Fini!

Excuse my French, but I am FINALLY finished with my junior year of college ๐Ÿ˜€

Classy phone pic.

Congrats to all of you graduates, by the way, what an awesome feeling that must be!

Is it summertime for you yet?

Now that I actually have time to sit around and be lazy all day cook, I whipped up something special (and absolutely disgusting looking) for dinner.

Don't judge an eggplant by it's cover.

“It’s Summer and I’m Lazy Eggplant Parm”

1/2 eggplant, sliced

1/4 cup tomato sauce/pasta sauce

1/4 cup cheese (any kind really, I used mozz)

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

salt + pepper

(I added leftover rotissere chicken to mine, too!)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees + grease a pan
  2. Salt eggplant
  3. Bake slices for 10-15 minutes, flipping halfway, until browned
  4. Layer into a dish, placing sauce + nutrtional yeast between each layer
  5. Sprinkle cheese + leftover yeast on top
  6. Place back in the oven to warm for about 3-5 mins
  7. Stuff your face!
  8. Feed some scraps to the spoiledย vulture dog on the floor

No worries, I have an iron stomach.

I’m just kidding, she didn’t partake in my eggplant parm, just a dog treat ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m pretty sure if I gave her any, I’d pay for it in the price of doodoo on the floor at 3 in the morning. And that’s just not my favorite thing to clean up, especially at that hour.

This just wouldn't be pretty coming out of my dogs rear end. Not at all.

Do you feed your animals table food?

Just a fun fact about why you SHOULDN’T peel your eggplant:

“Research on eggplant has focused on an anthocyanin phytonutrient found in eggplant skin called nasunin. Nasunin is a potent antioxidant and free radical scavenger that has been shown to protect cell membranes from damage. In animal studies, nasunin has been found to protect the lipids (fats) in brain cell membranes. Cell membranes are almost entirely composed of lipids and are responsible for protecting the cell from free radicals, letting nutrients in and wastes out, and receiving instructions from messenger molecules that tell the cell which activities it should perform.”

Sweet, huh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Beforeย basking in the sun on my couch because the sun decided NOT to come out to play today, I fixed myself a favorite:

Awesome.

Recipe (super easy and obvious!) can be found here!

I also got a few surprises in the mail!

Note to FedEx man: It’s ONLY okay to interrupt my America’s Funniest Home Video’s marathon when you deliver things like this:

I ran to the door during the commercial break.

Enjoy Life Foods Allergen Free Trail Mix ๐Ÿ˜€ I decided to try the Beach Bash flavor first…do I really need to explain why?

Didn’t think so.

ย This stuff was awesome! I haven’t had trail mix in so long and this totally made up for it ๐Ÿ˜‰ย Perfect combination of seeds, dried fruit (my favorite was the pineapple! So summery!) Awesome nutritional stats too. I really love it when I can read, pronounce and be satisfied with the ingredients without pulling out a 39252375384-word dictionary.

“Raw Sunflower Kernels, Pineapple*, Roasted Hulled Pumpkin Seeds (Sunflower Oil (Sunflower Oil, Citric Acid), Salt), Cranberries*, Apricots*”

*SULFITE FREE

I highly recommend this stuff, whether you have allergies or not. It’s a good change when you’re used to ‘ordinary’ trail mix ๐Ÿ™‚

p.s. it ROCKS in yogurt ๐Ÿ™‚

You can check out all Enjoy Life Foods has to offer on their website and at Whole Foods ๐Ÿ™‚ I love their stuff because I can trust that’s it’s gluten free.

I’m off to watch a movie and sit on my bumย evenย more.ย Tomorrow I have a date with one of my bestfriends who’s coming home from school as well. We’re doing our classic Wendy’s trip and catching up. Fast food every now and then won’t kill you, especially if it’s with a friend ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s your favorite fast food restaurant?

I’m gonna have to go with Panera – does that count as fast food? If not, I’m such a sucker for Wendy’s chili ๐Ÿ˜‰

Catch ya’ll later!

Peace and love.

Meg

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Fini!

  1. CONGRATS hun!!! Feels good to finish out the year, right!? Ahhh, I still have 2.5 weeks of high school senior year left, but the end is in sight! ๐Ÿ™‚

    OMG girl, Panera is the bomb!

    LOVE YA!

    xxoo
    Heather

  2. Yayyy for being doneeeeee ๐Ÿ™‚
    you know I am obsessed with panera just like youuu !!

  3. You look absolutely beautiful in that picture! Now that it’s summe. We should definitely try and get together (finally!).

  4. Congrats on being done!!
    I’m with you- dried pineapple is always the best in any trail mix! And it’s funny you asked about table food because we were just talking tonight about how my dog refuses to eat veggies or fruit that we drop. She loves cheese though! Your eggplant parm looks yummy ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh I am obsessed with Pita Pit & Chipotle.. but I do get down with some Panera loving!

    I love eggplant so much! Great recipe girl! Our dog does not eat vegetables but love ice cream.. mmm. Smart dog.

  6. hahah oh my gosh im obsessed with YOU!!
    yay for SUMMER!! I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!
    we are SLACKING on texting girlfrand!!
    thats a great recipe- i LOVE me some chickfila!

  7. Wow! Your teeth are so WHITE and pretty ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been wanting to try egg plant parm for so long, so I will have to get on that. And my favorite fast food restaurant is probably Chick-fil-a!

  8. I’m always down for panera! and pita pit tooo! you look gorg as always and yay for summertime!

  9. congrats on finishing your junior year love! sorry i didn’t return your text- i was driving and then forgot ๐Ÿ˜ฆ BOO. we must have a catch-up text sesh ASAP. i love panera toooo!!! & that eggplant dish looks phenommm

  10. Yay, good job! I always get jealous when I see a picture of you. You’re just too damn gorgeous! ๐Ÿ˜€

    It’s not summertime for me yet. Finals are in two weeks, THEN it’s summer! ๐Ÿ˜€ I wouldn’t feed my animals table food. My mom wouldn’t let me (but maybe I’d sneak them an egg yolk or two. I don’t like yolks.) I’m not a big fan of fast food, but a Japanese chain called MOS Burger is pretty good! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Wei-Wei

  11. Does chipotle count?? Because that is my faveeeee. Panera’s fab though too ๐Ÿ™‚ I would mention a legit fast-food restaurant…but I’ve never really eaten at any since I’m a veg and all, and until recently they never really had many options for little ol’ me! BOO HOO. hahahh

    Your protein oats look divine–how do you make the berry topping so pretty?! Mine never look like that!! But that trail mix also sounds amaze–I loooove dried pineapple! And I love you!

  12. Congrats for being done girl! And that eggplant dish…love it!

    x julia (Taste of Living)

  13. congrats. i know the feeling – its so relieving!!

    lazy eggplant parm looks great. it all tastes the same anyways doesnt it? haha.

    fav fast food would probably be this place called jason’s deli. unlimited salad bar!! ๐Ÿ™‚ and they have all the good stuff too like hummus, pudding, etc. it’s HEAVEN! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Congrats on being finished! It must feel incredible ๐Ÿ™‚

    My favourite fast food place would have to be the Pita Pit… which may or may not qualify as typical ‘fast food’ wither ๐Ÿ˜›

    โค Tat

  15. Congrats! The big senior next year then, huh? I’ve just entered my Junior, so one year behind ya–I feel your pain, and you excitement over summer!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep.. how amaze do you feel to be done right now?! ENJOY IT, POOKS!!!!

    p.s. you have seriously stepped up your culinary game! that eggplant is bomb dot com.

    love you!!

  17. you are freaking beyond gorgeous! had to say that!! โค

  18. congrats on finishing your junior year! i just finished with sophomore year. that eggplant looks fantastic! favorite fast food restaurant is panda express…i’ve never tried panera though.

  19. Gina G

    Congrats Meg! im so excited for you! im just finishing highschool =( my favorite fast foods definetly include Panera, Jimmy Johns, and Subway (and any icecream place ๐Ÿ˜‰ haha)!

  20. You are so beautiful! What a great smile you have! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congrats on finishing Junior year! That was a great year for me, so much fun. Senior year was definitely a great one too, so you have that to look forward to!

    Favorite fast food…I love panera as well! I also love chipotle!

  21. Hi Meg! thanks for the super sweet note! I really appreciate you taking the time to write ๐Ÿ™‚ And no, it wasn’t a novel. Have you seen my posts…haha! Anyway, I appreciate you saying the things you did. Frankly, I wish more people were honest about things and upfront about stuff and not afraid to speak their mind and choose what’s best for them. And not cower or have their minds swayed or changed by others, if that’s not in their best interest. I am glad you appreciate that in my posts ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway sweetie, have a super evening and enjoy your summer vacay!

  22. Katherine: What About Summer?

    CONGRATS ON BEING DONE miss senior!

  23. Pingback: keepin’ it prepsta « Peanut Butter and Jenny

  24. Panera is definitely my favorite, with Dunkin Donuts clocking in at a close second. I just love coffee and good sandwiches!

    Congratulations – you made it!

  25. WOOOHOOOO!!! Congrats!! =D!!

  26. congratulation on your new site and finishing this year in college… I love eggplant parm!! thanks for sharing your recipe and story!
    cheers
    Dennis

  27. Congrats on finishing your junior year!!
    Your eggplant parm looks delicious! And that’s so interesting, now I know never to peel eggplant! haha
    & Fav “fast food” restaurant is Olive Garden ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. Pingback: Blogger’s recipes « Vanilla Swirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

