Fun Facts (and Fats!)

  • I have one more exam left. On Monday. Monday, really?!
  • I’ll be a senior in college next year
  • Advice, not really a fun fact: checking your email every 5 seconds will NOT make an email arrive faster, promise
  • I have plans, dreams and aspirations after I graduate, and I’m so excited 😀
  • I threw a bowl across the kitchen yesterday like a frisbee and it shattered everywhere – I blame it on said excitement above
  • Luckily I was finished eating this:

  • Protein Ice Cream, made using this recipe. Thanks Heather! Topped with banana and cinnamon 🙂
  • Oh, and what ice cream would be complete without chocolate? Right?

Perfect.

  • But, this doesn’t fix the fact that I am now one bowl down…many more to smash
  • (I didn’t play frisbee on purpose, nor do I have anger issues and decide to throw glassware across the kitchen)
  • After an amazing nights sleep, I decided last-minute to write a 5 page paper instead of taking an exam
  • Walking into the classroom and handing in a paper is, in fact, so much more liberating than taking a seat awaiting a horrific art history exam
  • Ummm holla
  • It is totally appropriate, after a good self-confidence boost, to take a picture of yourself and a Larabar

Fun facts about fats and how they benefit your body:

  • Brain – Fats compose 60% of the brain and are essential to brain function, including learning abilities, memory retention and moods. Fats are especially important for pregnant women, since they are integral to fetal brain development.
  • Cells – Fatty acids help your cells stay moveable and flexible, as well as being responsible for building cell membranes.
  • Heart – 60% of our heart’s energy comes from burning fats. Specific fats are also used to help keep the heart beating in a regular rhythm.
  • Nerves – Fats compose the material that insulates and protects the nerves, isolating electrical impulses and speeding their transmission.
  • Lungs – Lung surfactant, which requires a high concentration of saturated fats, enables the lungs to work and keeps them from collapsing.
  • Eyes – Fats are essential to eye function.
  • Digestion – Fats in a meal slow down the digestion process so the body has more time to absorb nutrients. Fats help provide a constant level of energy and also keep the body satiated for longer periods of time. Fat-soluble vitamins (A, D, E, and K) can only be absorbed if fat is present.
  • Organs – Fats cushion and protect your internal organs.
  • Immune System –Some fats ease inflammation, helping your metabolism and immune system stay healthy and functioning.
  • For me personally, when I was recovering from anorexia a couple years ago, fats really helped my hair get stronger and my skin as well. I was an absolute mess, and once I educated myself on real nutrition, I was able to eat a balance diet once again, with plenty of fats, and a balance of carbs + protein as well 😀  Learn what works for you, but don’t fear the fat (oh, well except trans fat, cause that stuff is nasttt)

    What fat are you hugging this month? 🙂

    • Super fun fact: congrats to KATEY! You won the CSN Stores giveaway! Shoot me an email!
    • I’m going summer garden shopping tomorrow + DRESS SHOPPING for the Ring Dance next weekend!
    • I would love suggestions on a dress color/style – please and thanks 😀
    • Wishing you all a beautiful weekend, talk to you soon!

    Peace and Love,

    Meg

     p.s.

     

    🙂

    29 Comments

    Filed under Uncategorized

    29 responses to “Fun Facts (and Fats!)

    1. Meg! I think you need to become Larabar’s official model. You are so beautiful, and Lara just looks so good in your hand… they’d be idiots not to hire you! 😉

    2. Meg,
      I have been hugging a lot of eggs lately. Love them with a sprinkle or two of goat cheese. Yum, fats. 🙂

      So glad you enjoyed the protein ice-cream before you tossed the bowl – looked totally like a bowl of vanilla soft serve. Perfect.

      I’m into navy dresses these days – simple, yet elegant.

      Best of luck on your final exam on Monday!

    3. I’m going to be a college senior who is working on this healthy living thing (lost 30 pounds last year) and I love your blog. Trying to start one of my own! Any advice?!

    4. I used to be absolutely terrified by fats but now not so much all thanks to you girllll 😉

    5. I think you would look really pretty in a green or blue dress!!! And I emailed you 🙂

    6. Jenny

      I still cringe when I think of my “100% fat free” days. Ooph! how the heck did I survive?!

      I’m going to go contemplate that while digging in to a jar of PB 🙂

      love you pum’kin!!!

    7. Oh boy, I definitely have had a few of my own bowl-frisbee games… not on purpose either! 😉 But the pre-smash bowl of soft serve looks AMAZING!

      Hooray for finishing out the year!!! Congrats! 🙂

      xxoo
      Heather

    8. meg!
      I started a blog again! and will (hopefully) be keeping this one up so come by when you can!
      enjoy those last couple days of school!!

    9. Gina G

      you forgot one thing….”I have plans, dreams and aspirations after I graduate THAT I WILL ACCOMPLISH, and I’m so excited” <—im so excited for you! the future is yours girl =D

    10. HEY MEG BABY!!!
      i love how MOTIVATED you are! you are soo inspiring! can you believe you will be a senior? its CRAZY. and YAY for fats ! they help EVERYTHING! love ou sooo much!

    11. Rachel

      MEG YOU ARE GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Wow, I knew we needed fats, but never knew that there were so many crucial reasons. That really puts a new spin on things:)

      Haha, i know I’d be excited at the prospect of finishing school! Throw another bowl, you super crazy but SO LOVABLE girl!!!! ❤

    12. Heh… I have definitely embraced the fats 🙂 I used to be so afraid of nut butters and stuff.. but now I go through at LEAST a jar a week 😛

      You are seriously stunning 🙂 … and any type of dress would look great. If I had to choose though, I would say something bright in color, knee length and form-fitted. I suppose that’s pretty vague.. but I know you will pick something amazing 🙂

      ❤ Tat

    13. You should totally send that photo to Larabar! I am hooked on the PBJ one…so freaking delicious. That and almond butter = my fat crack. Lol, that sounds wrong. Heh.

      Hooray for one more exam! What are your summer plans?

    14. congrats on being done with school!! that must be one of the BEST feelings ever!! enjoy and relax this summer girlie.
      yayy for healthy fats! I love how shiny and strong they make my hair.

      ps. you do have some of the prettiest hair around my dear!

    15. Congrats on making it through another year of college–you rock! 🙂

    16. Raw almond butter and full fat feta cheese are making my life extra delicious this month. And of course, I always eat the whole egg – the yoke is where the best stuff is!

      Congrats on making it to senior year – doesn’t it feel strange to be so old? I’m having trouble dealing with it all.

    17. Helllllooooooooo GORGEOUS! You look so pretty in your pic Meg. You have such a nice and warm smile. Love it! Just one more girl and it’s going to be SUMMA TIME! Woo hoo! Have a good weekend too girl. Don’t study TOOOO hard now 😉

    18. oh i love you!!
      so much positive energy in this post. xoox

    19. rock on, fats! We ❤ you. ;D

      Good for you for getting the paper written! Sumer is almost HERE!!!!! love you!

    20. determinedtoshine

      Thanks for all those facts on healthy fats Meg! Its so easy to forget how great they are. And ANY excuse for Larabars is fine by me 😉 You look so adorable!

    21. Jae

      you’re so pretty!
      and haha this post is funny because Ive been injesting fats like crazy for the past few days >< 🙂

    22. Great points pretty lady! Good luck monday, my fingers are crossed for you:)

      x Julia (Taste of Living)

    23. Why are you so gorgeous? You’re distracting me from the very useful fat facts in this post.

    24. You are so bright and good, girl!
      I still fear fat. Even though I eat it, I still find myself stressing out at times. But when the benefits are all listed up, what is it that I fear? To get strong healthy hair again? To have a heart that beats like a..uhm..what is the expression, clock?
      Fat is on its way to become my very good friend. I should not get stressed out by a good friend.
      I want to hug my almonds. And my nut butter. A huge hug and thank you to them ;p

    25. I love hugging my fats 🙂 Well, I actually prefer eating them, ha. Larabars are the bomb, furrr real.

      ❤ jess
      xoxo

    26. hi beautiful

      i love my fats so i love this post. favorite fat = peanut butter. and i love that fats make up at least 30% of my days… mmm great post lovely! love all the facts on what fat can do for me!

    27. Pingback: Your “Hug a Fat” Photo Shoot « Chocolate-Covered Katie

    Leave a Reply

    