out.

Peace and love.

Represent, yo!

Meg

36 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

36 responses to “Thank you, Trader Joe’s!

  1. Gorgeous photos, Meg! 🙂
    You AND the scenery.

  2. I am loving the new layout!!! I have been wanting to use that template for a while now!

    YAY for loving your job…that is so awesome and important! Love you girly!

  3. Man, I’m jealous! I want to go to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods sooo bad. 😦 Great photos, by the way! I won’t say it I won’t say it I wo – you’re gorgeous. ❤ 😀

    I'm so glad you're enjoying San Fran! It's so scary about that taxi driver though 😦

    Wei-Wei

  4. Lovely new header!

    I’m sorry to hear about that jerk of a cab driver. It’s good to keep in mind that you don’t know what he’s going through. Not that that gives him any excuse for taking out his mood on you, but he may have been having a tough time and didn’t know how to deal with it.

    I love spin! I’m not a big fan of zumba, though, but put me on a spin bike any day!

  5. You’re so gorgeous! Inside and out! :]

    And please tell me that’s a cheetah print snuggie? Or don’t, it’d make me jealous.

  6. Scary cab story: I once had a driver lock the doors and start hitting on me when I was on my way home from Grand Central at like 3 am one night. I asked to be let out and he wouldn’t stop, so I just freaked out and booked it out of the car in Times Square so he couldn’t follow me. You hope that your cab drivers are safe, but there are definitely some creepers out there. I’m glad you got your card back!

  7. ewww what a creepo! I’m glad he didn’t pull out a knife and stab my Megsy because dayum…if he did I would personally make sure SHIT goes down!

  8. p.s. I love spinning 😉

  9. Gina G

    im so sorry about the creeper! sounds like a scary situatin =( have you ever considered martial arts or a self defense class (not that you should ever worry about that), but i took martial arts/kickboxing for a couple years and it is so fun! and makes you feel powerful and strong hah
    but enjoy the next 3 weeks girl! ❤

  10. Meg!
    So sorry about your taxi-cab scare.. I would have balled my eyes out to. No shame in that. I’m so glad you are okay, and that the stupid man is going to pay for his ridiculousness.

    I’ve always wanted to try spinning! I’ve been thinking about joining a gym to participate in classes, but I hardly have any time anymore!
    ❤ Tat

  11. MEG ahh i am SO Sorry about that! Girl you are the sweetest thing ever and i know that had to upset you. you are so right tho- just gota pray for people like that.. they are lost and its sad!! You are so wonderful and such a ray of sunshine for real. you are BEAUTIFUL AND I LOVE YOU SO MUCH!

  12. Spinning is one of my favorite ways to exercise! And Trader Joe’s is definitely the best grocery store in my eyes. I’ll have to look for those boomi bars. That taxi ride sounds scary! Beautiful view though!

  13. Oh gosh that’s so scary but God’s always there to take care of you so no worries =)
    Work + pics + food all look wonderful! Enjoy babe!

  14. Wow–that situation sounds scary! The big city can be great, but a bit of a shocker at times too. I know when I go to Boston, I am completely afraid of situations yet very entertained because it’s such a change from home!! Stay safe dear!

  15. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)

    omg meg, i am so sorry about that asshole!! i guess that happens in a big city sometimes- people can be SO rude. ugh! those overnight oats look great- i haven’t tried chia seeds yet. I want to, but they are kinda pricey :-\
    have a good day hun!!

    xoxoxox
    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

  16. POOPPPP–I didn’t enter. Gahhh, why, why, why? Haha, next time 🙂

    I’m so sorry about the cab driver! That’s CREEPY and totally not needed.

    ❤ jess
    xoxo

  17. maxinthegym

    Sorry about the irrational cab driver. He was totally out of line.

    I love spinning! It kicks my butt every single time and I sweat like a crazy woman! It’s almost disgusting. But I love it. It makes me feel soooooo good! I’m glad you’re starting to share the love!

  18. So sorry that happened to you! I hate random scary things like that – I get so shaken up. Hope you’re having a better day!

  19. Love!!!!!!

    Im so sorry about the crazy cab driver, I agree, he needs Jesus, Im sorry you had to go through that : p

    LOVE the overnight oats combo you have , and I love adding chia seeds to my oats, it is so filling! Chia seeds rock!!

    I have to admit I love sugar free red bull too, but I try not to drink it because it keeps me wired and so much carbanation like I said, but let me tell you I enjoyed chugging it down, have not had it in forever and was nice to have it again!

    I am so happy you love your job, and I m just so happy your happy! Life is too short not to be, even when I have bad days, I keep a smile on my face!!

    love ya girl!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! xoxo

  20. Your overnight oats look SOOOO much better than mine did this morning! I’m definitely trying your combo! 🙂
    P.S. – You have the most gorgeous hair!!!!!

  21. i sued to be so fearful eating eggs in a closed room. whenever someone came in they swore i farted.. it was always so funny to see the look on their face and then to think im such a liar for saying “it wasent me, it was the eggs- i swear!!” lol ❤

  22. LOVE the new look! It’s so sleek 🙂

  23. oooh yes i can’t wait for some bars!! i loooove spinning! tons of fun and you sweat your butt off!!

  24. teenagehealthfreak

    I had a creeper limo driver for prom..ehh!! i don’t even wanta remember it…it made me cry too..so don’t worry bout that…those people can be very rude and scary!!!

  25. My fav grocery store is Wild Oats, even though Whole Foods bought it out. 😦 I also like our loca co op.

  26. Michelle

    Wow, that taxi driver was crazy. Good job on doing the right thing though.

  27. Yay for Trader Joe’s! Best prices, for sure.

    Sorry about the cab driver. I would have freaked out too.

  28. im so jealous of your job! so so soooo awesomeeeee! I hope I get a job like that in the future- it’s so awesome to do what you love! 🙂

  29. spinning is hard as heck!

    true story, bars do not keep me full. give me a real meal! they sure to do taste REALLY good though.

  30. I used to do Spinning, but I got tired of the instructor because all she played was oldies.. hard to spin to! LOL. I’m so glad you enjoyed it though! I need to try out a new one I think!

  31. i have the same wordpress layout hehe. im working on switching over from blogger.. so im still using blogger for now.. but yea. the layout looks good!

    18 rabbits!! lucky lucky lucky

    wish we had those here! ❤

  32. Those bars look soooo yummy! I seriously need to try some!

    As far as grocery stores…there’s a store called “Ocean’s” that I go to often! It’s an Asian supermarket, so tons of deals on fish, seafood, exotic stuff, and just your every day stuff…love it!

  33. ahh girly your goregeous in every pic, seriouly why aren’t u a model? lol

  34. Ashlei

    Hey girl!! Thanks for the comments! I love meeting new GF bloggers 🙂 The 18 Rabbit bars look amazing, and yeah that looks like an awesome job!

    So much good stuff in this post, for real! Love spinning! Love it. Totally kicks my butt too. Lol. And my favorite grocery store is probably Earthfare though Kroger has some awesome stuff and our local health food store where I live. TJ’s is awesome but sadly there isn’t one where I live. Glad you made it out of that taxi alright. That’s pretty scary. I don’t know what I would have done…

  35. Pingback: Scrambled, like eggs! « Sunshine 'n Spice

  36. Yes to TJs being the most amazing grocery store ever!
    Yes to spinning…awesome workout!
    Yes to coffee every morning…it’s a must and a huge motivator 😉

Leave a Reply

