Larabars

Larabars

I usually prefer these bars over any else as an on-the-go snack. They’re excellent at keeping me full during long periods of time – aka in class, or out and about. They’re full of healthy fats, fiber and flavor! Score!

Nutritional information for all Larabars can be found via www.larabar.com.

Varieties I’ve tried:

Banana Bread

nanabread10/10 – Definitely one of my absolute favorites. I’m completely serious when I say this tastes exactly like fresh-baked banana bread. I’m pretty picky about my carbs, too 😉 You just can’t beat the ingredients & nutrition, but that’s true with all Larabars 🙂

Key Lime Pie

keylime6/10 – Not one of my favorites – but maybe I just got an unlucky bar? I thought it was pretty bland, but I loved the texture. I encountered several whole almonds, and lots of bits of coconut. It was a great snack, but I expected more lime flavor! Although I enjoyed this more than I do some bars, I probably will stick with my other favorite Lara’s 😉

Lemon Bar

lemonlara9/10 – Extremely tangy and sweet at the same time. This was one of the most flavorful and ‘strong’ tasting Larabar’s I’ve tried. This one is always thrown into my cart at Whole Foods. If you’re a fan of lemon dessert bars – this tastes JUST like em’.

Cashew Cookie

cashew10/10 – Would it be enough to just mention that this tastes exactly like cookie dough?! Think straight-the-tub raw cookie dough. No joke, it’s that good. The texture is a little more crumbly than some of the others, but that makes it more fun to eat, right?

Cherry Pie

cherrypie9/10 – Real chunks of cherries and the tartness of them mixed with the sweetness of the dates makes for a perfectly flavorful summery combo. The texture is great – pretty squishy, and great for carrying along in your purse/anywhere really – it won’t crumble. Love it!

Peanut Butter Cookie

pbcookie10/10 – A blogworld favorite. I hadn’t tried these before they got recalled, but after they  were on shelves again, I immediately picked one up, and I’m glad I did. You know those ridiculously amazing cookies from Subway with the peanut butter chips in them? Yeah, that’s basically this bar, but 100x healthier, and more satisfying. These keep me full for hours.

Cherry Chocolate

glamour_Jchocolate_cherry_1_large7/10 – The first Jocolat variety I had tried. Not too sweet at all, kind of like a dark chocolate covered cherry. I loved the chunks of cherries, and nuts, and the wonderful rich flavor.

 

Peanut Butter & Jelly

LBPBJ_large_large10/10 – Tastes just like the Peanut Butter Cookie variety, but with a subtle hint of cherry, which makes it SO much tastier. I didn’t quite taste a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, per say, more like a peanut butter and jelly cookie 😉 Amazing!

Pecan Pie

pecanpie10/10 – Another favorite – can I give this one an 11/10?! Probably my favorite in terms of texture – extremely moist & textured just like a slice of pecan pie. It’s awesome paired with a cup of hot tea, and probably would be just as good with coffee as well. I’m not quite sure why these aren’t more popular in the blogworld, I adore it.

Coco Mole

cocomole6/10 – Interesting flavor – really hard to describe, but it was almost like a spicy chocolate. I really enjoyed this one, but I can see how some people wouldn’t – it’s a little odd in terms of flavor combinations, but it’s worth a try!

Mint Chocolate

mint_main_large7/10 – Not too strong of a flavor. I did taste a lot of the chocolate, but not too much mint. I think this would actually taste better with a richer mint flavor.

 

More Larabars to come! There’s still a few I haven’t tried, and a few that I still need to post.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Larabars

  1. im really not a huge fan of those jocalat bars either – they are so bitter!! yuck.
    on a much happier note, so glad you love the pecan flavor. I feel like its underrated in this blog world.

  2. Yasmin

    Larabars are my absolute favorite: top picks include cashew cookie, banana bread, and pbj. I have yet to try pecan pie but it’s in my jar. I’m not a fan of the chocolate varieties though. Ohhh…I know what I’m having for a snack right now.

  3. Casey

    Thanks for the review. I have tried only a couple of flavors, now I must try more.

  4. crazylittlethingneela

    cashew cookie and pb cookie!! YES those are my babies 😀 yummy!!

  5. try the coconut cream pie! and pistachio is my absolute favoriteeee!

  6. Meg

    Thanks for the recommendations guys 🙂

  7. Pingback: Babies, fires, dances oh my! « Sunshine 'n Spice

  8. Kaycee

    Apple pie is SO good! I just became obsessed with larabars, and I’ve already tried: apple pie, cherry pie, chocolate coconut, and peanut butter cookie. I also just bought peanut butter and jelly and tropical fruit! Can’t wait to try them!

Leave a Reply

